We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sitting in my room wanting to enjoy the views but...”
Review of Fanari Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fanari Villas
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sitting in my room wanting to enjoy the views but...”
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Yes the hotel is in magnificent spot with one of the best views of the sunset without having to leave the hotel, wonderful. But, I am in statying in room 15 which has a great view of the dining area which of course has a great view of the caldera. If you don't mind having people dining next to your room you can leave the doors open, if you want a bit of privacy when meals are being served you have to shut your doors - so you are stuck in a cave, a beautifully decorated, pricey cave. If I want to enjoy the view I can enjoy it with all the other diners, of course they have a front row seat! Have checked out some of my fellow travellers rooms and they have great views and are more private so if you want to stay here make sure you get the right room. When I asked to move the response was "sorry".

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank voyageur0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    32
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
50
216
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

This is a hotel that cannot do enough for its guests. The rooms are unusual, individual, but comfortable and fascinating. Most have their own balconies, all have some of the best views to be found in the Med or elsewhere. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Oia, a fascinating town, and for watching the fabled sunsets. The food from an imaginative menu is beautifully cooked, and all service is exceptionally friendly and thoughtful. There are no particular negatives, although some may find the rates and prices expensive. The hotel is probably less suitable for young children and the infirm as there are a number of steep steps to negotiate between the rooms and common areas, and indeed the nearest carpark (Oia is virtually traffic free). If and when we return, we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Santorini.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The location of the hotel can NOT get any better...it's perfect to watch the breathtaking sunset..

The staff is very friendly and warm. It didn't feel like a hotel, but a family.

We would recommend it to anyone (and already have)...and we WILL be back again!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsap621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

My family stayed at Fanari last Aug. for 6 days. Members included our children, 13 & 9. We all loved it! The desk staff was marvelous - Nikolas ( and I am horrified I am unable to remember the young ladies name! ) The views are breathtaking. We all fell right into European mode w/ the late night dinners. A bottle of Santorinian wine every evening at sunset. The location of Fanari is perfect - situated at the far end of Oia'. Loved the town - never ventured to Fira. This is not a "fancy" hotel, but a beautiful traditional cave hotel. It was the one of only a few cave hotel's that would accept our children. Perivolas, in particular, which was where I wanted to stay, would not. Their loss - our gain. I would go back to Fanari in a heartbeat and recommend to all. We had a two bedroom suite w/ a private terrace. Ammoudi port just below if a wonderful place to explore. Hire captain George for a private sail on a traditional Greek boat. I was very nervous as the water was sometimes rough - the young lady at the desk phoned her father (a fisherman) to inquire on the water cond. because she was worried about me. That is something I will never forget - though I can not remember her name! And one of many reasons I will stay at Fanari again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank people2people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed at Fanari Villas on a visit to Santorini in October, 2009 and were very pleased with it. The hotel faces west, and we were able to view the beautiful sunsets from our own private terrace. All of the staff were pleasant and friendly, but Nicholas was especially helpful to us with recommendations for activities that were just what we wanted. Oia was much more peaceful than other locations on Santorini, and Fanari Villas was in a location very convenient to the town. Being able to negotiate steps is critical to staying there because of the way its built into the side of the caldera, but we enjoyed the climb and even hiked for several miles to enjoy the views.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CENTRALCOAST, AUSTRALIA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We loved every minute. The pool and iced espresso was our savior on these hot days. Nothing was any trouble for the staff. Prime location yet quiet. Make a booking at the bar above the villas to get the best pozzie for sunset. Eat at Fanari or at the numerous eateries...all is good. Catch the bus for under 1.50 euro to Fira (Shopping & Cable Car) and another 2.50 to Presarus (Black) Beach (Rent a couple of day beds for 17 euro and they will bring down drinks and food from there cafe). Do the sunset cruise on Captain Teds catarmeran (Blue Lagoon Cruises)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRANTandLORETTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Its really difficult to describe the seer perfection and simplicity of this santorinian gem! The view, the stuff, the owners (Manolis and Alexandra), the service, the friendliness and laid back atmosphere is just the beginning of a great stay! The great view of the Aegean and the uninterrupted view of one of the best sunsets of this world is certainly worth the trip!!
You should also try the fabulous restaurant of Fanari which serves great Mediterranean food...Go for smoked salmon Napoleon, Spicy Salad for starters...as for main can't recommend a specific one...whatever we tried was excellent! We will come back for sure for the best sunset at the very best place to stay of the island! Pretty sure that Santorini would not be the same for us without Fanari Villas!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twindrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.2 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.7 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.3 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#42 of 56 in Oia
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanari Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanari Villas

Property: Fanari Villas
Address: Oia santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#17 Family Hotel in Oia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanari Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream-like, magical, and absolutely breathtaking are words that are used by our guests to describe the indescribable: the beauty of Fanari Villas Luxury Hotel in Santorini!Located in one of the finest locations in the world, Oia Santorini, Luxury Hotel Fanari Villas is a favorite destination for those who want the highest quality accommodation in an enchanting and peaceful setting. From the hotel, guests are provided with the most stunning view in the world: the deep blue Aegean and the Caldera, which at sunset are enveloped in the orange and red rays of the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fanari Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanari Villas Hotel Oia
Hotel Fanari
Fanari Villas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing