We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I spent three nights in the Collector's House. It was an amazing villa with an unbelievable view of both Oia and the caldera. The sunsets were simply stunning and we feel we had the perfect viewpoint right from the hot tub on our patio. The hotel is located about a 5 or 10 minute walk from the main town of Oia, which was perfect! The hustle and bustle was close by if we wanted it, or we could escape to our own, quiet private paradise at Ikies.

The staff at Ikies is extremely friendly and helpful and would do anything for their guests. We were given excellent restaurant recommendations and the hotel staff helped organize dinners and excursions for us that really made things smooth and easy.

I travel a lot for my job and this is by far the most unique place I have ever stayed. If you are planning a trip to Santorini I highly recommend staying in Oia...and if you stay in Oia there is no better place than Ikies!

Room Tip: Definitely worth it to get a room with a hot tub. We stayed at the Collector's House and I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    32
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
515
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent 4 nights of our honeymoon in the Winemaker's suite at Ikies and loved every second of it. Several weeks before our trip, I received emails from the Loella and other staff members with extensive tips, ideas, and suggestions for our trip. Before we arrived, we'd emailed back and forth several times and had transfers arranged, dinner reservations made for each night, and ferry tickets taken care of - they even were kind enough to answer my questions about the rest of our honeymoon on other islands!! I knew before we ever even stepped foot on the property that the service here is really unparalleled - and that was indeed the case throughout our stay, as well. Every single member of the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and wanted. The fabulous staff really make Ikies special.

The property itself is just beautiful. The Winemaker suite is spacious and comfortable. The bathroom is huge and the air conditioning was appreciated on hot days. The real star of the suite is the outdoor terrace - wow, wow, wow. It is huge and stunning. There is a table with umbrella to enjoy your champagne breakfasts, 2 lounge chairs, a sun bed, and a hot tub that was kept cool during the day to use as a dipping pool. We loved sitting out there any time of day, taking in the amazing views.

The location was perfect for us. Being at the end of Oia allows you to really appreciate the amazing view of the entire village overlooking the caldera. We enjoyed the quick walk into the middle of town - it was just removed enough to feel private and a little quieter, but close enough to venture in and out with ease throughout the day.

We feel very lucky to have spent part of our honeymoon in this special place and would absolutely recommend it to anyone looking for the perfect hotel in Oia. You will not regret this choice.

Room Tip: The Winemaker's House is one of the honeymoon suites and is a wonderful choice. We chose it beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have just returned from Greece and Ikies was one of our stops. This small hotel was one of a kind and the service was perfect. Upon arrival they upgraded us to the "Artist's Cottage" and brought a bottle of sparkling wine. The front desk staff was more than helpful, and the breakfast was very good and served outdoors with a spectacular view. I would highly recommend Ikies when in Oia, Santorini!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TG33139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Recently stayed for 1 week at ikies. Oia is stunning, accommodation amazing and service second to none. The staff couldn't do enough for you. A holiday to remember, we can' wait to return one day! 2 satisfied scouters

Room Tip: We stayed in the gardeners room and the view over the caldera whilst having breakfast was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 320Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Seriously..... We were 2 picky couples, looking for the perfect oia experience. We had santorini on the bucket list... And boy did we get it right! We (2 couples) stayed here on a recommendation of a friend. What we got was:
- an upgraded spectacular 2 bedroom suite (complimentary)
- the nicest staff we'd ever met
- a spectacular cave home, with major luxury - like patio breakfasts, indoor outdoor hot tub and complimentary everything
- our every whim waited on
- assistance on planning our days (thank your santorini tours boat rides) and ATVs
- spectacular breakfasts, and free wifi

How do we rate the million dollar view? The perfect staff, and the patio that allowed us seclusion while showing us the sunsets? We call Ikies perfection. If you come with our expectations, do it. There is nothing else as perfect!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cali_Cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent the first week of June in Oia, staying at ikies for all seven nights on a friend's recommendation. We could not have been in a better place. All credit to the skills of the young & enthusiastic management team, you feel as though among considerate & yet discrete friends.
The Cook's House was perfect for the three of us, spacious with two bathrooms, one upstairs & one downstairs. The photo on the website doesn't do justice to the private balcony overlooking the caldera. Eating breakfast there, or an evening meal with a glass of wine watching the stupendous Oia sunset was a daily delight. As ikies is on the edge of Oia, ( a 10-15 min pleasant walk into the centre), the sunset can be enjoyed away from the mass of tourists & because of the way ikies faces you are still enjoying the sunset when most of the central Oia hotels are plunged into darkness! There is no restaurant as such, but besides a superb breakfast, food is freshly prepared to order & served on your balcony. There is also a fully equipped kitchen area & a table inside the house if you want to make your own food or eat inside. The room service menu was restricted but appetising & freshly prepared. It certainly kept us happy for most of the nights we were there. The Cook's House didn't have its own plunge pool but is close to the main pool, which is small, but we always had it to ourselves. Following previous experience on Corfu, we had come armed with mosquito repellent but did not encounter a single mosquito, not even a wasp or a fly! Certainly ikies is kept immaculate, but maybe the height above the caldera is inimical to mosquitos? Sited on the edge of the caldera, ikies would not be suitable for small children or for guests with mobility issues as there are, of necessity, lots of steps. It would be one of the most perfect places for a honeymoon, especially one of the houses with a plunge pool!
Thank you Maria, Ines, Loella, Michael, Bekim, Stavros, Adriatic, Julie & Claudie for making us so welcome & looking after us so well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mammasita_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is where you want to stay. The hotel is in the best city in Santorini, and is on the edge of town so you are not in the daily bustle of tourists. We stayed in the Fisherman's room and it was perfect for us- a sitting area and kitchenette, a gorgeous bathroom with blue tile, and a lofted bedroom. The views from the porch of our room are what you see on postcards- the Caldera and the ocean. The morning breakfast on your porch is to die for- by far the best breakfast we had on our two week honeymoon. The pool is wonderful, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We even had a minor credit card emergency and they allowed us to call the credit card company in the US for free. The hotel is quiet and luxurious. The only caution I would give is that it is probably not the best hotel to stay at with multiple children (a baby would probably be fine)- as it is definitely oriented toward couples- and you do have to walk on a small stretch of the road to get into town (only a few minutes) which would make me nervous with children, but as an adult is not a problem.

Overall Ikies is fantastic and we hope to go back someday!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.4 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing