We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IKIES is simply unbelievable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Collector's House for 1 night in mid June and it was one of the most unbelievable experiences of our lives. The Collector's House is the largest and most expensive suite of IKIES, positioned 1 floor aboved the main reception and hence, it enjoys by far the best view of the town of Oia and the caldera. Importantly, not many hotels in Oia can boast sunset views but the view from IKIES is far better than any other on this beautiful island.

The Collectors House had everything- 2 large and separate kingsized bedrooms, each with its own luxurious ensuites, a massive sitting room with huge plasma tv and free wireless broadband internet on the inroom hotel laptop, and most impressive of all was the indoor jacuzzi which extended to become the outdoor balcony pool, overlooking the gorgeous town of Oia & the sunsets. You even have a separate indoor sauna. As you can appreciate, we spent the entire day at the Collectors House and did not bother venturing anywhere else as this is simply the best that the Oia has to offer!

A special note of thanks to the amazing service of Katerina, Loella, George, Lazerus (chef) and Savros! The service that we received from them made our stay even more special and nothing was too much work or effort for them.

Finally, location wise, IKIES is situated furthest from the centre of Oia of all the hotels but it is still only a mere 15 minutes of stroll. In most people's opinions including mine, this location happens to be the best given that it affords guests the best view of Oia. Food is fantastic at IKIES and Lazerus is the friendliest chef that you will ever come across.

All in all, we can't wait to return to IKIES and the Collectors House. Having travelled quite extensively around the world, Oia is one of the most special and romantic places & a stay at IKIES simply made this trip one that we will remember for the rest of our lives!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fedfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2009

My now husband and I stayed 3 AMAZING nights at Ikies in the Artisan's house... I know everything has been said before BUT it is worth saying again.
This is the best... I mean the BEST hotel in Santorini... NO wait the BEST hotel I have EVER been to ( and I worked in the hotel business for years )
The staff is amazing, it gives the hotel that extra special something that one can not pay for... Lazarus was FANTASTIC, he brought us complementary ice drink thingy's... I don't know what it was but it was made with freash strawberry's and was TO DIE FOR! He was also extremely friendly and helpful with anything we asked about the island and the hotel. Katrina, how runs the place is AMAZING, she helped us before we arrived by answering many emails, as we were getting married in Santorini, I had MANY MANY questions... and she also responded so fast. By the time I met her it was like meeting a part of my family, she was just a dream! Such a kind and welcoming person, funny too. It really is all the staff (I can't remember all there names but the girl from Sweden, you ROCK too!)
The view from Ikies is amazing, we actually were quite sad to leave... we were having our wedding at another location, but if we could have redone things I would have wanted my wedding at Ikies... it was perfect in every way.
The room was spotless! And the most comfortable bed in Greece... which is hard to come by (most of them are very firm, which I was prepared for... but Ikies was such a welcome suprise, comfortable and soft)
One of the best things is that it is location is just out side of the town of OIA, so you have a much more peaceful atmosphere. I have never slept better. Many evenings we just lounged on our HUGE patio and enjoyed the view of the town.
I can't say enough good things about this hotel. But if you are going to Santorini, you HAVE TO HAVE TO experience this hotel!
We are already planning on returning for our 5 year wedding anniversary, and this time we won't be staying anywhere else!
Thank you Ikies for our WONDERFUL memories!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesignDiva24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Perfect room, in a perfect location in Oia, Santorini... Excellent service in a very clean room appropriate for relax and entertainment...

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popi_mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

After viewing the trip advisor photos and reviews of Ikies we organized our three week vacation to Greece around the three days when the Captain's House would be available in May. We had never stayed in any accommodations as pricey as this but we knew from the start that this place was going to be the esence of everything we had ever imagined the Greek Islands could be. We wanted it to be the last place where we would stay on this trip because weI felt it would be the perfect unforgetable ending. It truly was !!!! The beauty is breathtaking, the reception the most friendly and helpful you could ever imagine, the breakfast setting and quality amazing, and the overall experience like no other. This was our tenth trip to Europe since we retired and no hotel has ever surpassed this. Thank you Ikies, you were truly the perfect finale !

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIDGENewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

My family and I stayed in the Collectors suite for 10 magical days.

From the moment we arrived to the time we had to sadly leave our stay at this beautiful location was outstanding. Nothing was too much for the staff who catered to our needs with a smile at all times especially Lazarus who makes a superb sorbet!

The accommodation was so much more than the photos could ever show. The views of the sunset from the pool were breathtaking and as we had 10 days of perfect weather these were different every evening.

It is very difficult not to relax in this idyllic setting and would definitely recommend this as a top quality destination if you are visiting Santorini.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndaLagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Ikies Traditional Houses are the perfect place to stay on Santorini Island. The staff is great, always looking out for you. Lazaros is the best chef... and possibly the most cordial and thoughtful. One day after a particularly hot day of sight-seeing and shopping, we returned hot and drained to melt into our deck chairs on our private terrace and soak in the most beautiful view of the Aegean sea... overlooking the volcano caldera... wow! Lazaros appeared from nowhere bearing fresh kiwi sorbet... it was the perfect thing at the exactly right time... he's great! His breakfasts served on your private terrace overlooking that great view were incredible. The view and the sunset from your private terrace just couldn't be better. Want the most incredible view and sunset in Greece? Try Ikies in Oia on Santorini Island... it's unequalled. And to top it off they pamper you too! We had a great time... Echfaristo (thank you) Ikies!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wagalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

I am not sure which we will remember more...the kindness and efficiency of Katina and George and their excellent staff, or the breathtaking views, breakfasts, and accomodations. We joined a friend for a few days, and stayed at the "Carpenters"..
steam bath, jacuzzi on the terrace (and whirlpool in the room)...just lovely. After many trips to Oia, this was our first 5 star experience in one of the most beautiful towns in the Med. If you can afford it..go for it! I shall never forget the breakfast set up on our caldera
edged terrace, our first morning...I felt like I was living in a photograph!!! flawless, yet surprisingly unpretentious which put us at ease. Perfect for creating special memories.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
4  Thank johnnieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.6 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.6 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Kirini Suites & Spa
#10 of 56 in Oia
680 reviews
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#6 of 56 in Oia
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Address: Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £246 - £842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing