We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in Oia for Sunset”
Review of Fanari Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fanari Villas
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Fanari Villas in Santorini Greece. This hotel's location is the absolute best to view The Best Sunset in the World - either from your room's balcony or from their dining terrace - which we did twice. The staff was most helpful, friendlyl and accommodating. Our wish was their command. The dining was superb - as well as the wait staff. You won't regret staying at the Fanari Villas on your next trip to Oia, Santorini.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank DoloresLewiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently stayed at Fanari Villas for our 26th Wedding Anniversary. This was our second year running. We first came across Fanari Villas on a day trip from Kamari 3 years ago.

We book our stay direct and on both occasions have had nothing but first class service from first contact to leaving. The team at the Fanari Villas are the most pleasant professional first class team. There was familiar faces among the team and our complete stay was flawless from beginning till and during our departure. We requested the same room as we had previously stayed and had our most relaxing holiday to date.

Plan to return again.

Mr & Mrs Fox

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stay here on your trip to Oia! We were lucky enough to spend our first four nights in Oia at Fanari. (The last four nights we spent at Aspaki. We wished we had stayed at Fanari for the entire trip!). Firstly, the staff is helpful, attentive, and considerate. The host/hostess helped us exchange money, recommended restaurants and made us reservations, helped us rent a car, and much more. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We had a nice balcony area, with a table and two chairs. We spent a lot of time here in the late afternoon and evening. It had a PERFECT view of the sunset!! You can sit on your balcony, avoid the crowds, and enjoy the view! During the day, we sat on the comfortable lounge chairs and soaked in the sun. The pool was a few steps away. You could see the bay, the caldera, and hear the donkey bells. We enjoyed the breakfast. I like a light breakfast, so cereal and fruit were perfect. My husband enjoyed a pastry and the eggs. Great eggs! We highly, highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Pros:
1. You can enjoy the great view of sunset at your own balcony
2. It's located at five-min walking distance from the downtown

Cons:
1. No free pickup service
2. No 24hr over-the-counter service is a bit inconvenient
3. Comparatively costly

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firmament29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

LOCATION: Fanari has easily the best view of the sunset on the island. People line up for two hours before sunset in order to get a good view just a few steps away over at the castle ruins, but if you stay at Fanari, you do not need to stress at all when it comes to getting a great view. It is also close to restaurants and shopping. My favorite part of the location has to be that it is right in front of the 1000+ steps downhill to the bay where the donkeys walk up and down...they wear bells so hearing them walk up and down the cliff means you get to hear the most peaceful sounding wind chimes from your room. It's a dream come true! SERVICE: As it turns out, the staff had been helping my boyfriend for six months to secretly plan our engagement and arranged a photographer. Our parents flew in to surprise me for the engagement, and the staff put them in highest rooms where I wouldn’t see them, and made sure that everything stayed a secret! HOTEL: photos do a good job of portraying the rooms and we got a free bottle of wine. The only complaint I would have about the room as that the bedspreads were comforters rather than duvet covers so they may or may not have been very clean, and the bed wasn't the most comfortable mattress in the whole world, but other than those two minor things, it was PERFECT. The sun deck was absolutely beautiful, and the pool was romantic and charming. The restaurant has THE BEST baklava and spanakopita ever!!

Room Tip: The junior suite has steps leading up to the bed's platform.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at Fanari Vills last week in the sunset honeymoon suite. the location is superb with a great view of the sunset, the room was lovely and spacious and the staff were very helpful.
The villas are at the quieter end of the village but is only a short walk into the centre and the many shops and restaurants.
We would definitely recommend the hotel and will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms at the top of the resort
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alexf81171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My fiance and I had an absolutely amazing experience at the hotel. From the minute we walked in, we were greeted with nothing short of friendly and happy people. Alexandra and her team (Nicholas and Maya) were extremely helpful in helping plan my engagement, and were there to answer any and all questions throughout the trip. The complimentary breakfast was absolutely delicious and the service was again wonderful. Combine this wonderful experience with the beauty of the hotel and the surrounding views and it makes for one of the best trips that I have ever been on. If you want to stay in a hotel with a perfect view of the sunset, the best choice in Oia is by far Fanari Villas. As you watch the sunset from your balcony with unobstructed views, turn around once to look at all the tourists clamoring over the walls to maybe get a quick snapshot and enjoy your glass of wine happy and comfortable!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#48 of 58 in Oia
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.1 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.1 mi away
Oia Mansion
Oia Mansion
#40 of 58 in Oia
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanari Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanari Villas

Address: Oia santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#17 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £308 - £552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanari Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream-like, magical, and absolutely breathtaking are words that are used by our guests to describe the indescribable: the beauty of Fanari Villas Luxury Hotel in Santorini!Located in one of the finest locations in the world, Oia Santorini, Luxury Hotel Fanari Villas is a favorite destination for those who want the highest quality accommodation in an enchanting and peaceful setting. From the hotel, guests are provided with the most stunning view in the world: the deep blue Aegean and the Caldera, which at sunset are enveloped in the orange and red rays of the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fanari Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanari Villas Hotel Oia
Hotel Fanari
Fanari Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing