We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing experience”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have just returned from our anual trip to Greece this year we decided to go to Santorini for a few days first. Our first impressions of the Hotel Ikies and the surrounding area was wow The welcome we got was second to none and nothing was too much trouble from the staff... Waking up on our first morning to a fantastic view of Oia and having our breakfast served to us on our own private patio was something we will never forget. I would recommend Ikies to anyone who wants to be spoilt in fantastic surroundings. The whole experience is quite unique. All our food was served to us on our patio including lunch the quality was superb.

Room Tip: All rooms look amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IpswichSuffolkMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear IpswichSuffolkMeg,
Thank you for your great review and praise. We are so glad you enjoyed Santorini and Ikies so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    33
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
543
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I said at Ikies for three nights in August in the Boatman’s house. We had very high expectations after reading all of the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor. We had an excellent stay and would definitely recommend this place. The view is one of the best in Oia (in my opinion – because you have a full view of the town). But since there are so many reviews boasting that Ikies is “the best hotel I’ve ever stayed at,” I think it’s important to acknowledge that Ikies is not a luxury hotel. It’s a very nice hotel with a five star view, but it is definitely not the best hotel I have ever stayed at.

First off, the staff at Ikies are wonderful. We felt like we were friends with them by the end of our three night stay. They helped us with restaurant reservations and gave us lots of good advice about Santorini. Upon finding out that my husband was allergic to gluten, they immediately went to the store and purchased a box of gluten free cereal for him to eat at breakfast. The service was very personal and you could tell they really wanted to make sure you had a good stay in Santorini.

We stayed in Boatman’s house – and that balcony is really as amazing as the pictures reflect. Although it is right next to reception, it still felt very private. Occasionally other guests would stand close enough to our balcony to be able to see in, but no one ever lingered. The hot tub right on the edge was glorious. They will adjust the temperature upon request – which was great because we made it cold during the day and when we returned back from dinner it would be hot. The balcony also has a large futon for two people, so you can relax comfortably all day and enjoy the view. The room itself is very simply appointed with a queen sized bed – but spacious and had great views out the windows. There is a kitchenette with a refrigerator, small stovetop and plenty of cooking supplies. The bathroom is tiny and only has a small stall shower.

The main pool is very small – but because we had our own hot tub we really didn’t use the pool. There is no real restaurant, but the room rate includes breakfast and there is also a limited menu available during the day. We really enjoyed eating breakfast on our balcony every morning. The food was good, fresh and plentiful.

My only complaint is that, for the price paid, we expected a more “luxury” experience. I knew that the hotel had limited amenities, but I expected the amenities that were offered to be provided at a higher standard. First, the sheets on the bed were so uncomfortable. The hotel needs to invest in higher thread count sheets, or least start using fabric softener. The sheets were extremely rough and scratchy against our skin. Also, our room came with two pool towels. Housekeeping never replaced these towels throughout our entire stay. I understand reusing towels to save water, but housekeeping never even refolded our pool towels, they just stayed untouched draped over the futon during our entire stay. Finally, when we arrived at the hotel, I noticed that the floor of our balcony was dirty and obviously had not been cleaned since the prior guests had checked out. The edges around the hot tub were also dirty and I noticed hairs where someone may have been resting their head while taking a dip. I immediately got a towel and scrubbed it down. I was kind of grossed out and thought about complaining, but didn’t want to be interrupted by housekeeping and just figured they would get to it on the following day. The following day, housekeeping came in and all they did was make the bed, wash the glasses and fold the bath towels. I was annoyed at this point because there were crumbs from breakfast on our balcony, so I went to the front desk and asked that the floor to our balcony be cleaned. They must have simply swept up the crumbs because the floor was still grimy with dirt when we returned to the room. I just gave up caring at that point but for the amount of money we paid, we shouldn’t have to ask to have the room properly cleaned. A dirty balcony may seem trivial to some people, but we spent most of our day relaxing on the balcony, hopping in and out of the hot tub. A quick mop of the floor in between guests would have been sufficient.

We had a great stay at Ikies – and will always remember our visit fondly. Just keep in mind before you book that you are really paying for that amazing five star view and don’t expect luxury amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennyG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear JennyG123,
Thank you for your kind review and honest feedback which is much appreciated.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the Boatman’s House and its hot tub but are sincerely sorry to have let you down in terms of our housekeeping services. There are no excuses to be made by us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was our second time at Ikies. It is an exceptionally beautiful hotel. Location, service, staff, and design are all wonderful. Their breakfast is one of the best I have ever had and the view while enjoying it on our private terrace was priceless!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joumrachid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you Joumrachid – we are so glad you enjoyed your stay once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga,Ontario Canada
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We just returned yesterday from Santorini. I have to write a review once again to compliment our previous stay last year. This years visit was extra special as we had 5 other couples join us. At first I had anxiety that when our friends wanted to join us on our repeat trip to Ikies as travelling with a group can make choosing a hotel difficult in that we hope everyone will enjoy the stay as much as we did. I must say our anxiety was never an issue as Katerina,Loella,Maria, Micheal,Stavros,Bekam(hopefully spelled right) and the rest of the staff made everyone absolutely confirm Ikies was the best and only choice for us for the next 11 nights. Their welcome did not end from Maria meeting our private bus with a huge smile and hugs to Katerina walking to our deck on the last night with a glass of wine for each guest to toast our total stay. All of you made our stay and our friends stay unforgettable. All of the rooms from the Gardners,the Fishermans,the Cooks,the Sailors and of course our suite the Winemakers made the perfect settings from our beautiful breakfast served each morning, to the evenings admiring the most beautiful sunset in the world to all of us. The small touches the staff did to make our stay most enjoyable did not go unnoticed especially our stay home night where they lit up our deck with candles and extra lighting for our small get together catered at late notice by the entire team. Special memories were had by our whole group and they complimented us every day for choosing Ikies as our number choice for our vacation. No one was disappointed!!! The price is worth where the location is...you have no one looking over you all day as it is located in the best area of Oia for privacy unlike many of the hotels further into town where "thousands" cruise ship and other island travellers gaze over the wall onto their properties day and night. Serenity at its best for early risers to late night star gazers. We cannot say enough and I know we are speaking on behalf of all of our friends when we say Thank you,Thank you,Thank you. We hope to repeat to Santorini again and of course we will only look for our friends at Ikies. Joe and Naysan

Room Tip: Decide on how much privacy you want first, the Winemakers,Captains,Boatmans, are best for this. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeDePlanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Joe,
It was a sincere pleasure having you stay with us once again. We were also anxious as to whether we would be able to live up to your group’s expectations but you were all so kind and relaxed that we quickly got ovet it. We are so glad this trip was unforgetable and that nobody was disappointed (even though we did make you very nervous when we were late for your early departure…)
Thank you once again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ikies a week ago. It truly does take your breath away. As soon as you walk along the path to reception and see spectacular views you will be lost for words!
We stayed for a week in the beautiful Gardeners room, it is the smallest of the rooms but we just loved it! The balcony for the Gardeners room is overhanging the cliffs to the Agean Sea and it has the most beautiful outlook of all the balconies. It was worth having the smaller room.
Breakfast is served at your specified time on your balcony and is fresh local produce.
The staff are AMAZING and cant do enough to help you.
We hired a car and drove around the island for a day which was great. There are many great restaurants in Oia all very close by, we found Finikia's Resaturant which is a 2 min walk from Ikies that had beautiful food at a great price with stunning views of the sunset without the crowds.
A cruise is a must, Blue Lagoon Cruise were fantastic,BBQ lunch and all drinks,swimming at several locations with a great people, it wasn't overcrowded with only 8 of us on board.
I have to say don't do the donkey rides in Santorini,the poor animals they are standing in the heat all day with tourists riding them up rocky incredibly steep paths ( please have a look before you do it).
We walked from Oia to Thira, it takes 2 1/2 hours, go early or in the afternoon as it is so hot, well worth the effort.
I cant wait to go back to see the staff at Ikies, if you are looking for the most romantic place to stay in Oia you have found it!.... don't look any further!

Room Tip: Gardeners room is the smallest but cosy and comfortable.It has the best balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear AussieBelle,
We are so glad you had a magical time with us and that you enjoyed your room’s baclony. We feel it gives you the feeling of hovering over the sea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at the antiquarian room on the last leg of our honeymoon and found everything about the hotel perfect- particularly the staff. Large patio, comfy lounge chairs, hot tub that was warmed for us each night when we got back from dinner. The room itself is nice- nothing overly lux, but quaint. The staff is what makes your stay blissful. They're sweet, knowledgable, prompt and overly accommodating. A lot to choose from for breakfast. Location is also perfect- 8 minute walk to center of town and far enough away that you don't encounter the cruise ship hoopla on the days there are a bunch at port. We plan on returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Rachel K,
Blissful appreciation for your review! It was a real pleasure having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We witnessed one of the prettiest sunsets in the world from our pool on our first night. We woke to an amazing breakfast on our balcony over looking the gorgeous views of Oia.
Staff went above and beyond our expectations & catered to our every need, from booking us dinner and giving us tips on where to go and places to see. They even brought me a glass of milk and a home remedy for a dry cough I had without any request. We had the most amazing time & you definitely get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Fishermans room is nice, don't be scared off by the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKIES, Manager at Ikies - Traditional Houses, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Jess J,
Thank you so much for your sweet review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.9 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#5 of 56 in Oia
339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#10 of 56 in Oia
924 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing