We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Nearby Hotels
US$669
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$911
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$806
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$784
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$740
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$719
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Amoudi Villas(Oia)(Great Value!)
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Perivolas(Oia)
US$942
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Laokasti Villas(Oia)(Great Value!)
US$270
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
380
75
47
42
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
75
47
42
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsimperial suitecave househot tubroom upgradeevery morningunique experiencebottle of wineour honeymoonbreakfast is servedrented a carcaldera viewhighlight of our tripyogurtprivate jacuzzifew stepsbus stopthe main street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The view from the room is very amazing.
The room is well-decorated, cozy and all facilities are provided.
It located in the central of Oia.
The staff is very friendly and full of service mind.
I would love to be back. Everything is fantastic !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

1st trip to Greece and 1st stop was santorini, it was such a right decision to stay in oia. Amazing amazing view! We had daily breakfast at the huge balcony if you would call it that just outside our room. The balcony is a common area shared with the other guests. Iveta was the lady who helped with our questions during the stay and also very friendly, bubbly host. Enjoyed the outdoor jacuzzi facing the sea. Room is like a cave house, really unique in my opinion comparing to the normal city hotels. Hotel location is walking distance to the sunset area and the alleys with most of the shopping and dining in oia. I will definitely want to visit santorini again and will stay at Alexander's!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Probably the highlight of our trip to Europe.

On arrival we had the reserved airport transfer driver helping us with our luggages, before we knew it we had arrived smoothly at Alexander's.

We were welcomed by Iveta, who had arranged us our rooms and given us tips on how to walk to the main street, literally 5 mins walk away.

The cave room we booked is extremely spacious, with a tiny shared living room that less to two individual rooms. The cave house is equipped with a tiny kitchen, dining area, two day beds and a queen side bed.

Breakfast is set up outside our rooms overseeing the panoramic view of the oceans. The lodging does not offer in-house room service beyond breakfast. However, Iveta had kindly arranged to order meal delivery service for us for a local restaurant.

There is also a shared jaccuzi that oversee the stunning view of Oia.

Would definitely return here one day!!!

Thanks for the great hospitality!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvrui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

If you are into the "authentic" experience of how the locals might have once lived, maybe this is for you. However, me and my wife were on a vacation and wanted a decent amount of luxury, but this left us feeling... For a lack of a better word, impoverished. So much so, we could not even spend one night there and forfeited all our money for our stay and moved to another hotel. I just wish we saved our money and used it elsewhere. The staff was pretty friendly and the view was gorgeous, but that's about it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Joseton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderBourtzoglou, Manager at Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Mr. Joseton,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. Every feedback is highly important for us, as we are continuously working on improvements, concerning our hotel guest’s satisfaction!

We would like to take this opportunity and thank you for the possibility to explain in details what our guests should expect when booking accommodation at Alexander’s Boutique Hotel.

Your reservation was made for our Junior Cave House, which is the least expensive accommodation, from the four (4) different room categories, we offer. We sincerely regret the Junior Cave House you booked, did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, for the time being, the hotel was fully booked for the dates you desired to stay with us, therefore, we were unable to introduce you with our other rooms, which belong to higher categories.

Junior Cave Houses are traditional, Santorini’an style Cave Houses, offering the taste of ethnic authenticity, merged with the modern facilities and amenities, such as free WI-FI, TV, hairdryer, Air Conditioning and full kitchen facilities. Bathrooms are equipped with shower.

Superior Cave Villas belongs to the next, higher category. Larger in their size, decorated with antiques (from the owner’s personal collection) and offering exceptional views, are only few of the qualities, our hotel guests should look forward to experience, while staying at any of our
Superior Cave Villas. As well as all our room types, Superior Cave Villas offer all the modern facilities and amenities, such as free WI-FI, Satellite TV, hairdryer, Air Conditioning and full kitchen facilities. Bathrooms are equipped with the Jacuzzi bathtubs, which gives a special, romantic touch, especially for our “Honeymoon guests”.

Deluxe Suites are our top accommodations. Each Suite is offering two (2) separate bedrooms, connected by large living rooms and is comfortable for families or companies of friends up to six (6) persons. Exceptionally, our Deluxe Imperial Suite is offering a private outdoors Pool SPA Jacuzzi and steam sauna facility in the bathroom. Deluxe Suites are richly decorated with the exceptional antique furniture pieces, along with all the modern facilities and amenities, mentioned previously, such as free WI-FI, Satellite TV, hairdryer, Air Conditioning and full kitchen facilities, including the Jacuzzi bathtubs.

For larger families/companies, up to ten (10) persons, we are pleased to offer our “Grand Collection” rooms. Considering the needs and comforts of larger families/companies, “Grand Collection” rooms are offering up to three (3) private bathrooms, up to four (4) separate bedrooms, large living room, for comfortable gatherings and up to three (3) fully equipped kitchens. Depending of the selected “Grand collection” room type, private outdoors Pool SPA Jacuzzis are available. “Grand Collection” offers all the previously mentioned facilities, amenities and comforts.

We would sincerely welcome the opportunity to have you as our hotel guests in future, where we would do all our best to fulfill your desires towards your accommodation expectations!

Alexander's Boutique Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel in first week October 2013. The hotel only has about 3 - 4 permanent rooms, and the rent other rooms on temporary basis every season at other properties around the neighbourhood. We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, each in a different room as they claimed to be over booked. The first room, which was on main property was very good. It was the size of a suite. The second room was far from the property (about 5 - 8 mins walk). We had booked this hotel purely for the view, and the room we were put it completely ruined it for us. We did not get the view of the hill with all white buildings from it.

The pictures are deceptive. None of the two rooms had any internet coverage. The breakfast - quite useless. They had two underpaid Asian workers.

The women at the reception is very polite till you are talking to her about buying something. We've seen her being extremely rude with other customers. Infact - the hotel never admits their mistake and is always very arrogant.

If they guarantee you one of the 4 rooms on the property, it may be worth the stay, else you should pass. Don't get taken by the pictures on the website.

Room Tip: Ask for a guaranteed room in the main property - They only have 3 - 4 rooms there and those are the only once that matter.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheGlobalIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderBourtzoglou, Manager at Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear NoidaTraveler,

Thank you for your valuable feedback!

However, we would like to highlight the facts you mentioned. Following your review carefully, we believe, important things have been misunderstood or left behind. We would like to take this opportunity to clarify the situation and your review in general.

You have reserved a Cozy Cave house, which is our most economical accommodation. The room you were accommodated for the first night was our Diamond Cave Suite (now we call it Deluxe Cave Suite). Considering that your original booking was for a Cave House, we thought it would be a nice touch to offer a complimentary upgrade to one of our top accommodations, since we had the availability, for the first night of your stay! Regretfully, we could not offer the same complimentary upgrade for the second night of your stay (which you were informed about during the check-in time) and at the next day we provided the accommodation as per your original reservation. We would like to highlight, your Cave House room offered a full Sea view and the volcano view. Cave House was newly renovated and spacious and the WI-FI router was located right in the room!

We do find offensive your remarkable opinion regarding “underpaid” workers. We regret you could not appreciate and evaluate their efforts and wide smiles, sincerity, while trying to accommodate all our guests’ needs and comforts. At Alexander’s Boutique Hotel, on everyday basis, meets multi-cultures, our guests comes from the most different parts of the world! Along with that, our stuff members are multicultural and in no way “underpaid”. Therefore, we are proud to cover the most of world’s spoken languages (such as: English, Spanish, French, Russian, Arabic, Hindi, Urdu, Farsi, Latvian and Greek).

As for our Front Desk receptionists, our number one priority is to help and assist, to advise and recommend the best ways of exploring the Island. We believe, having an opinion of "locals", gives opportunity to our guests to see the most important highlights in much shorter and better quality way. We do not remember you “buying” anything from the hotel or taking in account any of our recommendations, but you were still treated politely, with patience and understanding to an every detail. Also, we do not remember discussing our hotel employees salaries with you!

However, we would welcome the opportunity to welcome you as our hotel guest in future, which would give us the possibility to fulfill all your expectations and make your holiday stay in Santorini and Alexander’s Boutique Hotel as pleasant and memorable as possible!

Alexander’s Boutique Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews