We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Amazing view, great staff, and wonderful amenities! A steep climb and descent on the stairs, so if that will be an issue for you, choose a stay that is not on the caldera. If you stay here, the Winemaker's (the suites have tbeme names) is the way to go. Private terrace, hot tub, garden tub with jets, and a STEAMROOM! These things are great after a long day of hiking around Oia and Fira. I am so glad we chose this spot, away from the hustle, peace and tranquility have us so happy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Couldn't have wanted more from our stay. Hotel is far enough from the busy part of town to be quiet, but also a very quick, easy walk in and the views were amazing. Staff were fantastic answering any questions we had and pointing out things to do and places to see and so friendly. We will hopefully be back next year. If you head to Greece make sure you finish of with a couple days at Ikies in Oia Santorini

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed three nights at Ikies and loved it! This was my 1st trip to Santorini and we arrived at the hotel around 10pm when everything was dark. There is a public parking lot right at the top of the hotel which worked out great for our rental car. In fact, everything was within walking distance for us that we didn't even use the car except to drive back to the airport.

When I woke up in the morning and opened the door, I was blown away by the views. Just Amazing!!! Breakfast is included, and it's not just a crappy free breakfast, it was really really great! It's brought down to you with a white table cloth and very nicely setup so you can sit and enjoy the view over the ocean.

The staff was excellent, they went out of their way to ensure we had a great time and all their recommendations were right on as far as activities and restaurants. I've never really stayed in a place that was so attentive to their guests.

My favorite things was walking from Oia to Fira on the walking/hiking path. I highly recommend this! The path starts right at the entrance to the hotel.

Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

On our honeymoon, my wife and I chose Ikies as our last stop in Greece. It was by far the best days of the honeymoon, and it was because of our stay at Ikies. The location and amenities are amazing. Breakfast is made to order and brought to your own private outdoor patio overlooking the breathtaking caldera with equally beautiful views of Oia. The best part was the staff - they gave us great advice on things to do and traditional places to eat; it was like being around old friends. If (and hopefully when) my wife and I travel to Santorini again, Ikies Traditional Houses will be top on our list! It is a must stay - you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Views are amazing from all of the Houses! We stayed at the Carpenter's House, which is extremel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had not previously been to Santorini, and had no recommendations as to where to stay. We chose Ikies Traditional Houses after doing internet research. Our choice was absolutely the right one. Oia is by far the best place to stay on the island, and Ikies is the best place within Oia (located at the southern end of Oia, you get not only absolute quiet, but also a view of both the Caldera and the Sunset from your balcony, which is unique in Oia). We are seasoned international travelers and therefore are fairly discriminating. In our opinion, Ikies was perfect in every respect. It really is as nice as it appears on the website (which is not always the case with other hotels!). In addition, the staff truly treat you as if you are their personal guests and go out of their way to make you stay as perfect as possible. For example, we decided to hire a private boat for a trip around the Caldera and to the volcano, as opposed to the larger group boats that have a fixed schedule and route. The staff reached out to another couple at the hotel to see if they would be interested in joining us as a way to defray the costs, and we all ended up going on the private boat together. It worked out perfectly. The staff also had many good recommendations and helpful tips and advice, including telling us what was not worth seeing or doing in our limited time on Santorini (which was much appreciated, as hotel staffs are generally reluctant to give such advice). Finally, we are American, so for all Americans who are reading this post, take note that Ikies has comfortable beds and great bath facilities! If we ever go back to Santorini, we will most definitely stay at Ikies again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Granville08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We loved staying at Ikies traditional houses. It has a great location in Oia with beautiful views. We stayed in the Gardener's studio for 2 nights, which as you can tell from the hotel website, is pretty small. It was livable though; you really aren't in the room that much because there is so much to do in Santorini. Also fyi that the Gardener's balcony is not directly attached to the room- you must walk past the pool area, which means that the balcony is not private either. But the view is wonderful and obviously there is a great value in the lower price.

The breakfast is truly amazing at Ikies. There is nothing like enjoying a big spread, with your choice of Greek coffee or cappuccino, with such a great view. They also give you some yummy snacks when you check in.

The service at Ikies is really top notch. On our last night, they upgraded us to the Boatmans studio. There was no additional cost. It was amazing. We had our own private hot tub with the same amazing view, and a much bigger room. They really go above and beyond here. Santorini isn't cheap, but this place is worth it.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NewYorker1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend, and we thought everything about the hotel was absolutely fantastic. We could not have asked for a nicer place to stay on our trip. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable, and everyone was extremely helpful to us throughout our trip. The full breakfast served on our terrace every morning was amazing. It truly is a very special place. I would strongly recommend Ikies to anyone who is interested in visiting Santorini.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.6 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#10 of 56 in Oia
680 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Address: Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £267 - £845 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing