We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location poor service ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Ranked #38 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay in this hotel for 6 six nights paid in advance & was really excited to stay here and explore Santorini.
After a day of traveling when we got there they had no idea of us coming on that day ..they double booked again .. They shipped us off to another hotel with no explanation of why this has happened ..the hotel they took us to had no working air condition at the time and it was such hot day .
We got our room next day but no apologies .
The room we had was a beautiful room with great view but that's all.

Stayed: August 2014
6  Thank Danijela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked 3 nights at Alexanders many months in advance of our trip. Upon arrival, we were told that the ultimate cave house we booked was not available and we would be accommodated at their "sister" property Strogili next door for one day. The room at Strogili was amazing and perfect for our small group of three, so we asked to stay there for the remainder of our stay. We were told we could only stay for one more day, so we still could not unpack and were then told to be packed by noon on the second day, leaving us homeless for two hours before a sunset dinner cruise we had booked. Very inconvenient! For our last night, we were moved to a completely different property about 10 minutes away which was not nearly as nice. Virginia was extremely nice about the inconveniences, but we were never offered any discount for our troubles. If you inconvenience travelers and don't accommodate them with the room they reserved, at least be prepared to offer a partial refund of some kind. We loved Santorini and had a wonderful time in spite of the inconveniences, but if you are not flexible, don't book here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Most hotels have great views if they look on to the caldera. This hotel is no exception. There are many luxury hotels and Manu have private facilities such as small private infinity pool or jacuzzi for each room. In some respects the hotel could be said to be a little dated but I liked it. This hotel had a shared patio area ( near reception) and shared jacuzzi. I guess you get what you pay for and if you want individual facilities you'd have to pay even more. Our room was a cave built into the rock. It was quirky and had a separate bedroom and bathroom with small kitchenette which we used to cook our lunches several times. This room was quiet. Wifi worked well. The hotel sometimes felt like a backpackers hotel as there was a great turnover of guests and few stayed more than a night or two. We stayed in our room for the whole week but other people were being swapped around rooms between their stay! The room next to ours held at least 4 and so attracted groups which could be noisy or take over the patio area somewhat. Evetta was a great character and the other staff were kind and helpful at all times. The hotel was quite near a busy road with oversized coaches roaring past most of the day - handy for transport to Fira. The hotel does not have its own pool. The pool is in a very nearby hotel (2mins) away and looks over the other side of the island. It was absolutely fine. This was an unforgettable holiday for us and the hotel was a great choice for a first visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to remain in the same room and have no moving around during your stay. Ask for a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fergusong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stay here for our first visit to Oia. The view to caldera and also to the Oia cliff are beautiful. The service quite ok and responsive but because the lobby too small difficult to speak to the
Reception/manager. It is not 5 star should be considered as 3 star. We stay in the deluxe suite cave but disappointed with the room, the bed and the "private" jacuzzi. It is not private because you shared it the other 2 rooms and no swimming pool! The room detail is actually good vintage stuff but the room is dark and a bit damp. The bed also not comfortable and wifi not work. No selection of breakfast. It is the same menu and not even a Greek yogurt.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bigmomatraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Although the hotel is rated as 3.5 star we received 5 star treatment. The view was amazing from our balcony and having breakfast there was delightful. The breakfast was simple but adequate. However they did provide cereal which we requested. The hotel manager Evetta is superb. She planned all our activities, made all booking arrangements and at the best prices. All her recommendations were great. The hotel is very clean and the service was excellent. This was made even better by Sikander who was very helpful and entertaining. The location is perfect. Close proximity to all key areas. Just 25 mins from the airport and capital city Fira. You won't regret staying in Oia. We stayed in the cave house room and this was a reasonable size with good size bathroom. The room also has a kitchenette, with everything you would expect. Advisable to travel by bus as it's easier and cheaper than taxi.

This was truly an unforgettable holiday and we would love to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice with shared balconies. The lighthouse room is the most popular but be aware that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalvsokhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were two families traveling together on a trip to the Cyclades. We booked this hotel because of its good location and good reviews here. I question all the good reviews of this place. They seem manufactured.

We booked for three nights. We had booked the Deluxe Cave Suite.
When we arrived, we were told that the Deluxe Cave Suite was not available that day and we would be staying at a regular Cave Suite for one night. Instead of the jacuzzi, we would have access to the pool. While we were a little disappointed, it did not sound too bad.

However, we were led to a completely different hotel - Nikos Villas! The folks at Alexander's had lied outright and said that those rooms were part of Alexanders Hotel!! They had taken Nikos Villas keys and put them in Alexander's Hotel key rings!

The rates for Nikos Villas is less than half of Alexanders Boutique hotel and for good reason! It was not a cave hotel, it does not overlook the caldera and the rooms were terrible.
We were told by one of the porters that there was an electrical problem in the Deluxe Cave Suite and they were trying to fix it. We asked to see the room, so that we know what we would get the next day, but were refused. We later realized that they had actually overbooked the hotel and forced us to stay at a different location to account for it.

The next day we were asked to check out from Nikos Villas at Noon!! At that time the Alexander's people told us to leave our luggage with them and go out to see the island - we would get our room later that day. We decided we'd not let these shady people spoil our vacaiton and went out for the day. When we came back, we had been transferred to the Deluxe Cave Suite - where we stayed for the last 2 days. The suite was old, terrible furnishings, poor quality linens, and the included breakfast was the worst I have had in my years of travel.

These are greedy owners. Overbooks the hotel. Does not care about service.

I am never returning to this hotel and will advice everyone to stay away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
16  Thank Emem1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here recently for 5 nights for a family gathering. Having breakfast outside everyday with a stunning view of the caldera was just wonderful. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lovesfood67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.6 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 58 in Oia
362 reviews
0.7 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#48 of 58 in Oia
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.5 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
3.4 mi away
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
#5 of 21 in Firostefani
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia

Address: Main St. | Santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £88 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, elegance, intimacy, breathtaking views of the caldera...Alexander’s is a boutique hotel consisting of suites, cave villas and cave houses all named after precious and semi-precious stones, according to Cycladic architecture. We are a hotel with less steps. We have been recommended by the New York Times, the Independent and the Daily Telegraph. Our hotel was the main location of the film “Thira.” Special occasions are magical when held at Alexander’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexanders Boutique Hotel Oia
Alexanders Boutique Oia
Alexander's Boutique Hotel Of Oia Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing