We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise awaits you at Ikies in Oia, Santorini” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ikies - Traditional Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise awaits you at Ikies in Oia, Santorini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

It is definitely worth the splurge to stay here. The service can't be beat, the rooms are FANTASTIC (beautiful layouts, wonderfully, clean, great amenities [drinks, snacks, the BEST internet connections/WiFi in Greece]). In fact, our group had a hard time LEAVING the room each day to explore Santorini - the breakfasts and other room service items were wonderful, the view from our room unbeatable, and the service was one of the best I have encountered in my world travels. We all had a tendency to just want to stay at IKIES all the time. If you take a look at the photo from the room's indoor-outdoor jacuzzi, you can get a hint of why we wanted to stay in our rooms all of the time.

I am especially glad that we stayed at IKIES because of it's location - it is on the south side of town, but near the main walkway to Oia. Therefore, it is a lot quieter and you don't have a lot of tourists looking down at your patio/pool while you are trying to relax outside (unlike most of the hotels along the Caldera in the heart of Oia).

All of us loved IKIES (and our rooms in the Collector's House) so much, we are already planning on a return visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRI-Sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    32
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
513
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHESTERFIELD
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

How do you put into words something you struggle to find words for?
This was our second visit to the Ikies and we fell in love with it all over again. We stayed in the Boatmans house this time and being higher up the cliff the views over the town and the caldera were spectacular. Every time you walk out onto your terrace it takes your breath away, the deep shimmering blue of the water framing the white painted houses that cling to the russet tones of the cliff side. You feel the warmth on your face cooled by a breath of breeze and as you stand there as high as the Gods the birds ride the thermals then swoop and glide as if performing just for you.
Could you ever tire of sitting in your jacuzzi, a chilled white wine in hand with a view of heaven before you ? I think not and with all this what could make it any better? Well the amazing staff for one. They never miss a beat and genuinely care about their guests doing all they can to make sure you have your own Santorini experience. They heated the tub to bath water temperature so we could ease own weary bones after arriving at eleven o'clock at night and to sit there with the sparkling lights of Oia in front of us and ice bright stars against the darkest black velvet sky above gave us an amazing start to our stay. Having a breakfast of delicious produce laid out with such grace on your terrace is had to beat and now with the added selection of eggs to the menu you have even more choice.
Our room although smaller than the suite we had last time was more than adequate and the fact it was smaller made the air conditioning more effective and it soon felt like our own little Santorini home and one we did not want to leave.
When we did venture out the 15 minute walk into town gave more time to gaze over the caldera and is only marred by a short stretch of road with no pavement so do keep an eye on the traffic but you are soon in the pristine whitewashed town of Oia.
Do try the little tavernas down the little side streets and also the ones going out of the town especially Anemomilos as they knock the spots off the hyped up places, after all you don't need a restaurant with a view as non of them will beat the one you wake up to every morning.
I could go on but I will leave you to feel your own heart swell with joy when you have that special Santorini experience at the Ikies that you have all been dreaming of.

Room Tip: Spend as much as you can afford you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GILLChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is one of the bests I have ever been. Staff is so friendly and kind. The view is awesome. We didnt want to leave our balcony at all! So romantic and cozy. Location is perfect! Its not on the very center of the main street, wich gives you more privacy. We simply loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the house of the cook, and we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ipr29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

After an almost 24 hour trip from the states, we were greeted in the parking lot by Katerina and shown to our room. She and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Cook's Maisonette which was very nice and spacious with a bedroom loft, downstairs living area and kitchen with two bathrooms. We had a delicious breakfast each morning served on our patio with a gorgeous caldera view. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The staff was incredibly cordial and bent over backwards to help with sightseeing info, restaurants, etc. The room (duplex) was very clean and spacious, the breakfast delicious, and the views spectacular!

Room Tip: Tell the staff your requirements when you reserve a room, and they will help with the perfect choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 31Larry136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had the best time at Ikies. The staff was great! Took care of all our excursions and meals. One of the best experiences of my life. The rooms were cozy and the views were amazing. Breakfast on the deck was perfect. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
339 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a strange review, since I didn't actually stay here. Our reservation was for Katakies hotel and the taxi driver from the port dropped us off here, with our massive amount of luggage. We realized that Ikies Hotel was not Katikes and the distance to reach our actual hotel was quite far. We were standing on the street wondering how to solve the dilemma. A young man walked up to us who turned out to be the manager of Ikies Hotel. As soon as we explained our situation he helped us carry our luggage to his car and he drove us to Katakies Hotel. Management like this definitely explains why this hotel is so highly rated. I hope this review helps people understand the quality of this property's management even though we never actually stayed here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blubs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.6 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing