We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING HONEYMOON” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ikies - Traditional Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
manhattan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“AMAZING HONEYMOON”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

Stayed at Ikies for 4 nights for our honeymoon. By far, one of the best hotels on the island. Amazing breakfast, amazing service, amazing location. We stayed in the Artisan House. Terrific. The Korres amenities, terrific. Would HIGHLY recommend.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxeGirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    32
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
513
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

We stayed in the House of the Collector from September 1-7, 2009. We previously stayed at Ikies in September 2007.

From the moment our car dropped us off near the hotel and we saw the smiling faces of Loella and Stavros, we knew we had returned to friends who were going to make sure our stay was as memorable as our first. I will try to keep the review short and sweet, but I have so many things I want to say :-)

Room:
We stayed in the Collector's House on our first visit so we knew what to expect and things had not changed much from our previous visit... the Collector's suite is nothing short of spectacular. From the comfortable king size bed in the main suite to the good size shower and jacuzzi tube to the seperate restroom, we had plenty of space for the two of us. The living area has a large dining room table, a small kitchen area with a small refrigerator, a comfortable seating area, a large plasma screen tv on the wall, and a stereo system with a few CD's that the hotel provides. The room provides plenty of storage space and similar to other cave houses, the deeper you go into the cave, it can get a little humid, but the air condition system in the house is very good to keep things quite comfortable. The seond bedroom is built up so you have to climb 3 stairs to get to the bedroom and bathroom but it also has a seperate shower area and restroom and provides a queen bet with plenty of storage.

Balcony & Jacuzzi:
This is where we spent most of our time and is why we love the Collector's suite so much. The balcony is enormous with an area that we ate breakfast each morning with views towards the caldera. There is also a futon with a comfortable cushion where you can absorb the sun during the day. There are also two lounge chairs to use.

The indoor/outdoor jacuzzi has to be one of the best on the island given its size and the expansive views it offers. The staff will set the temperature to your settings and we used it as a dip pool when the afternoon sun got to be too much. In the evenings, we enjoyed our evening cocktails sitting in the jacuzzi as we watched the sunset over Ia.

Service:
In a word, incredible. Loella, Katerina, and Maria were always available to help us. From arranging a car to be delivered for our use, to making reservations and recommendations for dinner, to following up on us to make sure we made it to Captain Ted's without getting lost, they offered the personalized service you would expect of a small hotel.

Food:
Lazaros is the new chef who used to work at Mystique. He was so friendly and his food was incredible. I will post more about the meals in my trip report, but we never had a bad lunch as a result of Lazaros. His Hummus is incredible and his sandwiches and salads were great. And the guy can make a great Magarita :-) I understand he may be gone for the 2010 season as he has Military service to complete but hope that he will return for the 2011 season.

Other:
As people have mentioned, there are some things people who visit Ikies should know. It is one of the first hotels as you enter Ia so this will provide a quieter atmosphere than a stay closer to town, but you will have to walk 5-10 mins to get into the heart of Ia. The price for the collector's suite is very high and is not for everyone. It is probably much more space than two people need but we loved the space and the privacy it offered. There is not 24-hour service at the hotel as they tend to close things down around 2130 but this was never an issue for us. The pool is not big and is not the infinity pool that other hotels offer.

Conclusion:
Another great stay at Ikies. We told the staff that when we left, we felt we were leaving friends as they truly did all they could to make sure our stay was as enjoyable as possible. I believe the service you receive from the Ikies staff is unmatched by any other hotel I have stayed at before. We can't wait for our return trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grtgatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

After our awful stay at Westin Astir Palace, we arrived at Ikies and it wiped our awful experince clean with the magnificient service, scenary and quality of rooms.
This is what a hotel is supposed to be. Warm Service, amazing sccenary and thoughtful touches. The rooms all ahve themes, we stayed at the Winery and Capenters rooms. Just perfect. I can not recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gazimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

My Husband and I stayed here at the beginning of August for our honeymoon. It was perfect and we never wanted to leave. The location is great and just about 5 minutes to walk to the little village. The people are so nice and helpful. The view is perfect. It was so wonderful I never wanted to leave our room to explore. We do not usually splurge but I am so glad we did - this place is worth it!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

Thanks for TA (and their readers) for their fabulous reviews, which led us to Ikies, and their wonderful staff. Every member of their staff helped make this visit truly memorable and all our family want to thank the Ikies staff for making our visit the best! We stayed in the Antiquarian Suite, with our 3-teenaged daughters - the beds are heaven, the tile floors cooling, and the service - top rated! Not a place for young children, as it was almost exclusively couples/honeymooners - but the location and setting are great - still only a few minutes walk from town centre.
Won't repeat the same comments as others - except to say that we are in agreement with all the positives.... While Ikies is not a budget inn, I think that they still delivered great value.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kildonan_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

This is a special place because it combines wonderful views with caring and interested staff. Everything was perfect from the moment they come out to meet you at the entrance till the time they wave goodbye. We want to go back again and yes it is expensive but we thought it was worth every penny - hopefully we can come back in the not too distant future. Special mention to Lazaras - his food was wonderful and all our memories of this magical place are special

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

Was going to write a big long review but it looks like everyone else has said what I wanted to say! We stayed in the Captain's house for the first 4 days of our honeymoon (wanted Carpenter's but was booked out). We will always and forever remember our stay there, it was the most beautiful place in the most beautiful location and the staff are exceptional, a perfect combination of friendliness and professionalism. We will be back there without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkey2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.6 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing