We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another incredible visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ikies - Traditional Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga,Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Another incredible visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We just returned yesterday from Santorini. I have to write a review once again to compliment our previous stay last year. This years visit was extra special as we had 5 other couples join us. At first I had anxiety that when our friends wanted to join us on our repeat trip to Ikies as travelling with a group can make choosing a hotel difficult in that we hope everyone will enjoy the stay as much as we did. I must say our anxiety was never an issue as Katerina,Loella,Maria, Micheal,Stavros,Bekam(hopefully spelled right) and the rest of the staff made everyone absolutely confirm Ikies was the best and only choice for us for the next 11 nights. Their welcome did not end from Maria meeting our private bus with a huge smile and hugs to Katerina walking to our deck on the last night with a glass of wine for each guest to toast our total stay. All of you made our stay and our friends stay unforgettable. All of the rooms from the Gardners,the Fishermans,the Cooks,the Sailors and of course our suite the Winemakers made the perfect settings from our beautiful breakfast served each morning, to the evenings admiring the most beautiful sunset in the world to all of us. The small touches the staff did to make our stay most enjoyable did not go unnoticed especially our stay home night where they lit up our deck with candles and extra lighting for our small get together catered at late notice by the entire team. Special memories were had by our whole group and they complimented us every day for choosing Ikies as our number choice for our vacation. No one was disappointed!!! The price is worth where the location is...you have no one looking over you all day as it is located in the best area of Oia for privacy unlike many of the hotels further into town where "thousands" cruise ship and other island travellers gaze over the wall onto their properties day and night. Serenity at its best for early risers to late night star gazers. We cannot say enough and I know we are speaking on behalf of all of our friends when we say Thank you,Thank you,Thank you. We hope to repeat to Santorini again and of course we will only look for our friends at Ikies. Joe and Naysan

Room Tip: Decide on how much privacy you want first, the Winemakers,Captains,Boatmans, are best for this. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeDePlanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Joe,
It was a sincere pleasure having you stay with us once again. We were also anxious as to whether we would be able to live up to your group’s expectations but you were all so kind and relaxed that we quickly got ovet it. We are so glad this trip was unforgetable and that nobody was disappointed (even though we did make you very nervous when we were late for your early departure…)
Thank you once again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    32
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
513
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aussie
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ikies a week ago. It truly does take your breath away. As soon as you walk along the path to reception and see spectacular views you will be lost for words!
We stayed for a week in the beautiful Gardeners room, it is the smallest of the rooms but we just loved it! The balcony for the Gardeners room is overhanging the cliffs to the Agean Sea and it has the most beautiful outlook of all the balconies. It was worth having the smaller room.
Breakfast is served at your specified time on your balcony and is fresh local produce.
The staff are AMAZING and cant do enough to help you.
We hired a car and drove around the island for a day which was great. There are many great restaurants in Oia all very close by, we found Finikia's Resaturant which is a 2 min walk from Ikies that had beautiful food at a great price with stunning views of the sunset without the crowds.
A cruise is a must, Blue Lagoon Cruise were fantastic,BBQ lunch and all drinks,swimming at several locations with a great people, it wasn't overcrowded with only 8 of us on board.
I have to say don't do the donkey rides in Santorini,the poor animals they are standing in the heat all day with tourists riding them up rocky incredibly steep paths ( please have a look before you do it).
We walked from Oia to Thira, it takes 2 1/2 hours, go early or in the afternoon as it is so hot, well worth the effort.
I cant wait to go back to see the staff at Ikies, if you are looking for the most romantic place to stay in Oia you have found it!.... don't look any further!

Room Tip: Gardeners room is the smallest but cosy and comfortable.It has the best balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear AussieBelle,
We are so glad you had a magical time with us and that you enjoyed your room’s baclony. We feel it gives you the feeling of hovering over the sea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at the antiquarian room on the last leg of our honeymoon and found everything about the hotel perfect- particularly the staff. Large patio, comfy lounge chairs, hot tub that was warmed for us each night when we got back from dinner. The room itself is nice- nothing overly lux, but quaint. The staff is what makes your stay blissful. They're sweet, knowledgable, prompt and overly accommodating. A lot to choose from for breakfast. Location is also perfect- 8 minute walk to center of town and far enough away that you don't encounter the cruise ship hoopla on the days there are a bunch at port. We plan on returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Rachel K,
Blissful appreciation for your review! It was a real pleasure having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We witnessed one of the prettiest sunsets in the world from our pool on our first night. We woke to an amazing breakfast on our balcony over looking the gorgeous views of Oia.
Staff went above and beyond our expectations & catered to our every need, from booking us dinner and giving us tips on where to go and places to see. They even brought me a glass of milk and a home remedy for a dry cough I had without any request. We had the most amazing time & you definitely get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Fishermans room is nice, don't be scared off by the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Jess J,
Thank you so much for your sweet review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I loved my stay at the Ikies traditional houses. My friend and I arrived early in the morning and the y let us check in early. The receptionists and workers are patient with all our requests and questions and we really appreciate all their help. The hotel is located at the beginning of Oia so it has a prime view of the entire village to its left. We stayed at the Gardener's House, which is the smallest of all suites. Even though we didnt have a private terrace, we had our own little balcony right at the end of the cliffs with an unobstructed view of the caldera.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss-lai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Miss-lai,
Thank you for your kind review!
It was always a pleasure discussing your questions and trying to accommodate your requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Thank you for your warm and generous hospitality. We loved staying at Ikies and we are already planning a trip back. I've been in hospitality for 15 years and tend to be very selective, the property is immaculate and private with a terrific breakfast. It's an easy walk to the beautiful village of Oia, really just perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmarie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear bmarie62,
You are too kind!
We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Ikies from the moment we arrived. We booked a last minute visit in peak season and got the last room available, the Antiquarian Room. It was very large with two bedrooms / two bathrooms on two levels...more than we need as we were only a couple. It had a superb terrace with breathtaking views across the caldera and Oia which made for a spectacular private viewpoint for the famous Santorini sunsets. The Ikies team was friendly and superbly helpful during our entire 6 day visit. A special thanks to Katarina, Maria, Luella, and Stavos for their hospitality. We truly felt like a guest at a friend's home. Well done to the Ikies team for living up to our lofty expectations!

Room Tip: The Antiquarian room has a huge terrace with a private jacuzzi. From what we could see the Winemake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear irachi,
Thank you for your support and warm comments. It was a real pleasure having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.6 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing