We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming villas and fantastic staff”
Review of Fanari Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fanari Villas
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Charming villas and fantastic staff”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our 4 night stay at Fanari Villas was delightful. The hotel has the traditional cave rooms, and ours in suite 4 was charming. The view from the verandah of both the sea and the magnificent sunset was stunning.

We ate in the restaurant twice, both times very happy with the food and service. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh, with eggs cooked to order. Waiters were lovely and very attentive.

The reception staff here were all wonderful, friendly and trying their best to ensure you enjoyed yourself. The catamaran trip they recommended, though a little more expensive than others available, was a highlight of our trip - a new boat, great crew, lovely lunch, outstanding experience.

Santorini met our high expectations, in no small way due to the joy of staying at Fanari Villas.

Room Tip: Suite 4 had a feeling of privacy, to add to the stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    30
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
209
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I didn't stay at the hotel but we saw the restaurant as we were searching for places to eat dinner with the best sunset view.

Firstly, the view while you eat is something one simply cannot explain - you have to see it for yourself.


Secondly. The food. One of the best meals we had in santorini. The black tagliatelle was decadent and my linguini with seafood was one of the best pastas I've ever had.

Don't miss this opportunity if you're on the island!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamilah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My Girlfriend and I had dinner here one night during our stay in Santorini, we did not stay as hotel guests.

The location and cliff-side views of the sunset are undeniably incredible. Unobscured views of one of the best sunsets in the world.

Food, wine, cocktails, service and facilities were all superb. What was most impressive to us however was the calm & tranquil atmosphere to dine in on the cliff-side after having experienced the sunset influx crush of Oia the night before. The front desk blonde lady & waiter Vladimir were so friendly & helpful with helping us to arrange a taxi from Oia to Fira at a late hour.

We booked a table just the night before when we were scoping out Oia restaurants, and this ensured we had front row seats for the sunset.

If I were to go back to Santorini at some point, I will certainly consider Fanari Villas for my stay.

Fully recommended!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazzure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My daughter and I celebrated her high school graduation with a month long European adventure. The last stop was The Fanari Villas. That 4 night stay was a highlight of our trip! The sunsets were breathtaking from our terrace or the restaurant. The staff was like family ensuring our stay was first class all the way. The food was outstanding! The cave like villas were dated but we would stay there again! I highly recommend for a vacation stop you will not forget-The Fanari Villas.
Kelli R

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were two couples that stayed at Fanari Villas for 3 nights in June / July 2014. Firstly I actually got the best price when I booked directly with Fanari itself. It was super easy, they were very responsive over email - and we got exactly what we were promised. There were so many great things about staying here.

1) It was like a bed and breakfast. Mia, Maya and Nicolas at the front desk were AMAZINGly helpful. They booked stuff for us, recommended stuff, and got things done. Very organised, very polite and welcoming.

2) The location was absolutely the best. We had a phenomenal view of the sunset. The small town of Ia was super close and I didn't think there were too many steps at all. Also very close to ammoudi bay which was nice as you get to avoid the cruise traffic at the old port in fira and take a boat off this bay instead.

3) I really liked the rooms. Somehow there were a couple bugs outside, but nothing inside. Every room is different I believe, ours was pretty spacious. I loved the cave feeling as well, it ensured the room remained pretty cool all the time. The only complaint I would have are the bathrooms. Although they were clean, they could use some updating.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Fanari Villas in Santorini Greece. This hotel's location is the absolute best to view The Best Sunset in the World - either from your room's balcony or from their dining terrace - which we did twice. The staff was most helpful, friendlyl and accommodating. Our wish was their command. The dining was superb - as well as the wait staff. You won't regret staying at the Fanari Villas on your next trip to Oia, Santorini.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DoloresLewiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently stayed at Fanari Villas for our 26th Wedding Anniversary. This was our second year running. We first came across Fanari Villas on a day trip from Kamari 3 years ago.

We book our stay direct and on both occasions have had nothing but first class service from first contact to leaving. The team at the Fanari Villas are the most pleasant professional first class team. There was familiar faces among the team and our complete stay was flawless from beginning till and during our departure. We requested the same room as we had previously stayed and had our most relaxing holiday to date.

Plan to return again.

Mr & Mrs Fox

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
0.0 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#37 of 56 in Oia
367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.5 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanari Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanari Villas

Property: Fanari Villas
Address: Oia santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#17 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanari Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream-like, magical, and absolutely breathtaking are words that are used by our guests to describe the indescribable: the beauty of Fanari Villas Luxury Hotel in Santorini!Located in one of the finest locations in the world, Oia Santorini, Luxury Hotel Fanari Villas is a favorite destination for those who want the highest quality accommodation in an enchanting and peaceful setting. From the hotel, guests are provided with the most stunning view in the world: the deep blue Aegean and the Caldera, which at sunset are enveloped in the orange and red rays of the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fanari Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanari Villas Hotel Oia
Hotel Fanari
Fanari Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing