We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem! Wonderful location and Very Friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pelagos Hotel-Oia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pelagos Hotel-Oia
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gem! Wonderful location and Very Friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Pelagos Hotel is a gem! Beautiful location and traditional Hellenic architecture,very friendly staff and management, clean rooms, splendid and convivial swimming pool area, delicious food.We had an amazing experience! the beach is a few minutes away. The village Oia is a 45 minutes walk or 10 minutes drive. Most of th vegetables come from their organic vegetable garden.
I organized a Yoga retreat group there for 1 week in the summer. We all felt at home. The staff (Antonis, Peri and everyone) is so attentive to all of our needs. Yoga outdoor was inspiring.
As an organizer, I really enjoyed the professionalism, kindness and attention to details of Antonis, the hotel manager.
It was such a success that we are returning in September 2013 for another week for my Energetic Vinyasa Flow™Yoga retreat.
I highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to experience warm Greek hospitality and a lovely vacation!

Room Tip: Ground floor room are more spacious. Second floor room have a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isabelleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    28
    8
    1
    6
See reviews for
46
105
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Pelagos Hotel – 12 to 19 June 2012

I joined a local group of ladies, and some partners, for a yoga/Pilates week away. This hotel was specifically chosen because of its blue painted area behind the restaurant had enough space for 30 yoga mats.

The nearby seated area is where you have buffet continental breakfast each morning, lunch and dinner. If sea bream is on the dinner menu it’s truly worth ordering; best I’ve ever tasted.

The accomodation is clean and some rooms had three beds for groups sharing. I had an apartment to myself with a double bed and stayed in room 10. It had cooking facilities – two rings, coffee maker, sink and fridge, the best part about the room was the private patio. There is a table with two chairs and sun umbrella, but if you move all of that into one corner and open both doors you can lie on the patio and sunbathe. This was my escape at 3pm being able to listen to my own music and sunbathe for an all over tan!

Beware that the double bed is located up a ship-style staircase, fine going up but a bit nerve racking coming down. The bed is in the eves of the building so you can’t stand up in the area and go from sitting on the bed to coming down the staircase backwards. Quirky if you’re young enough, another consideration to ask when making your booking.

Location – the hotel is not really walking distance to anywhere. Oia (pron ee-ya) is its nearest town. Most taxi journeys cost 10 Euros to Oia and 15 Euros to Fira. There is a beach ten minutes walk away, black sand, no amenities or shelter, so travel well prepared.

TIPS:
Ladies do not pack heels! The only place you can wear them is around the pool. The walk paths in Oia and Fira are cobbles. Very similar to The Lanes in Brighton with shops down many winding streets.

Five points:

1. Before you book – check there are no other large groups staying at the hotel. I was on a yoga trip with 35 people with a wedding party from Manchester booked in on the day I was leaving. I truly felt sorry for the couple expecting a romantic holiday with the noise that groups make around the pool.

2. Before you leave the UK – Buy factor 30 as the sun gets truly strong with very little wind. Also it will cost you an additional 20 Euros (return taxi fare) into town if you forget to buy some.

3. When you arrive – Visit Oia. Ask the locals in the hotel whether they think it’ll be a good sunset early afternoon and book a taxi for pick up 6.30pm. The journey is approx ten minutes, get dropped off in the square and take a meandering stroll along the cliff past the shops, towards the sun. When you arrive you’ve two options; find a bar to have a drink and watch the sunset, or go straight into an early dinner and leisurely watch the sun go down. In June 8.30pm was sunset.

4. Shopping – In Oia and Fira, lots of boutique type shops (with prices to match!) really worth shopping around as most of them have the same stock of turquoise designed jewellery and wrap cardigans. Up to 20 euros difference so worth negotiating!

5. Walks – Breathtaking views along the cliff top. Take a taxi ride to Imerovigli and walk to Oia takes about two hours. So if you’re planning a sunset at the end of the walk, start off early as with every turn around a corner you’ll want to stop and take a photo. And yes the views are picture postcard perfect walking into Fira from the same start.

OCHRE, SANTORINI. If you fancy an upmarket restaurant reasonably priced then book into Ochre and if you’re eating before 8pm then ask for an outside table to watch the sunset. You’ll want to dress smart as this is one of the most sophisticated restaurants in Oia and booking is essential. Excellent food and good service.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask to be further away from the pool, as the late night revellers continue past midnight, you will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JulesMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Just got back from a fantastic week at pelagos hotel, and can't recommend enough! Got a warm welcome from antonis and perri who instantly made us feel relaxed and chilled, just what you want. The room was lovely, extremely clean and nicely decorated and cleaned everyday with new towels etc, all the rooms have own terrace area with deckchairs and table and chairs which is lovely touch. Fantastic pool area (where we spent most of our week!) amazing food and great laid back atmosphere. We managed very easily without a car, €25 transfer to airport which antonis organised for us, it's a 40 min pleasant walk to oia, on dusty track which was very safe with very few cars a bit up hill in places so need to be reasonably fit, walk took you through pleasant traditional village en route too, it's then €10 taxi ride back to pelagos, so if you enjoy walking and prefer not to hire car, don't be put off by remote location. One day we did a boat trip to volcano and hotsprings and the company collected and returned from hotel which was ideal. One evening we walked all the way to fira which was hard going but well worth it for spectacular views of caldera and stunning sunset! Would definitely go back! Lucy & Tom

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfkaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Pelagos and we can't rate it highly enough. There was 9 of us (and an 8 month old baby) and it was the perfect setting for a relaxing holiday. The apartments are clean and freshly decorated and are set in a quiet location away from the road. There are a couple of beaches within walking distance but to be honest the pool is so lovely that you will struggle to pull yourself away from it. The food here is excellent; straight from the garden to the plate with a nice selection of traditional Greek dishes as well as some old favourites. The best part about this place is the staff - so helpful and welcoming - nothing is too much trouble! Thanks Antonis and Pericles for being such amazing hosts and taking care of our numerous requests! We definitely hope to return even if it is just for the spaghetti bolognese!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Pelagos and we can't rate it highly enough. There was 9 of us (and an 8 month old baby) and it was the perfect setting for a relaxing holiday. The apartments are clean and freshly decorated and are set in a quiet location away from the road. There are a couple of beaches within walking distance but to be honest the pool is so lovely that you will struggle to pull yourself away from it. The food here is excellent; straight from the garden to the plate with a nice selection of traditional Greek dishes as well as some old favourites. The best part about this place is the staff - so helpful and welcoming - nothing is too much trouble! Thanks Antonis and Pericles for being such amazing hosts and taking care of our numerous requests! We definitely hope to return even if it is just for the spaghetti bolognese!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBandPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just returned from a second trip to Pelagos, after a wonderful time last summer. It's a perfect place -- beautiful pool area, the most delicious home-cooked food on the island, and impeccable service from Antonis and the team. We are torn between wanting to keep the place a secret and spreading the word about their good work! If you are considering staying here, go for it; you won't find a more reasonable or hospitable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IVWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian in Nice
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

There are 3 'terrible' and 2 'average' reviews of Pelagos on TripAdvisor. They are from 4 years ago or more, and since then ownership has changed. I don't know what it was like back then, but now the service is amazing. From the moment we arrived, we were treated very well and all the staff were so helpful.

It really makes a difference, especially when coming off a ferry and carrying all your bags in hot weather. Rather than just being given a key to our room and then off to do our own thing, the staff encouraged us to rest a bit, have a cool drink if we wanted, maybe eat some lunch. I was sort of in a bad mood when I arrived but the warm welcome turned that around.

The room we got was amazing, on the second floor, with access to a north and south aspect. Great for all times of the day, especially in the evening when the stars and the galaxy are easy to see with the naked eye. Pelagos is even 10 minutes walk from the beach, and you can have even more darkness there to view the stars (or go for a swim during the day of course!).

Anywhere you stay in Santorini, you will need a car to go where you want (easy to rent anywhere). So even though Pelagos isn't in a village, it doesn't make a difference (5 minute drive away). And in any case, you're probably better off not staying in a village just because this way you are closer to a beach, and it is less busy.

Anything you need to organise, Adonis and his staff will help you with. Cruise, car/scooter/quad rental, taxi, transfer, dinner. And the prices they organise for you will be the same as anywhere on the island so it's best to organise with them.

I could say a lot more about how great our stay was but I'll keep it short.
TL;DR. Warm welcome, amazing service, great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozdogzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
1.3 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
2.0 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#40 of 54 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ecoxenia
Ecoxenia
#32 of 54 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
1.8 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
1.3 mi away
Strogili Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelagos Hotel-Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelagos Hotel-Oia

Property: Pelagos Hotel-Oia
Address: Pelagos, Oia 847 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#14 Family Hotel in Oia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelagos Hotel-Oia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Pelagos Hotel-Oia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelagos Traditional Studios Hotel Oia
Pelagos Traditional Studios Oia
Pelagos Hotel-Oia Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing