We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good, but a little surprised at the overwhelming reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good, but a little surprised at the overwhelming reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

Stayed here for surprise Birthday Trip in April. As so many of prev reviews mention, Oia is beautiful and the view from our room (The Captain's Suite) of the Caldera was pretty darned lovely. The suite was quite nicely furnished in a simple style. Champagne in the hot tub on arrival v cool too (although at extra cost). So, it seems a little churlish to be saying this, but I was surprised at just how effusive and glowing the past reviews are, and wonder if the massively high expecations were what made my partner (arranging the surprise) feel the tiniest bit disappointed overall. Its certainly not cheap, and we had a little trouble with the hot water; the service was very nice, but a bit ... fake. Of concern was the slight lack of privacy - the balconies do overlook each other quite significantly, and breakfast (dare I say mediocre, but served rather grandly on the balcony) every morning was a bit of an uncomfortable affair - stumbling out a bedraggled mess isn't the done thing with the Buck Fizz sipping neighbours (below and above) in matching bathrobes and shades, eyeing you with open interest. Still, the bubble of pretention does burst a little when one of Santorini's many scrawny stray cats pops in for a bawl at you to share your breakfast ham. I guess epitomised by the relentless hosing down of the rustic white exteriors in order to keep them looking pristine, my main issue with Ikies was that it seemed to struggle trying to be authentic, but pompous enough to justify the super high price.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tpteepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    32
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
515
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

After getting married in Kos, we travelled to Santorini for our Honeymoon. After a late night transfer we received a warm welcome including fresh coffee served in our room. We could not fault the hotel - service, food (breakfast and snacks), ambience, location were all superb!! We stayed in The House of The Carpenter which was the height of luxury. Nothing was too much trouble for example an offer to visit a chemist in Thira on a Sunday for a cough medicine then providing a home remedy which did the trick (Thanks Katarina). Restaurant recommendations were spot on. An unforgettable Honeymoon experience which we will always treasure. The Tranquillity, the champagne breakfasts, and the fab cocktails at sunset along with the beautiful scenery all add to the experience. Thank you to Katerina and all the staff at Ikies for everything you do.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac66aroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
133 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

. . . to describe the splendor of Ikies. Santorini was simply a wonderful travel experience - in large part because of Ikies. My husband and I have traveled extensively throughout Europe and have stayed at many nice places. We both agree that Ikies was the very best "hotel experience" we have had. Everything at Ikies (except for the view) is subtle and understated. The service is low-key yet extraordinary. Katarina, Luella, and Maria are fabulous, as are the support staff that quietly move about such that you don't know they're there.

We stayed in the Captain's House and it was perfect. We really liked the comfortable, traditional furnishings. More like staying at a friend's rather than a hotel. I loved the flooring, especially - it felt so nice on bare feet. To be completely honest, we have to agree that the pool is somewhat small, however, you can always find a time of day to have it to yourself. Most of the houses have a hot tub on the terrace, as well, and we spent quite a bit of time in ours. The temperature was perfect. Every night we fell asleep on our double futon under the stars with the caldera below us.

The only awful part was leaving Ikies. We flew from Santorini to Rhodes, and I have to say we were depressed for a good 2 days after leaving! We had to buck-up and force ourselves to enjoy Rhodes after leaving such a heavenly place (and Rhodes is quite beautiful in it's own right).

If we go back to Greece, and I hope we do - it will be to Santorini and Ikies.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cellapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

First of all, a big *hello* to our dear Ikies staff friends. All of you were so nice and took care of my husband and I very well. THANK YOU!! ;)
The location, the food, the places we stayed at..we stayed first in the House of the Sailor and then transferred to the House of the Artisan and what can I say...we were 100% satisfied with everything. I especially love our little kitchenette and the view....ahhh magnificent. I already had dreams that I*m back at Ikies looking at the beautiful town of Oia. We really enjoyed our time in Santorini and we will for sure come back again sometime in the near future. :)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulachic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
210 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

My husband and I spent 4 wonderful days in the Winemakers House. Ikies is a very beautiful property positioned to get the sunset and the wonderful views of Oia. The walk into Oia is very nice. The only negatives for us was the very small shared pool and the traditional decor in our room. We also found our room to be a bit too dark. But that's just our taste. We prefer a more contemporary look. The highlight for us was our private terrace with jacuzzi. We spent a lot of time just relaxing on our terrace and taking in the view. The service was spectacular. We would definitely recommend Ikies to anyone wishing to stay in Oia.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

Before we start we would just like to say that we never normally write reviews but Ikies is worth it!!

Ikies is AMAZING!!! We spent a week in the Boatmans House for our honeymoon at the end of May and everything was just perfect.

The whole atmosphere there was really friendly and relaxed. Staff were always happy and smiley and ready to help in any way they could but this was not at all intrusive.

The Boatmans has it's own private terrace which overlooks the sea and Oia and has fantastic views of the sunset. And the hot tub...Well what can we say! The house itself is small but was everything we needed. It was spotlessly clean, the bathroom was lovely and modern and the bed very comfortable.

One of the highlights of our stay has to be the breakfast which was brought to our terrace each morning. We were spoilt for choice and wanted to order everything every day... But we just couldn't fit it all in! We also ordered some food from the hotel menu on a couple of occasions and that was also really tasty. Try the Pina Colada cocktail too if you get chance!

It is a 5-10 minute stroll along a nice route into Oia which is a really pretty village with lots of shops and places to eat. It was also only a short journey to other parts of the island but we found that we loved Ikies and Oia so much that we didn't need to go further afield (this is unusual for us).

From our very first enquiry right through to the end of our holiday the staff at Ikies were really helpful. Whilst we were there they were able to recommend some really good places to eat in Oia and were always prepared to go that extra mile for us... arranging airport transfers, finding us stamps etc etc!!

We can not recommend Ikies more... If you are planning to go to Oia you have to stay there! It's more expensive than some places but in our opinion was worth every penny. We are now 'Ikies sick' as we want to go back there!

Thank you to everyone at Ikies for our wonderful honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrsP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ traveler
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

My husband and I just spent 5 days and 4 nights at the Ikies. We stayed in the Sailor's room, had our own private terrace right next to the pool. The views of the Caldera were breathtaking. The hospitality of the staff made you feel welcome and they were willing to assist you with anything to make your stay more enjoyable. Breakfast on the terrace was a delight. Light food fare was delicious and convenient during the day if you wanted to lounge by the pool. Santorini salad is delicious and a must try! . You have a lot of privacy since you have your own terrace and it is quiet and peaceful.

Since this is a traditional house, there are many stairs. You will definitely get a good work out going up and down. The walk to Oia city center is about 10 minutes. Ikies is located poutside the city center away from the buzz, but close enough to it to go for dinner, shopping,etc. The walk along the walking path provides endless amazing views and was not a bother at all.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates smaller hotels, prefers privacy, a very hospitable ambience, and values peace and tranquility.

We loved the staff, attentiveness and hospitality and would definitely stay there again on a return trip to Santorini!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbc2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.6 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.4 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikies - Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikies - Traditional Houses

Property: Ikies - Traditional Houses
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ikies - Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ikies Traditional Houses is a special type of hotel. Its small size, exceptional location, traditional design, range of accommodation (honeymoon, maisonettes, and studios) and professional operation result in a rare blend of intimate and personalized service offered against a setting of unique physical beauty. Located at the edge of the picturesque village of Oia in the northern part of Santorini and with commanding views over it, into the caldera and of the surrounding Cycladic Greek islands, our guests at Ikies quickly tune themselves into the complete tranquility of the romantic village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ikies - Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ikies - Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Ikies Traditional Hotel
Ikies Traditional Oia
Ikies - Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing