We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay. Cave room was great fun.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Ranked #35 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay. Cave room was great fun.”
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Warm welcome and lovely stay. Having breakfast overlooking the caldera on our patio was just wonderful. Staff were helpful and attentive. The cave room was a lot of fun, not fancy, but clean and nice to have kitchen facilities.
Only down point was there wasn't a pool onsite.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highstandards82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    72
    43
    42
    42
See reviews for
115
242
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2011

What a delight it was to start our honeymoon off at Alexander's. We arrived here after a long 20 hours of travel and were very pleasantly surprised to have our room upgraded on our arrival. The staff were absolutely wonderful, they greeted us with big smiles and lots of tips and recommendations every day, making us feel very welcome. Breakfast on the balcony was a delight every morning, with stunning views over the caldera and the bus stop just in front of the hotel made travel around the island very easy and convenient. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -ttbh-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

santorini is beautiful but the new york times reviews from a few years ago that enticed me book a reservation was clearly outdated. The diamond "cave" was mildew and the antique furnishings advertised on line were no where to be found. the vistas were spectacular, but could have been found for less money in a clean mold free environment. The beds were uncomfortable. The breakfast while adequate, was nothing to write home about. The staff were all very pleasant and kind. They worked hard and did eventually change our room to the room we initially expected based on our internet booking. If I were going to Santorini again, I'd definitely stay right in town in Oia, or Fira. There is more happening and accessibility to restaurants, shopping and beautiful sunset views are better. Santorini is an expensive town. For the money paid, Alexanders was one big disappointment

Room Tip: go somewhere else or book an apt. rather than cave
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Alexander's Hotel is in a perfect spot. It's a bit further walk to the main street of Oia than some other places, but that means you're away from the big crowds that come through from the cruises.
The hotel has a magnificent view, and we were served breakfast every day just outside our door. The staff was unbelievably nice and helpful (especially Iveta at reception). Breakfast was really tasty, and saved us about 30 euro a day because breakfast at the restaurants is pretty costly.
One small issue is that the wifi service in the room isn't great. But it is a cave after all, and I really have no complaints about sitting on the beautiful terrace with the amazing view while I surf the web.
Couldn't have been happier with this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Topaz cave. It was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mk1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kos Town, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

A truly great hotel and one of the nicest places to be while in Santorini! The view from our room was amazing and on top of that we had a very professional but at the same time personal and friendly service. Iveta who was behind the front desk did a great job giving all the info we were looking for and always with a smile making us feel so welcomed!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We spent 3 lovely nights at the Imperial suite at hotel. We got it at a fraction of the price and it's well worth the money. We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff on arrival. We were sat at a lovely terrace and served drinks while waiting for check in. The views all around were just jawdroppingly beautiful.

Alexander's boutique hotel is situated at the edge of Oia village. The advantage of its location is that you are dropped right infront of the hotel without having to drag your luggage across the town. Also being at the edge, you are not bombarded with hoardes of tourists taking pictures of you while you are sitted on your terrace. Oia is the village to be in as we found Thira too busy even for low season of May. And oia is beautiful and quaint. We are a leisurely walk of 15 mins from the famous sunset view of Oia and a 5 mins walk from the centre of town where there are lovely restaurants and shops to browse your day away.

We didn't do much, as the imperial suite has the most gorgeous view and our own private jacuzzi to laze the days away. The staff were great. Helpful and yet giving us all the privacy we wanted. We are here for our 10th anniversary trip, which was great. The suite was beautifully decorated. We had all the space we need and it was private and quiet.
I loved the breakfast in the morning. It was served on our private terrace.

I would defintely recommend anyone coming to Oia to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

amazing hotel, great staff, perfect location. The diamond suite was spacious and clean. Elias and Angelo were superb and very helpful with us and our little one. definitely would recommend this hotel and Oia.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alix099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.4 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#42 of 56 in Oia
384 reviews
0.7 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#45 of 56 in Oia
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nikos Villas
Nikos Villas
#46 of 56 in Oia
147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#43 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia

Property: Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Address: Main St. | Santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, elegance, intimacy, breathtaking views of the caldera...Alexander’s is a boutique hotel consisting of suites, cave villas and cave houses all named after precious and semi-precious stones, according to Cycladic architecture. We are a hotel with less steps. We have been recommended by the New York Times, the Independent and the Daily Telegraph. Our hotel was the main location of the film “Thira.” Special occasions are magical when held at Alexander’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexanders Boutique Hotel Oia
Alexanders Boutique Oia
Alexander's Boutique Hotel Of Oia Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing