We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I will never forget the wonderful people at this hotel. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and help us. Everyone was very friendly and always greeted us with a smile!
The hotel itself was amazing: white cave rooms, surrounded by the white buildings of Oia on a cliff, and the blue sea. I am glad we stayed in Oia, it was quiet but easy to get around, Fira and beaches were just a bus ride away.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shvetapuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2009

Our fırst encounter with Alexandros (the owner) was over the phone and his genuine kindness and 'non-busines' mannerism won us over immediately. We were planning to have our wedding in Santorini (in a closed family circle: just 13 of us) and we needed a cosy but nice hotel to house the two small families. Alexandros made everything easy for us undertanding the pressures of the wedding and Gabriella (the manager of the hotel) was also very helpful. Our families were impressed with the uniqueness of the hotel and we really liked the personal touch but also the distance where it was necessary. For us it was more than just a hotel, we felt comfortable enough to 'feel at home' and that is not something you can achieve without the right people and Alexandros and his staff tick those boxes. The hotel itself has breathtaking views and its many different villas offer something different for everyone (we should know as we had booked almost half the hotel). We would definitely recommend it, and make sure you pick Alexandros' brain for the good restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takis-Ceyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

If you are planning on travelling to Santorini, Alexanders is a must! From my initial point of contact via email, the service was outstanding and we were warmly welcomed by Gabriella and then Vicki and felt immediately part of the Alexander family! The quality of the accommodation was 5 star, the views from our balcony breathtaking, the breakfast served on our balcony was the perfect start to our day. Such was the quality of the accommodation and service we just wanted to stay at the hotel and make the most of it! It was only a minutes walk to the shopping centre of Oia and across the road a wonderful taverna (ask for Tony) and mini market to provide for all requirements. It was also great to be able to access a lovely swimming pool just minutes from the hotel. Alexanders, Vicki, Oia, Santorini - the highlight of our recent trip to Italy and Greece!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

This is highly recommended if you plan to visit Oia. The rooms are beautiful adn clean. We went during low season and got an upgrade to a diamond. Also, the third party website we booked through made an error with the charges and the hotel staff help sort through that not charging us extra that would have been the price of the room (vs what was communicated to us via the third party booking site).
The manager is from Autralia, so it was nice to have a fluent english speaking person. The hotel is on the cliff, so you wake up and eat breakfast to beautiful views. Like most hotel in Oia, this is a villa style hotel so there is no 24 hour room service or front desk. The room we got had a kitchen with fridge etc so we were able to do some late night snacking as needed.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigger210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Read enough of the reviews here and you'll get the idea. If you want a pool, pay the extra $200+ night and you can get it. If you want to be in the heart of Oia with the throngs that come every evening, you can get it (for an extra $150-250 a night). If you want to be near the best of Oia but not in the middle of it all, with a high-end authentic feel (not "too" pristine or sterile) then you'll probably love it here.

My wife and I got what we wanted and so much more! A kitchenette with the next door market made a nightly ritual of making a light snack on the balcony overlooking the amazing view with a bottle of local wine. We used the hot tub daily to soak after walking all over the island (highly recommended to rent a car and see all the different topographies). As wine lovers, we visited 5 or 6 island vineyards and learned a lot about them. We ended up adding more nights because it was so perfect.

Pros:
- Hot Tub (could have been annoying if others were loud or crowding to use it, but that wasn't the case).
- Spacious apartment, with kitchenette and a guest room(!) which was unexpected.
- Vicki, the general manager, who was over-the-top friendly, helpful, and (for us) refreshingly blunt! Gabrielle was also very helpful and friendly.
- Santorini: amazing island, all nearby.
- Breakfasts on the patio! Great way to start the day!
- Location to Oia: close enough to be convenient without being amongst the throng.

Cons:
- No pool on site. Understand it, and get over it or move on.
- Cave houses. Again, exactly what we wanted, but might not be for everyone, especially if you have difficulties with stairs/steep walkways. You'll want to look elsewhere if you do.
- 80% sunset from the balcony, not 100% (which is 15 mins walk away and more $$).

Must Do:
- Dinner in Oia at the "Canadian guy's place" (can't remember the name, but everyone knows where it is)
- Art Space- a bit out of the way, toward Kamari, but the eccentric artist who operates it is worth a visit, and his Vinsanto and Grappa are pretty fine!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

A charming small hotel, quiet and yet well situated. The staff is extremely helpful. The rooms are very clean.
The imperial suite with its private terrace and magnificient view of the caldera is very romantic.
I would definitely recommend it to anyone that is seeking a quiet and romantic place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentina0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

I stayed at another hotel in Firostefani for 2 nights and deliberately booked this hotel for 1 night because of its location in Oia. I expected the view to be much better but realised that it didn't differ much from the view I got in Firostefani. Upon my arrival, I was told immediately not to flush the toilet paper into the toilet due to the weak sewage system of the island! I later saw tips from my eyewitness travelling book and realised that this is in fact true (weak sewage system), however I thought it was so weird to be told about this 1st thing when the manager showed us to our room (Opal Cave House). The room was just so so compared to the other hotel we stayed in Firostefani. The so called private balcony, as mentioned by some other travellers, was actually a shared area with the guests of the other cave houses. The staffs were not friendly too. Even though the manager appears to be friendly, I personally thought she was quite fake. As such, we didn't have a good impression of this hotel. I would definitely ask my friends (if they ever travel to Santorini) to avoid this hotel by all means.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrs_hermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.7 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#47 of 58 in Oia
272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 58 in Oia
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
4.1 mi away
Aroma Suites
Aroma Suites
#29 of 81 in Fira
433 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
#7 of 22 in Firostefani
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia

Address: Main St. | Santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £86 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, elegance, intimacy, breathtaking views of the caldera...Alexander’s is a boutique hotel consisting of suites, cave villas and cave houses all named after precious and semi-precious stones, according to Cycladic architecture. We are a hotel with less steps. We have been recommended by the New York Times, the Independent and the Daily Telegraph. Our hotel was the main location of the film “Thira.” Special occasions are magical when held at Alexander’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexanders Boutique Hotel Oia
Alexanders Boutique Oia
Alexander's Boutique Hotel Of Oia Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing