We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime relaxing perfection”
Review of Fanari Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fanari Villas
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sublime relaxing perfection”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We booked our holiday at Fanari Villas hoping for a sprinkle of luxury, a touch of rejuvenation, a handful of rich sunsets and large slice of romance.
We got everything we desired and so much more, the staff were amazing, the accommodation perfect, food heavenly and the location well we couldn't find a better spot to watch the sun go down and the room was beautiful. We would recommend Fanari time and time again. Santorini is a wonderful location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    30
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
206
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Oia is a spectacularly beautiful place and the Fanari Villas is a wonderful place to enjoy the magic that is Santorini. The setting is so beautiful, the staff is wonderful and the place is well-priced (for Santorini). The room was big and comfortable--yes, it could a little updating but pleasant. Great restaurant at the hotel. Pricey but very good food. Again, I can't say enough about the staff. They were warm, professional and willing to do anything. They were part of the reason we enjoyed the hotel so much.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you want romance this is the place for you! The room we stayed in had swimming grotto in it!! The view from our patio was awesome. Our room came with a full bar and not an honer bar the price was all inclusive. By far the best hotel experience ever!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the one that comes the private swimming grotto
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I checked into Room 17 for two nights at Fanari Villas. We echo the positive reviews already posted on TA. We had a big sit-out area from where we could view the sunset, away from the hordes of tourists. When we were there on the second evening, we saw a couple taking their wedding shots just above our room, with the backdrop the white-washed houses and sunset to boot. Suffice to say the postcard-perfect view is what you essentially pay for when you stay at Fanari Villas.
We did try the hotel restaurant for dinner once, and can only comment that the food was passable and not spectacular.
Nikolas and Mimi were very friendly and offered great advice during our stay there.

Room Tip: Choose room 17 if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llhleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

If you are looking for a hotel view of a brick wall in a crowded city, with an elevator, then, this is not the place for you. But, if you are looking for one of the most beautiful views in the world, then this is a "have to go to" spot.
This hotel is located on the northern tip of Santorini. Carved out of a cliff, it is situated in the perfect spot to view spectacular sunsets. Bus loads travel to this location to see the sunsets and yet at this Hotel, you are there. The contrast of the crystal clear blue water with the sun glistening across the Mediterranean, the white cliff side villas, the blue domed churches, and the breathtaking multicolored cliffs is more than memorable.
The only thing that could make this even better is the warm and gracious hotel staff. Nick and Mimi were awesome. Our restaurant host was just as awesome. They went over and above the expected.
The rooms were not what you find in the most expensive New York hotels but were charming and more than accommodating. Our room was clean and fully stocked with toiletries. My wife and I actually had separate bathrooms.
We took the Sunset Oia Cruise which was advised by the hotel and glad we did it. They also gave us tips on restaurants in Santorini and for our trip to Athens.
Be prepared to get some exercise though. Throughout Oia and Fira there are several steps. I am not in terrible shape and still found myself out of breath on several occasions. That is fine because it gave me plenty of time to slow down, take a look around, and take in the beautiful surroundings.
Our room had its own patio with a couch, a small table and 2 chairs. The couple we traveled with had a Jacuzzi on their patio that was nuzzled into the corner of the wall so it was secluded.
The way the hotel is built into the side of the cliff makes each room feel isolated from the others. This was our first trip to Greece but will be going back to Santorini and plan to go back to visit Nickolas and the Fanari Villas.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gcollins1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Having looked at lots of reviews for hotels in Oia, I settled on the Fanari Villas and we weren't disappointed. Amazing location for the sunset and only 2 minutes from the main street but far enough away from the hoards of people who arrive on the big cruise ships.

On arrival we were greeted by Nikolas on reception who was so welcoming and friendly and throughout our stay did everything he could to make our stay perfect. Every member of staff we came into contact with was great, the service we received was excellent.

Our room was large and spacious, very clean and had a large terrace with the most stunning views and brilliant view of the sunset, 4 days (and 4 sunsets) was just not enough.

Having stayed at 5* hotels all over the world, Fanari Villas has to be one of the best all round experience, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16 which had a very large terrace but all the rooms looked lovely and all have bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Yorks Uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We didn't stay in the villa accommodation as we were staying in Kamari but we ate here on a recommendation from the staff at Nissia apartments.

Oia is generally one of the most expensive places on the island so the meal was a little more expensive than we'd eaten elsewhere but certainly not extortionate. 2 courses each plus wine was 120 Euro. It was worth it for the view & to be honest I think that's what you pay for as much as anything else.

The setting is out of this world, stunning views, amazing service & food and an absolutely special experience.

I just wish we could have afforded to stay longer & maybe have a night at the villas themselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekypixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
0.0 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.1 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.9 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.5 mi away
La Perla Villas
La Perla Villas
#33 of 55 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanari Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanari Villas

Property: Fanari Villas
Address: Oia santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#17 Family Hotel in Oia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanari Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream-like, magical, and absolutely breathtaking are words that are used by our guests to describe the indescribable: the beauty of Fanari Villas Luxury Hotel in Santorini!Located in one of the finest locations in the world, Oia Santorini, Luxury Hotel Fanari Villas is a favorite destination for those who want the highest quality accommodation in an enchanting and peaceful setting. From the hotel, guests are provided with the most stunning view in the world: the deep blue Aegean and the Caldera, which at sunset are enveloped in the orange and red rays of the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fanari Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanari Villas Hotel Oia
Hotel Fanari
Fanari Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing