We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, but old property needs refurbishment.”
Review of Fanari Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fanari Villas
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great view, but old property needs refurbishment.”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Great location to view the sunset, friendly and helpful staff - but didn't meet our expectations just upon considering their pricey room rates. The room itself is large enough, but the interior is all dated and needs refurbishment. The bathroom is especially quite dated - every time we used the shower, the bathroom floor was all wet and we felt yucky.
If you expect a beautiful hotel with spotlessly clean guest rooms, you would be very disappointed... It might be good for a family, but if you are on your honeymoon trip, I recommend you would rather look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tabi_mania_plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    32
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
50
216
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The hotel is perfectly located , has a great view of the Caldera and you can enjoy the sunset with a drink at the tables in the terrace. All the people very kind and make you feel welcomed. The Restaurant very recomendable, with a good wine selection. I would certainly come back.
It is not necesary to rent a car, because they arrange everything for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Being in Fanari was indescriptible, the hotel is beautiful, and the view the best in santorini, Nikolai (the receptionist) is just wonderful, he helped us with everything, including some problems we had with the arrival, he also gave us an upgrade of our room, and was very kind always. The room was just like a dream, very clean and full of details, so, if you want to pass the day of your life somewhere in the world, let Fanari do de magic!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidErnesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We recently stayed at the Fanari Villas to celebrate our anniversary. After much deliberation, reading and rereading of reviews, we determined Fanari Villas was the perfect place to have privacy while viewing the spectacular sunset from our room. While the sunset did not cooperate everyday due to much cloud coverage, the room did. It was quaint and elegant, wrapped into one. The staff was always readily available to help with any glitches, particularly internet problems. We were always greeted with a 'Goodmorning' or 'Good afternoon'. We felt like we had our own little apartment in Santorini. It was romantic and beauitful and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disney5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Fanari Villas for a week for our honeymoon. The Fanari was absolutely fantastic! From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by the amazingly friendly and professional front desk staff and given a personal tour of the hotel grounds. You just feel welcomed and get that personal touch that you cannot find at big hotel chains. The accommodations were authentic Greek with a modern twist and we had two balconies overlooking the Caldera and had priceless views of the famous Santorini sunset. The Fanari offered continental breakfast, WiFi, and DVD’s at no additional charge to their guests which were really nice amenities. The front desk staff was available all day to address any needs or concerns. They arranged all of our excursions, they exchanged money for us, and so much more! Everything was carefree and easy and really made the trip enjoyable and relaxing. The Fanari is also conveniently located only 5 minutes from the center of Oia, where there are plenty of shops, restaurants, and lounges/bars. The Fanari also has an amazing in-house fine dining restaurant that has beautiful views and the best food in Oia. If I visit Santorini again, I will definitely stay at the Fanari Villas and I highly recommend staying at this amazing hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room overlooking the Caldera and the one floor suites were the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Even for the most experienced traveler, Fanari Villas are a dream come true. The small collection of white washed, cave villas are perched on top of "sunset view" in Oia. The only thing you need to do from any room of this hotel to view one of the world's most impressive sunsets is to open your eyes. The views are breathtaking 24h a day - yes even at nighttime you can view the Milky Way or the Ammoudi Bay below from your eagle's nest location.

The entire staff are very friendly, professional and helpful - perfectly extending the owners' personality and attention to detail to all corners of the property. The front staff of Nicholas and Poppe are both darling nice and lead the chorus of friendly conversations.

Rooms are spacious, well decorated, well accessorized and each one is uniquely beautiful.

ONLY warning is if you have trouble with going up and down steps, this property is not for you. Then again probably much of Santorini will be out of your range.

Room Tip: No bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeseBek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Not all of Santorini is Santorini from the pictures. If you want to visit Santorini, you have to stay in Oia, and the best position in oia has Fanari Villas. Pretty exclusive hotel in which you won’t feel like number, in which service and staff are not cold and distant like In “big” hotels with load of stars, but you’ll feel sublime for many reasons. After best sleep in your life you’ll be greeted by fabulous morning. Mrs Lia is the face of this period. Incredible satisfaction she radiates will catch you too. Optimism and life! In case you need Greek coffee to wake up (like we needed) she’ll make you the best one. You’re having your breakfast on the terrace surrounded by incredible nice sounds…silence, sounds of forks and knives and quiet phenomenal music. The view is…Sunset is also amazing experience. Getting back from the beach into your cooled room (more a house then room) you’ll feel really special: hundreds of tourists are crowding the streets and walls waiting to see the moment that big glowing ball enters the sea, while you’re on your terrace (better word for this is small yard), sitting and having cold drink (sparkling wine), eating figs and thinking about the fact that it’s not the Sun that moves but it’s actually the Earth that does or something similar…And all that surrounded by silence again, that is somehow trademark of this hotel in which you fit in naturally the first day. It’s good to be in love at this place. But it’s also good to renew that feeling. The good thing also is that Nikola, incredibly funny and cool guy, will advise you about every single thing bcs in Fanari Villas you feel so relaxed like you actually don’t have brain that is able to plan things-you simply enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marko_stojanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.2 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.7 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.0 mi away
Maregio Suites
Maregio Suites
#19 of 56 in Oia
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanari Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanari Villas

Property: Fanari Villas
Address: Oia santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#17 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanari Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream-like, magical, and absolutely breathtaking are words that are used by our guests to describe the indescribable: the beauty of Fanari Villas Luxury Hotel in Santorini!Located in one of the finest locations in the world, Oia Santorini, Luxury Hotel Fanari Villas is a favorite destination for those who want the highest quality accommodation in an enchanting and peaceful setting. From the hotel, guests are provided with the most stunning view in the world: the deep blue Aegean and the Caldera, which at sunset are enveloped in the orange and red rays of the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Fanari Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanari Villas Hotel Oia
Hotel Fanari
Fanari Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing