We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique spot in Oia on the caldera and we found a great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1864 The Sea Captain's House
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2009

This was our second visit to Santorini and we wanted to stay in Oia for the views and the charming village atmosphere. I also didn't want to drive around much and the small foot paths are perfect in the Oia village. We knew we could go for a coffee with a view anytime and climb down the stairs to Ammoudi bay when we wanted a nice swim while viewing the volcano. And calamari after that at the port side tavernas with a cold beer or an ouzo.
We had taken a great massage the year before at the Caldera Massages Studio which is connected with the Sea Captain's House. We booked a week and got a reduced rate, the rates on the web site are the full price but always ask them for any specials. They also have a couple of separate houses next door for rent that are less expensive. We met a couple staying for a month in one of the houses, great idea.
The views are worth it all and without many stairs to climb up or down each day. We had the smaller Venetian suite with terrace enough for our breakfast table and reading chairs. Excellent breakfast served when we wanted it. We found the rooftop terrace the best for sunbathing and for simply gazing at the caldera during the sunset hours - your mind just empties as you gaze out. Very zen-like.
We had massages on the rooftop too - amazing ! Better than what we have had in Bali or California. They make it a whole ritual from selecting our aroma of essential oils to lounging with a hot tea afterwards.
During our stay there was also a rooftop, susnet wedding which was nice, they offered us a glass of champagne to celebrate with them. There were only six in the wedding party and not as wild as a Mama Mia wedding !
We really felt at home at the Sea Captain's House and the staff made it all easy.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MattY14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2008

Giada made a great TV show about Santorini and this is where she stayed. We love her shows. We actually stayed in the Sailing suite, the same room where she stayed with a great view to the caldera and volcano. The terrace is where we had our late breakfast every day. It overhangs the cliff with the sea and rest of the village below us. The breakfast was almost our favorite meal of the day, the best was at the hotel's Ambrosia and Nectar. Sometimes we took the champagne with the breakfast but usually we asked for it for the sunset.

The room was decorated with great taste and the bed was the most comfortable, I guess it had some top pad too. The rooftop had a jacuzzi and big sofas for sun bathing with an even higher view that is amazing. We took the House's convertible to the beach and they gave us a special day rate for using the car. We did get lost but we didn't care as the views along the cliff road were beautiful.

As guests, we had a special savings at Ambrosia & Nectar restaurant owned by the hotel. Usually we ate at the second dinner seating so we could stay until closing. July is busy in Oia and the paths are full of people right after the sunset so we stayed on our terrace, wonderful. The restaurant is so romantic with the candles, view and sofas for two plus the food was the best we had in Santorini. The Giada warm feta with honey was so good. Christos the waiter gave us a special baklava dessert our first night as a gift, it was such a surprise and thoughtful for our honeymoon.

The staff at the hotel, Simona and Antoniol were also helpful with ideas on beaches and where to go to taste the local wines. They also run the massage studio linked to the hotel. We had time for one special sunken bath soak treatment for the two of us, it was amazing with the candlelight in the cave room. We talked with guests who had massages and they said they were the best they ever had.

All in all, it was the best honeymoon we could imagine. Oia is the best place on the island. We could walk everywhere, find little back streets with old houses, cute cafes and the nonstop views.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ss22nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

We stayed in the Venetian room. The room and bathroom were compact but adorable and very clean. The highlight was the deck and jacuzzi to which our room gave us access. We felt like kings lying on our "private" deck every evening watching the crowds gather for the famous sunset of Oia. Priceless.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissFussySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

We spent our honeymoon at the Sea Captain's House and it was absolutely lovely! Tony and his staff are incredibly hospitable and very helpful! We had a delicous breakfast each morning on our veranda overlooking the caldera - BEST view on the island! Also..make sure to eat at The Ambrosia & Nectar...we ate there 4 times and loved everything on the menu (especially the warm feta).

Stayed: October 2007
4  Thank sandoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SShindell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank libero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

Stayed: September 2007
6  Thank cgardnerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.7 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.1 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#23 of 58 in Oia
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.4 mi away
La Perla Villas
La Perla Villas
#27 of 58 in Oia
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1864 The Sea Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1864 The Sea Captain's House

Address: 1 Caldera View | In Village Center, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#19 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £259 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1864 The Sea Captain's House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top-of-the world direct views to the Santorini volcano, caldera and sea from this three suite, all with antique canopy king bed, luxury guesthouse hotel with full services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your 1864 The Sea Captain's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1864 The Sea Captain`s House Hotel Oia
1864 The Sea Captain`s House And Spa
1864 The Sea Captains Hotel
1864 The Sea Captain's House Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing