We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1864 The Sea Captain's House
Nearby Hotels
US$874
US$854
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,082
US$725
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Perivolas(Oia)
US$952
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caldera Villas(Oia)(Great Value!)
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$895
US$639
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$917
US$869
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$675
US$646
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Laokasti Villas(Oia)(Great Value!)
US$292
US$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$743
US$721
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
168
18
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
18
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssailing suitevenetian suitecaptains suitelargest suitefour postereach morningour honeymoonantique furnituretourists taking photosrecommending restaurantspost officebeautiful balconydelicious breakfast every morningjacuzzi tubthe perfect hostgreek islandstake photos
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We had arranged for airport transfer (highly recommended!) & when we pulled to a stop, the cab door was opened for us, with a "welcome!" from the hotel staff. By the time we staggered to our feet outside, our luggage was already strapped to the donkey & we were walking to our house. If we thought the question, they had the quick answer. Truly friendly & helpful staff seemed glad we were there with them, unlike other encounters we witnessed elsewhere. Rooms, bountiful breakfast on our terrace, the amazing roof-deck upstairs, placement in the middle of the town with easy no-stair access made it perfect. No, the windows that opened onto the view were perfect...truly a "no-guilt island." Go there, and stay at 1864.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAOIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

This is truly a special place. Tony and his staff are remarkable. Please, treat yourself to this amazing experience. The food, the hospitality and the unbelievable setting. This place is quite simply the greatest thing i've ever done.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Although we went off season and a number of places were yet to open (or about to ), we felt in a way we benefitted from our delightful quiet time at the hotel. You can't help but take in the the quiet spectacle from your own balcony. And how can it get better than to have the sweetest , most delightful host dogs, Casper and Mary keep you company. Pay close attention them and notice how they will show you the lay of the land. GIve them an affection pat and tummy rub and they'll be your loyal mates. Looking forward to coming back to experience the restaurant and spa, seeing the friendly staff and their dog co-hosts!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dirtydog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I had reseacrhed the Sea Captain's house 8 months before travelling to Santorini, and after a few email exchanges with the hotel decided that it was slightly out of our price range. However, when we arrived to find that our apartment at the Nosros had been double booked, we called Tony at the Sea Captain's who offered us the Falling Stars house. This was slightly more expensive than we planned to pay, but worth every penny.

Everything about the Sea Captain's House focuses on customer service. There was a mini bar stocked with complimentary soft drinks on arrival and all facilities in the house felt comfortable; L'Occitane products in the bathroon, White Company linen on the very comfortable beds and lovely white bathrobes were welcome touches. Breakfast was our favourite time of the day. A menu is left in the room each day and you simply tick what you want for breakfast, specify when you want it delivered and leave the menu in reception. Contiental breakfast is included in the price of the room and it was gorgeous, especially the freshly squeezed fruit juice which comes in oversize glasses. The Greek honey and yoghurt is simply delicious.

We used the kicthenette in our house one night and had a delicious meal on our balcony. The views really are stunning, and it seemed a shame not to make the most of them, so we dediced to prepare a simple meal, get a couple of bottles of wine and watch the sun go down. Perfect!

We also made use of the Caldera Massage studio one evening. I had a slimming massage by Antonio, who is very knowledgable about treatments and aromotherapy in general. I wanted the massage to target problem areas. Antonio did warn me that it wasn't a relaxing treatment, and he was right! But he really did tailor the massage to suit me, and recommended a natural detox programme for myself and a friend. You can have a treatment on the roof terrace overlooking the Caldera (we left it too late in the day as it was getting cold, but I'd definitely recommend it).

We treated ourselves to a meal at Ambrosia and Nectar one evening, as we received a voucher for a free starter of warm feta from the hotel. The meal was delicious, and the service excellent. Good service was one of the things that most of impressed us about all of the facilities we used at the Sea Captain's, as this tends to be lacking slightly on the Island, even though you tned to pay prices comparable to London.

The only drawback for us was the lack of swimming pool at the hotel. On our one full day at the Sea Captain's we decided to go to Amoudi Bay, where you sunbathe on the rocks, which isn't the most comfortable (there are some great little tavernas for lunch though and it is well worth the walk down and up 200+ steps!). The roof terrace does have very comfy loungers at the Sea Captain's for sunseekers like us, and some shady areas if it gets too hot. There's also a hot tub, which we didn't use.

In all, a fantastic getaway that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Sea Captain's.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fayee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

After doing hours of research, I chose the Sea Captain's House for our family trip to Santorini. Hard when you're looking at photos and reading descriptions simply over the internet. But what a delight when we walked in to this gorgeous refurbished old cave house. The views overlooking the caldera and volcano were amazing! I knew breakfast was included in our price but I did not expect the full made-to-order breakfast each morning served on fine European linens and Wedgewood china...right on our own private terrace! A real plus was the free wi-fi, which was very beneficial for my husband's business and a life-saver for my two teenage daughters. We would definitely go back there. The owner Tony has 5 homes he has re-done and although we never got to see the insides, we hear they are just as lovely as ours was. We stayed in the original Sea Captain's house as we needed the extra bedroom for the kids. We also had access to a rooftop terrace where there was a shower and hot tub (a necessity for baking in the hot Greek sun). A pool would have been nice, but the quaintness and charm of this place outweighed having that.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whereswaldonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews