We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view of the caldera and oozing with charm and character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1864 The Sea Captain's House
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Tony greeted my husband and me warmly when we arrived by the taxi he had arranged for us (airport transfer highly recommended). We stayed at the Falling Star House and to be honest we were dazzled by the caldera views from the balcony terrace of the House. There before our eyes were the blue Aegean Sea, the caldera cliffs and the famous blue domes of the church in so many postcards.
Ratings:
Location was quaint setting in charming Oia with unobstructed view of the caldera.
It was situated just off the Oia shopping strip and without many steep steps to climb to the house.
The house was comfortable and clean. The house design was simple village style with character
Hotel and Restaurant staff:
• Tony and his staff provided excellent service.
• Tony was most gracious and kind for he offered us (without our asking) late check out because he was aware of our late flight. How thoughtful is that.
Services and facilities:
• Breakfasts were served on the terrace and it was the best time of the day for us. We just soaked in the magnificent views of the blue ocean, caldera cliffs and the changing clouds and clear blue sky. We could even see the cruise ships in Fira.
• The small fridge in the kitchenette was well stocked with complimentary soft drinks.
• Dinner and welcome drinks we had at Nectar & Ambrossia restaurant were delicious. We got 10% discount for this and their other restaurant.
• Hotel provided free wifi with strong connection not like some of the other hotels we stayed in.
• Hotel did offer their car for rental at very reasonable rate but we decided not to drive around as we were not familiar with right hand drive.
I was so overwhelmed by the beauty of Oia, that on the first night of our stay I had to comment in my Facebook that Santorini was the most beautiful place on earth I had visited. My dream is to bring my family to stay at this hotel again. I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday. The Nectar and Ambrossia restaurants must not be missed also.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoyL_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2010

To be quite honest I am a little cheesed off this place doesn’t have a better rating on Trip Advisor? I think because they only have a few rooms they don’t get as many reviews which puts them at a lower place than other hotels . . . . .but if you read the reviews you will see that they are 5 stars! Not because this place is 5 star luxury (lets not confuse this place with 5 star luxury). Its vintage, antique-y (as one guest put it before), and rustic. We stayed here for our honeymoon and in my opinion it was way better than the 5 star luxury resorts we stayed in, Amirandes in Crete and Le Merdian in Cyprus. So much more character! You almost feel like a movie star when you walk out of your room because there tourists trying to get a picture of the beautiful view you have right out your balcony. We stayed in the Falling Stars Suite and I don’t think you can get any better than that, its one of the most famous views in the world!

Let me ask you one question . . . Why are you going to Santorini? The view of course! Then choose this place, and you will love it. It’s more authentic Santorini, not as sterile as the 5 star resorts. I will level with you, I too at first wanted the 5 star luxury hotels on my honeymoon I thought nothing but the best on my honeymoon but places like this have character and history . . . . . Plus you are right in the heart of Oia, the most beautiful place in all of Santorini.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MelissaKarnowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

My husband and I stayed here for the last two nights of our honeymoon. We're not so great at planning ahead, plus we like spontaneity, so we showed up last minute--as in 6pm--and asked if they had any availability for two nights. Luckily, they did; but we had to switch rooms after the first night, which was fine with us.

We LOVED the place. The rooms are just beautifully decorated, elegant and antique-y but not musty feeling. The first night we were in the Venetian suite. It was gorgeous, and the pluses were: the extremely comfortable bed; the giant (included) breakfast; working wi-fi; the quirky-cool marble bathroom; and the free beverages (no alcohol, but big bottles of water, Greek soft drinks and an espresso machine).

The next day we switched to the Falling Stars mini-apartment, which we liked even more. It was like a little fisherman's cottage, or a quirky ship's cabin. A quick way to sum it up is that it has a very Wes Anderson sensibility to it. It's just the perfect balance of elegant and eclectic, with a bit of a patina. Perfect, in our view. It has two beds--one king and a double upstairs in a small loft--a kitchenette, and a private terrace with an INSANELY AMAZING view. The only (small) downsides were that it's right off a main path that a lot of tourists use, as we discovered, so it can get noisy with all their exclamations at the view, and gathering for pictures. Also, although the room was cleaned and mostly perfect, there was dust in some places. If you prefer a bathtub, this place only has a shower (not a problem for us). I cannot stress enough how charming and special this room felt.

Finally, the staff was extremely hospitable and lovely. Antonio showed us around that first evening when we showed up looking for a room. We had obviously turned up at a very busy moment but he was friendly, professional and took the time to show us our prospective rooms. Nikki was really nice too--he brought our breakfast and helped us with our bags. Tony, the owner, was lovely.

All in all, this was a great stay and the perfect ending to our honeymoon! We are keeping it on our list of places to re-visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonine_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

My now husband and I were married at the Sea Captain's House, on the upper terrace. It was a beautiful place for a wedding. We rented out the captain's house and the two suites for us and some of our guests. We had a lovely time. The setting was perfect for a wedding, and we had a very nice cocktail reception. Tony's staff is top notch, very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were fantastic, and there were small touches that showed thoughtfulness. It is a great place for a special occasion. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WATraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed in the Falling Stars House at 1864 Sea Captain's House for 3 days at the start of our honeymoon. Just a great experience all together.

Tony, the owner, met our taxi and escorted us through town (the streets are mostly pedestrian) and had a donkey carry out luggage to our house. The Falling Stars house is a large studio with a queen size bed and a loft with a full size bed. There is also a small kitchen area. The best part is a balcony overlooking the caldera. I am not exaggerating when I say that many of the postcards you'll see around town were taken from this balcony. Just extraordinary.

The food was fantastic. Breakfast is served on your balcony every morning. Just fill out a form the evening before with what you want and when it should be delivered and you'll have a wonderful breakfast served to order. The hotel also owns two of the best restaurants in town and will arrange for a table and include a 10% discount. We also both got massages from the spa located on the property.

You can also use a sundeck balcony with several lounge chairs and a hot tub. Cable TV and wireless internet is included.

There were a few small drawbacks. There is a restaurant located about 20 meters from the balcony, so you will hear some noise during the evening as people are finishing dinner (had one boisterous drunken tourist our first night). The bathroom was also a little run down, but nothing serious. Just some nitpicks.

Overall, a wonderful experience and I would wholeheartedly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElectricMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

From the moment you arrived at Post Office Square, you know that you are in the safest hands. Tony greeted us to welcome us and it was really lovely. Beautiful location, lovely view... and all those little touch to the details of the room. Tony, Nicki and Antonio were all helpful and very kind to us. Thank you very much for lovely stay - hope to go back sometime soon!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeaCaptain, Owner at 1864 The Sea Captain's House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2010

You are welcome - we are glad you enjoyed Oia, the House and Antonio's Caldera Massages Studio. We'll be here when you return !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

All the rave reviews are warranted. Beautiful room. We stayed in the Captain's Room (family of four) and it is exactly as pictured on their website (well, actually, it is better). This is not a run of the mill luxury hotel room, not even a run of the mill luxury boutique hotel room, it sumptuous, luxurious and unique. The private terrace for the room is large and wonderful (a previous review said it was not private, but it is; another said there was no view if you are sitting, but there is--you have to open the shutters on the fence to see the view or sit up in the charming raised portion of the patio, and, of course, you can always stand and see the view anywhere on the patio).

The location is one of the best in Oia. Just off the best part of the shopping lane. Very few stairs. The view of the caldera is so good that all the serious hobbiest photographers from the cruises (judging by their equipment) come to take pictures from the walkway in front of your room (do not worry, it only happens for a few moments a couple of times of day, and you cannot blame them, it is beautiful, and you get it to yourself the rest of the time).

There is more. The breakfast is great. There is a roof top patio with panoramic views of the whole caldera. You are treated very well at Ambrosia & Nectar and at Ambrosia Restaurant since they are affiliated with the hotel (and are two of the better restarants in Oia). Twice they found tables for us at the restaurants when I suspect others would have been turned away. Great WiFi access in the room too.

The only issue was that the bathroom, although otherwise luxurious (including the L'Occitane toiletries and marble throughout), badly needed the caulking redone--mildew issues. The fix would be easy and quick to do, so perhaps it will be done by the time you stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toute_le_Monde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeaCaptain, Owner at 1864 The Sea Captain's House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2010

Thank you for your visit and review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Oia and at the House. And thanks for the constructive note about the bathroom caulking. You are correct - it's been fixed now and back to normal !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.7 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.1 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#27 of 58 in Oia
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.4 mi away
La Perla Villas
La Perla Villas
#31 of 58 in Oia
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1864 The Sea Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1864 The Sea Captain's House

Address: 1 Caldera View | In Village Center, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#18 Luxury Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £259 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1864 The Sea Captain's House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top-of-the world direct views to the Santorini volcano, caldera and sea from this three suite, all with antique canopy king bed, luxury guesthouse hotel with full services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your 1864 The Sea Captain's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1864 The Sea Captain`s House Hotel Oia
1864 The Sea Captain`s House And Spa
1864 The Sea Captains Hotel
1864 The Sea Captain's House Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing