We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
1864 The Sea Captain's House
Ranked #30 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
hertfordshire uk
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in every way!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We booked for four nights to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday. We could not have asked for a better place to spend it. The rooms were amazing and Tony did everything to make it the perfect stay for us. Breakfast was served on the terrace for the four us every morning at our choice of time. The staff were very efficient and friendly too. We had the most amazing massages in house arranged for us by Tony. This is something they specialise in and are a definite must have!!
We will return and would highly recommend for the discerning traveller who enjoy perfection at its best!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank janewoollcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
104
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Sea Captains House is a great place to stay while in Oia. It is in a great location in the middle of town, and Tony and Romi are very accommodating. We stayed in the Sailing Suite, which has a very nice terrace and plenty of space. Tony is very helpful in arranging dinner reservations and transportation. His recommendations for dinner ended up being great. The room is very "antique" in its decorations and very comfortable. The view from the terrace is beautiful (although no sunset view), and is where your breakfast is served in the morning. We even required a late check-out because of an evening ferry and they allowed us to keep our bags there while we went to the beach. When we returned, they allowed us to use a room to shower and change before heading to the port.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank erint2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at 1864 The Sea Captain's Inn, specifically The Inn of the Falling Stars in June of 2013. The view from the patio and from the windows was the angle and view that is on the popular Oia postcards. The hotel is really a bed and breakfast...Romie brought our breakfast on Wedgewood china every morning. With the windows open there is a beautiful breeze and the cool stone construction keeps it cool inside all day. When air conditioning was necessary the room's air conditioner works well. The bathroom wasn't luxurious, but everything else made it easy to overlook. The Inn of the Falling Stars made our trip to Oia...when I think of our stay, I think of the hotel, its simple comfort and beautiful views. There used to be a travel magazine that published "Room with a View" in every issue...this B & B would be a serious contender.

Room Tip: The Inn of the Falling Stars has a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHL4457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Falling Stars room at Tony's Sea Captain's house for 5 nights starting July 18th and it was unlike any other hotel experience we had on our Honeymoon-trip to Greece and Turkey. The Falling Stars room was set apart from the rest of the hotel, so you really feel like you are in your very own space. This isn't like a normal hotel where all the rooms look alike; instead, our room was filled with character and charm, with fantastic views through every window. Breakfast served on the patio was unbelievable. The Falling Stars room is located on a side street on the cliff of Oia where tourists come from all over to take pictures of the fantastic view. Tony arranged for transportation from the ferry to the hotel and he had a donkey carry our luggage directly to the room. Any reservation we needed made, or any question we needed answered, Tony took care of. Romi is the nicest lady we have ever encountered at a hotel and she went out of her way to give my wife a brand new beach cover up as a gift because she could tell how much my wife liked the one provided for use in the room. Antonio's massage with the ocean view is a must. This room may not have had all the fancy amenities that huge fancy hotels have, but they more than make up for it in so many other ways. When we go back to Santorini, there is no chance we'll be staying anywhere but here. Tony, Romi, Antonio - thank you! You made our honeymoon so memorable and we couldn't have asked for more!

Jonathon and Samantha

Room Tip: Falling Stars room!!!!!! So unique and picturesque!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed in the Venetian Suite. Breakfast on our balcony overlooking the velvety Mediterranean Sea was truly something from a dream. The staff was wonderful, welcoming, and accommodating. I recommend walking to most things, and renting a four wheeler to drive across the island.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmwpmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Magic: from when Marcos collected us from the ferry terminal and expertly drove us through the winding roads against the spectacular views, to when Yiannis the donkey carried our luggage to the Falling Stars house, to opening the door to our little piece of Santorini heaven and gazing past the four poster bed and across the rooftops to the caldera. I took one breath and cried at how amazingly beautiful it all was. Words will not describe it. If you have been you will know. If you are reading this review – go, and then you will know too.
Falling stars house is like your own little sanctuary just of the “long street” where all the shops are, and where all the cruise boat tourists are stressing about finding somewhere that sells coffee, whether they will buy this or that trinket, or whether the ferry will wait. Step inside your little grey doors into your courtyard and then into the peace and beauty of falling stars house.
There are two double beds: one on the main level and one in the loft. The bathroom is basic but fine. There is a lovely little sitting area in front of the bed, a little table with a view to the old fort (and even after 5 days the view through this window still kept catching me by surprise and still took my breath away). Beyond the sitting area, double doors open up to the balcony where you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner, (but you might have to compete with two local cats who think this is their territory). We sat here sitting watching an endless parade of brides and other tourists posing for photos. Sorry to be in the background of all your shots.
A small cave-like kitchen is sufficient to prepare simple meals with food purchased from the nearby supermarket.
Romi (who is adorable) brings breakfast each day: delicious yoghurt, Jam, greek honey, fresh made croissants. Thanks Romi.
I won’t say more except: if you have the tripadvisor app, the cover photo of Santorini is the view from "our" balcony.

Sea Captains house:
We extended our stay in Santorini and moved to one of the other rooms off the sea captains terrace. The room is beautifully appointed, large and very comfortable. A big spa bath provides luxury and pampering.
Free fast internet. Lovely breakfasts bought by the beautiful Romi. Happy to sit on the terrace and read and draw all day (for the rest of my life).

Room Tip: dont be put off by the "no pool". this is a very special hotel experience. worth 1000 swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulzE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We had a fabulous few days in this romantic hotel, the perfect setting to get engaged! The champagne breakfasts on your balcony with those views are to die for and the sister restaurant to the hotel is delicious! Head down to the castle at sunset and it's worth the trip down to the sea for a dip. The donkey carrying your luggage to your hotel is a lovely touch too! The house keeper was a delightful lady and really made our stay. The only thing missing is a pool but the large terrace with panoramic views and comfortable loungers more than made up for it. A must visit, quaint, atmospheric hotel in Oia.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.7 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.1 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#43 of 56 in Oia
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#23 of 56 in Oia
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.0 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1864 The Sea Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1864 The Sea Captain's House

Property: 1864 The Sea Captain's House
Address: 1 Caldera View | In Village Center, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#19 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#21 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — 1864 The Sea Captain's House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top-of-the world direct views to the Santorini volcano, caldera and sea from this three suite, all with antique canopy king bed, luxury guesthouse hotel with full services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your 1864 The Sea Captain's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1864 The Sea Captain`s House Hotel Oia
1864 The Sea Captain`s House And Spa
1864 The Sea Captains Hotel
1864 The Sea Captain's House Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing