We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a bliss... pure bliss...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
2 reviews
“a bliss... pure bliss...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

I was blown away by the view from this hotel. The room is traditional, neat and lovable not to mention the view being one of the best in Oia. You can literally sit on porch for most part of the day taking in the view and sun.

A special thank you to Vicky for her warm and friendly welcome. The conversation goes along way to make myself feel so welcome and comfortable.

A little splurge (on expensive side) for this hotel is worthwhile. Fast and free internet makes it all the more special when you can show views of Oia to your loved ones via the viewcam.

If I am in Santorini again, this is the only place!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bear-admirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    67
    41
    41
    37
See reviews for
112
234
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

I must say that staying at Alexander's Boutique Hotel is in the top 5 places that we have stayed. We had reserved the Saphhire Villa but were upgraded to the Imperial and it was absolutely wonderful! The staff was friendly and accomodating. Vicki was very helpful in giving us tips on where to go on excusions and where to eat. I hated to leave there as I felt very comfortable and wished I had reserved more nights. The only wrinkle in the ointment was the weather but when you go off season you have to expect some bad weather. But even then we still managed to have a good time. We will definately come back! Thanks to all of you for making our last days in Greece so memorable.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timetotravel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

Great views and wonderful staff at reception, after that it all goes a bit downhill. In my opinion you cannot show such a wonderful view of your pool on your website when it isn't your pool ! It actually belongs to a Taverna & Apartment block a quarter of a mile away who let you have the use of a number of sunbeds provided their own guests don't need them ! There's no bar at Alexanders so whilst there's a great view unless you've been to the supermarket for your own supplies you can't actually sit and have a drink. Oh, and the staff quarters are right outside the cave houses so you have to trudge past the staff who seem to be constantly sat outside your room smoking and making noise from the early hours ! In summary you can't charge such top end prices wth so many things wrong.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spencerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

I had booked the Opal house but upon arrival was upgraded to the Topaz house
Pros
1. The views from this hotel are unbelievable, its ridiculously beautiful to just sit in the balcony and look at the magnificient sea.
2. The staff is very friendly and helpful (except for the lady who manages the property from 4PM onwards, who is distinctly useless and unhelpful)
3. The Topaz house was very cozy and very tastefully done
4. The hotel is very convieniently located on the road (taxis can come through) and has a supermarket and a DVD rental shop (players in the room) located nearby
5. Breakfast served was very nice

Cons
1. The only problem I had was that the balcony was shared between a couple of apartments and there was lack of privacy. Staff quarters were in the same balcony as a result of which there was always some noise in the background while we were there

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pradyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

We booked online a few days in advance primarily because it seemed to be a fantastic resort property. The day of arrival on the island, we called the hotel and they said they would arrange a taxi transfer at 40 Euro. We found out if we would have rented the tax ourselves it would have only cost 25 Euro. We should have questioned the hotel's surcharge. (Con) We arrived and were placed in a beautiful newly constructed (or renovated) cave house. (Pro) I mean it was an incredible little cave house with private balcony deck and spectacular view. Vickie at the front desk promised that the next day that we would be moved to a much better room. We could not imagine what a better room could possibly be since our first night location was so incredible. The next day we were served a brilliant breakfast on our balcony. (Pro) Then upon returning to the hotel later in the afternoon they took us to a tiny little room on a shared balcony full of furniture... there was a child running around and a half naked man sitting with his coffee. We refused the room primarily because of the shared, croweded deck. They showed us another very large cave house...tho it had a bigger, private deck it was wretched. The deck had a broken chaise lounger and the surface was cracked and stained with some black oil-like substance. Inside there was a musty smell of mildew. Not only around the bathtub, but next to the bed. I would wake up all night by the scent of mildew and wonder if I was inhaling mold! When showering the plumbing leaked somewhere around the tub and the bathroom flooded . The walls and ceiling were literally crumbling and I called the office asking for a broom to sweep up the plaster mess... each day the maid service would sweep up the wall/ceiling crumbles, but we found it fell continuously so our tables, suitcases, personal things were covered. And in the bedroom the wall next to where I left my suitcase crumbled apart leaving white plaster everywhere... I merely touched the wall and it crumbled. When I spoke with Vickie in the office she explained it was just dust blowing in from outside and she also said the flooding around the tub was normal. One last thing, the swimming pool is not located at the hotel, tho the website makes it look like it is. You have to walk to another hotel about 1/2 mile away to use their pool. For the size of the room, we paid a low fee in the off season, but the quality lacked overall. I would much rather have stayed in our original (clean) room. If you are going to Oia there are plenty of better choices that don't look like a run down, old Choice Inn next to the Harrisburg airport. Try Atrina, Laouda, or the fabulous Mystique... which is just next to the Alexander... of course you might have to pay more, but it would be worth it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeekingSunsets69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
us
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

I would recommend this Hotel to everyone wishing to capture the true essence of Santorini, Greece. The Hotel overlooks the beautiful blue ocean waters and the view will stay with you long after you leave. Alexander, the owner and his staff will treat each and every one of you like family. We spent many nights (into the morning) out with Alexander. Oia, is located close enough to the night life if you like but allows you to also escape and have a good night sleep, ready to hike or take a boat ride in swim to the Hot Springs. There is plenty of shopping in Oia; be sure to check out Alexander's jewelry shop O'R'O. If you want a gift waiting for a special occasion call ahead and he will work with you. We are going back in Spring 2010.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designerUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

Ultra dramatic & romantic, super funky cave rooms with a HUGE bed (hard to find in Greece), jacuzzi tubs and dramatic views right outside your front door. Our proprietor, Vicky, was very kind and welcoming to Alexander's Boutique hotel. Of all the islands we saw in Greece, Santorini was by far my favorite. The small town of Oui was perfect for a romantic holiday for 2 water lovers like us. I recommend this hotel for travelers who want to get away from the over commercialization and yet not have to compromise on scenery.
Susan in Annapolis, MD

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BlaneSueky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#39 of 54 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.7 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#41 of 54 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.7 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#23 of 54 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia

Property: Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Address: Main St. | Santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, elegance, intimacy, breathtaking views of the caldera...Alexander’s is a boutique hotel consisting of suites, cave villas and cave houses all named after precious and semi-precious stones, according to Cycladic architecture. We are a hotel with less steps. We have been recommended by the New York Times, the Independent and the Daily Telegraph. Our hotel was the main location of the film “Thira.” Special occasions are magical when held at Alexander’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexanders Boutique Hotel Oia
Alexanders Boutique Oia
Alexander's Boutique Hotel Of Oia Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing