We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet place with amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
ile de france
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very quiet place with amazing view”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Stayed in diamand suite. Loved the peacefull almost private terrace with spectacular view.
Staff has a great sense of service and is very efficient and friendly

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maribel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    72
    43
    42
    38
See reviews for
116
237
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Traveled in July 2011 with our three year old son. Staff at hotel is among the best of any place I have ever been. Room was nice, view was great, room was safe for 3 year old. Hotel was a very short walk down the road to Oia proper, but a small price to pay to be in a real cave house (as most won't allow a 3 year old). I meant to tell them coffee table had a glass cover, that would have been best removed with the child, but all in all a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This was my first visit to Santorini. I booked at Alexander's based on the location, pictures, and online reviews. I wasn't disappointed. Oia is a beautiful, quiet village with stunning views of the Caldera. Alexander's is situated close to the main pedestrian walkway that runs through the heart of the village. Nothing in town is more than a 15 minute walk, including the bus square for further adventures beyond Oia.

The accommodations were clean and welcoming. Given that the rooms are really caves, WiFi reception can be spotty. I found myself sitting at the table outside the reception to get a good connection, and also to socialize with the staff and other guests. Alexander, Yvetta and the rest of the hotel staff couldn't have been nicer, offering me a glass of white wine whenever I would visit. Some of these visits would last well into the evening, followed by trips into town to enjoy the nightlife. :-)

The included breakfast is served on the patio areas which are shared between rooms. This can lead to some noise issues from other guests if you sleep with your windows open. The room was air conditioned, so closing the windows was not a problem at all.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sloneycho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed at Alexander's in June and still have such happy memories of our time there. You know how sometimes after a vacation you think of regrets from your trip? Well, with this trip, no regrets.

We stayed in the Topaz cave room which was very comfortable - separate sleeping area, separate small kitchen, equipped bathroom. We looked forward to breakfast every morning on the Terrace -- great food, unbelievable views, fantastic service.

We were just steps from the main marble-paved walkway. Hotel staff was so helpful in asking us if we needed any arrangements made -- they booked a rental car and several dinners for us in town.

We heartily recommend Alexander's without reservation. After walking through town a lot and seeing other sites on the island, we simply can't imagine a better place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go1ngP1aces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Warm welcome and lovely stay. Having breakfast overlooking the caldera on our patio was just wonderful. Staff were helpful and attentive. The cave room was a lot of fun, not fancy, but clean and nice to have kitchen facilities.
Only down point was there wasn't a pool onsite.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highstandards82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2011

What a delight it was to start our honeymoon off at Alexander's. We arrived here after a long 20 hours of travel and were very pleasantly surprised to have our room upgraded on our arrival. The staff were absolutely wonderful, they greeted us with big smiles and lots of tips and recommendations every day, making us feel very welcome. Breakfast on the balcony was a delight every morning, with stunning views over the caldera and the bus stop just in front of the hotel made travel around the island very easy and convenient. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -ttbh-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

santorini is beautiful but the new york times reviews from a few years ago that enticed me book a reservation was clearly outdated. The diamond "cave" was mildew and the antique furnishings advertised on line were no where to be found. the vistas were spectacular, but could have been found for less money in a clean mold free environment. The beds were uncomfortable. The breakfast while adequate, was nothing to write home about. The staff were all very pleasant and kind. They worked hard and did eventually change our room to the room we initially expected based on our internet booking. If I were going to Santorini again, I'd definitely stay right in town in Oia, or Fira. There is more happening and accessibility to restaurants, shopping and beautiful sunset views are better. Santorini is an expensive town. For the money paid, Alexanders was one big disappointment

Room Tip: go somewhere else or book an apt. rather than cave
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#38 of 56 in Oia
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.7 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#44 of 56 in Oia
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.1 mi away
Nikos Villas
Nikos Villas
#45 of 56 in Oia
140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#22 of 56 in Oia
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia

Property: Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Address: Main St. | Santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, elegance, intimacy, breathtaking views of the caldera...Alexander’s is a boutique hotel consisting of suites, cave villas and cave houses all named after precious and semi-precious stones, according to Cycladic architecture. We are a hotel with less steps. We have been recommended by the New York Times, the Independent and the Daily Telegraph. Our hotel was the main location of the film “Thira.” Special occasions are magical when held at Alexander’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexanders Boutique Hotel Oia
Alexanders Boutique Oia
Alexander's Boutique Hotel Of Oia Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing