We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Santorini”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
doha
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Santorini”
Reviewed 6 September 2009

After our awful stay at Westin Astir Palace, we arrived at Ikies and it wiped our awful experince clean with the magnificient service, scenary and quality of rooms.
This is what a hotel is supposed to be. Warm Service, amazing sccenary and thoughtful touches. The rooms all ahve themes, we stayed at the Winery and Capenters rooms. Just perfect. I can not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    35
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
547
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

My Husband and I stayed here at the beginning of August for our honeymoon. It was perfect and we never wanted to leave. The location is great and just about 5 minutes to walk to the little village. The people are so nice and helpful. The view is perfect. It was so wonderful I never wanted to leave our room to explore. We do not usually splurge but I am so glad we did - this place is worth it!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Thanks for TA (and their readers) for their fabulous reviews, which led us to Ikies, and their wonderful staff. Every member of their staff helped make this visit truly memorable and all our family want to thank the Ikies staff for making our visit the best! We stayed in the Antiquarian Suite, with our 3-teenaged daughters - the beds are heaven, the tile floors cooling, and the service - top rated! Not a place for young children, as it was almost exclusively couples/honeymooners - but the location and setting are great - still only a few minutes walk from town centre.
Won't repeat the same comments as others - except to say that we are in agreement with all the positives.... While Ikies is not a budget inn, I think that they still delivered great value.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kildonan_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This is a special place because it combines wonderful views with caring and interested staff. Everything was perfect from the moment they come out to meet you at the entrance till the time they wave goodbye. We want to go back again and yes it is expensive but we thought it was worth every penny - hopefully we can come back in the not too distant future. Special mention to Lazaras - his food was wonderful and all our memories of this magical place are special

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Was going to write a big long review but it looks like everyone else has said what I wanted to say! We stayed in the Captain's house for the first 4 days of our honeymoon (wanted Carpenter's but was booked out). We will always and forever remember our stay there, it was the most beautiful place in the most beautiful location and the staff are exceptional, a perfect combination of friendliness and professionalism. We will be back there without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkey2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, ny
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed 2 nights at Ikies (Gardener's Room) and had a wonderful time. The room was tiny but modern (flatscreen tv, cool tiled bathroom). All of the staff were extremely professional, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served on our terrace each morning and the food was superb. The hotel has spectacular caldera views as well as views of Oia. I hope to return some day soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsachs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESTERFIELD
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Where do I begin to try and put into words our experience of the Ikies? You can read the reviews and look at the pictures but nothing prepares you for the moment you walk out onto your terrace and see the panoramic view of heaven. The cloudless sky, the sea, a deep, rich shimmering blue with only the little islands to punctuate its beauty. The air so clean it's a pleasure to breathe and as you stand there in awe you can watch as the birds glide and swoop effortlessly on the warm breeze.
We were fortunate to spend a week in the House of the Winemaker one of the suites and trust me it was worth every penny. To have all of that space in that location was pure luxury. This place isn't about the gadgets and designer furnitre found in the likes of the Four Seasons, the luxury comes from within the walls of the place, it will make you sigh constantly and whisper "this is lovely".
The staff are amazing, nothing is too much trouble and even the slightest of requests is taken seriously (they were even prepared to ring restaurants to ask if a specific dish was being served that night !). The food they serve is delishious, how Lazarous makes cold salads devine is a gift and his chocolate cake is to die for! The staff are so repsecfull of your space and privicy, it is those touhes that you can not put a price on. One day we needed the temperature of our out door plunge pool amending and Stavros decided it needed to be drained and refilled which would take about 15 mins', instead of staying there he left us in peace and stood outside of our private gate just popping back to check now and again. The cleaning ladies are the same, if they could float in like ghosts and out again they would !
It was my birthday while we were there and Katarina and Louella had been in league with my husband planning special treats for months and they made sure everything happened like clockwork.
The location is about a 15 min' walk into the main town of Oia, there is a short piece of road to negotiate but if you choose your times right you can avoid the mad rush of traffic as tourists flock to see the sunset. You, of course will not need to flock anywhere, just walk outside and your very own sunset awaits you along with a cocktail of your choice.
If you eat out I would encourage anyone to try the rustic tavernas and avoid the hyped up restaurants. We had some wonderfull, simple, honest Greek food at sensible prices at both Anemomilos and Roka along with some very good Santorini wine but if you want to dine on your terrace Lazarous will make you a scrumpsious offering and believe me, no restaurant has THAT caldera view !
It was a privalige to stay in the Winemakers with its white washed walls and private gate, to relax in the plunge pool with a glass of Champagne, to enjoy the most wonderfull breakfasts served with such grace and to watch the chrimson, flame coloured sunsets with the one you love. This is a special place that will live in my heart forever.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GILLChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.9 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#5 of 56 in Oia
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#12 of 56 in Oia
938 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 56 in Oia
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing