We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful destination with Amazing Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We spent 3 nights in Ikies, staying in the Cook's house, and we would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to visit Santorini.

The traditional houses are beautiful with a magnificent setting over the caldera. However, the holiday experience was greatly enhanced by all the staff, Katerina, Loella, Maria and others I do not have the names for.

Their friendly welcome and assistance throughout was outstanding and added so much to the enjoyment of our holiday. We felt so relaxed from the very start of our stay, and I have no doubt this was greatly helped by their kindly attitude.

A wonderful experience, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 759 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2010

We stayed at Ikies recently and had an absolutely wonderful experience. The staff were wonderful and the hotel in general was beautiful. Of course it helps when the hotel is situated in such a beautiful place, but so many things about the hotel made our experience in Santorini much better. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the centre of Oia which is nice as it is very quiet, and the path to town is nice and provides some wonderful photo opportunities.

The staff are willing to help you with anything, and just have a chat if you are interested in learning some more about the town and the island in general, but they are also not overbearing which can also ruin an experience too.

The breakfasts they serve are absolutely amazing, you can order almost anything you would ever need and it is served on your terrace which is wonderful. You can also order food during the day which is also very good, and a nice option if you choose to take a day and stay at the hotel.

They also provide free wifi and computers, and I never had a problem accessing anything or watching video with the connection. They will also provide a laptop to those who don't travel with one which is fabulous.

Yes, the hotel is expensive, but the rooms are nicely appointed and very comfortable. We also had a kitchen in our suite which allowed us to make ourselves things whenever we chose to. It is a nice quiet hotel where you can sit, relax, and enjoy the beauty of Santorini. I would not hesitate to stay at Ikies again, it was absolutely the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

THis is the first time I am writing a review for a hotel. We absolutely loved it!!!

We stayed in the Gardeners Room - room was so lovely and bathroom was v modern (a huge plus in Oia). View was breathtaking!!! Besides the view and modern facilities, the service was a standout - the staff went out of their way to help us out. Only downside is that it is a bit far from Oia town centre (maybe 20min walk), but who cares - its the price you pay for complete tranquility. It's close enough to the buzz but far enough so you have the serenity!

An amazing breakfast in our balcony looking out to the volcano was the highlight! Highly recommend this hotel!!! WIll stay here next time I vist Santorini!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Overall, very pleased with Ikies. Superbly located and with fantastically helpful staff, our stay was unforgettable. Thank you for that. Room prices are high, but can of course be justified when the hotel is fully booked .

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetyNewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

I recently spent 4 days in Santorini at Ikies with my parents who are in their 60's, and I cannot say enough about the wonderful staff and our time at Ikies. I have used trip advisor many times to plan vacations, but I have never actually made a review. I decided I had to repay the kindness and wonderful treatment of the Ikies staff by writing a review. As soon as we arrived my father needed to use their printer and fax for a large document for his business, the ladies in the reception, happily assisted us. Then offered my father the use of a laptop in our room, which he was supposed to return the next day, but kept our entire stay. No ne asked for it back, which was really nice, since he is a computer addict. The staff also took care of all of our many reservations and plans, from taxies to restaurants, to sailboat trips, as well as recommending us our favorite meal in Santorini at Dimitris, as well as our favorite day, which was our sailing trip with Captain Ted. Anything we needed, and trust me we needed alot, they took care of and were nothing but sweet. Two of the staff even came to our room to say goodbye, as they wouldn't be there when we were leaving for the airport. This was truly touching. Besides the wonderful service, Ikies is lovely, with I believe the best views of any hotel in Oia, perhaps all of Santorini. I would highly, highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and I hope to go back again, soon, this time with my boyfriend!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmarinucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Ikies and it was amazing! We had heard Oia was beautiful and the website did not disappoint!
We stayed in The Captains House which was pricey but not as expensive as some of the other houses. We spent the majority of our time sitting on our balcony looking out at Oia and the sea. We, honestly, felt as if we were in a movie.
The Captain's House has an outside jacuzzi that you can also access directly from the bedroom which is a nice touch.
The staff was very courteous and helpful (for example, they went into town to pick up our ferry tickets).
Ikies is about a 10 minute walk to the heart of Oia (which we preferred).
There is really nothing negative to say about this place. It is pricey but if you feel like splurging, it is a once in a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WLB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

My husband and I went to Greece (Athens and Santorini) for our honeymoon. We were really looking forward to our stay at Ikies, and it did not disappoint. From the moment we made the booking, Ikies staff was very helpful and communicative. Our trip was almost cancelled due to the Icelandic volcano (our flight was cancelled and we had to rebook for a flight that left 3 days later), and Ikies staff tried to be as accommodating and flexible as possible, giving us extra days to decide if we needed to cancel the reservation. We made it in the end, and it was a great stay! Ikies' location on the edge of Oia is perfect--it afforded a gorgeous view of Oia and the sunset over the village (much better than if we had stayed in the heart of Oia itself). We stayed at the House of the Captain, and it was perfect for us. It was not as large as some of the other suites, but it had a private terrace, a hot tub that was tucked away, and a beautiful view. It made it feel like it was "our" house for the few days we were there. The suite itself was very comfortable--clean, low-key, but it had everything we needed (wifi, flat screen TV, DVD player--we even checked out movies from Reception to watch on a quiet evening!). The bed was very comfy. The terrace was lovely for lounging and had a gorgeous view. Breakfast was enjoyable (as many others have noted) and we looked forward to it every morning. Ikies staff was warm, friendly, and helpful. This trip was a splurge for us, and Ikies was pricey, but very much worth it for a honeymoon. Most places don't live up to what they look like online, but Ikies absolutely did--the grounds were beautiful and the views stunning. Staying at Ikies, combined with the beauty of Oia, made it feel like we were living in a postcard!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank transcience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.6 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#1 of 58 in Oia
475 reviews
0 mi away
Kirini Santorini
Kirini Santorini
#9 of 58 in Oia
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Address: Oia, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £280 - £964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing