We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
1864 The Sea Captain's House
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I personally would not call this a "hotel", rather a bed and breakfast. We Stayed in the Venetian room and I would say it was a bit disappointing. Our room was very musty and mold was growing on the bathroom wall. The Location could not be more perfect, however! I overlooked the problems because the setting was so wonderful! Tony was indeed very helpful and a good host. Breakfast on the balcony could not have been more enjoyable. I would say there were definitely "pros and cons" to the stay.

Room Tip: Wasn't a fan of the Venetian room but did not see other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHDonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
104
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We ended up here because we complained about the accommodation we had originally booked. The Sea Captain's Rooms was our compensation and what compensation it was! There's nothing I can add that others haven't said - we were so glad we spoke up and were offered this gem. It turned a bad experience into a great one.

Great view, service, food, breakfast, wine. Such an authentic experience that I'll never forget. Thank you for letting us stay here. I believe lots of the accom in Oia is monopolised or they at the very least work in tandem with other operators so if you're not satisfied keep asking for something better. We were turned down at first but my husband (being a native) persevered and we ended up here.

I'm not sure which room we were in but it was fantastic and bigger than any hotel I've ever stayed in. It was a little home , I just wished we spent more than a day and a half there. In fact we probably only ended up spending a few hours in the room but needed something more accessible than the other hotel we were at which forced us back into the room by 8pm due to the lack of safety/lighting. This hotel served us extremely well. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MforMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed in the sailing suite in July. The porch outside our room looked down at the caldera. The view is unbelievable it is the view everyone comes to the Greek islands to see and we sat eating our breakfast every morning looking out at it. The room was lovely, very clean and comfortable. Tony the host was amazing. My husband lost his luggage on one of the flights and Tony spent a huge amount of time speaking to airline representatives in Athens and London trying to track it down. He was charming and helpful with recommendations for restaurants and things to do throughout our stay. Romi who brought our breakfast everyday to our porch was great. The location was perfect. A short walk to all the restaurants and shops but the feeling of returning to a very special place when you get back to your room. The only thing I regret is not going to the spa which I did not look at until the last day. The good thing about that is I must return. Cheers to Tony and thank you for a wonderful time

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacaAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I were reminiscing about our lovely time in Oia when we realized we never properly thanked Tony. Between the view, the food and the impeccable service (big thumbs up to Niko if he is still around, too) it was as close to perfect as you can reasonably expect. To wake up to breakfast on the patio overlooking the caldera is somewhat indescribable. The intimacy of the hotel (it only has four rooms) which is nestled in between the nooks and crannies of Oia's picturesque homes is also a major plus. This was an amazing experience we still talk about today.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsquared79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at Captain's suite. Tony's got it right: easy booking, personalised service, tasteful antique interior décor in comfortable rooms (dusting more regularly would help though to care for those with allergies).

The balcony has a stunning view, location is perfect for off season travellers, it is sheltered from the wind and the warm sun will undress you - just bare in mind that it's not private. Breakfast was a nice touch, even though it was a basic style, we did appreciate that the accommodation was available in November.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I made a reservation for my mother and I in the Falling Stars house - the owner Tony always replied promptly and thoughtfully. When we arrived, Tony was waiting for us and arranged for a donkey to carry our luggage to the house. He gave us an overview of the village layout and then generously upgraded us to two suites: the Venetian and Sailing suites which share a terrace with a glorious caldera view and a hallway with a cabinet of glasses and a fridge stocked with water, juice and beer. Upgrades are common in hotels, especially in the low season. However, we have never been upgraded from one room to two rooms and felt incredibly indulgent to have so much space. Both rooms are tastefully decorated with the most comfortable beds. The bathrooms are spacious, luxurious and spotlessly clean. When we told Tony we wanted to walk along the cliff from Oia to Fira (if you decide to walk in the morning, the views and lighting are better for photos going from Fira to Oia), he printed out a detailed trail map and wrote helpful notes in the margin. The house is located midway between the bus stop and the castle ruins for sunrise and sunset. After exploring many alleyways and paths to find the best photograph spots during our week long stay, we are confident the hotel's terrace commands one of the best views anywhere in Oia. Rent a car for a day and visit Thira ruins, the lighthouse and red sand beach in Akrotiri and the charming villages of Pyrgos and Megalochori. Otherwise the bus schedule in the off-season comes in handy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theway02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the 1864 The Sea Captain's House & Spa for her birthday in the sailing suite. She decided on this place after it was recommended by a friend who had stayed here previously. We had such an enjoyable time that we never left Oia. Tony and his team provided great service - the room was great, the breakfast on the private balcony was awesome and the views spectacular. Tony recommended great places to eat. The donkey picking up the luggage was a great touch. We were also able to keep in touch with home and business via free wireless. The transfers to/from the airport made it very convenient and saved us some Euros.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbagley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.7 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.1 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#43 of 56 in Oia
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#23 of 56 in Oia
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.0 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1864 The Sea Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1864 The Sea Captain's House

Property: 1864 The Sea Captain's House
Address: 1 Caldera View | In Village Center, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#19 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#21 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — 1864 The Sea Captain's House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top-of-the world direct views to the Santorini volcano, caldera and sea from this three suite, all with antique canopy king bed, luxury guesthouse hotel with full services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your 1864 The Sea Captain's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1864 The Sea Captain`s House Hotel Oia
1864 The Sea Captain`s House And Spa
1864 The Sea Captains Hotel
1864 The Sea Captain's House Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing