We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dodgy, dishonest. Arange to another hotel without telling. Avoid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dodgy, dishonest. Arange to another hotel without telling. Avoid!”
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Switch you into another hotel next door without telling!

When we arrived, the receptionist checked our booking and seemed very clam and lead us to a room 1 min walk, next to the reception. We were very disappointed when I saw the room, It was not that bad, but there is NOT A THING looked like in the picture.

After carefully checking we found it was COMPLETELY DIFFERENT HOTEL called "Strogili", even had a different reception. We were very angry and went back to the reception, the receptionist even trying to lie to us and said there were same hotels at the same rate. When we checked out we refused to pay the full rate for a hotel which was NOT booked by me (I would simply not book Strogili at that location for that room for Alexander's rate, and Alexander's left us no choice). The receptionist started to become very aggrassive and said if I staied, I d pay for it. However there were no people told us until we found it out by ourselves. Finally we had a phone call with the manerger and he aggree the rate we would like to go for.

As we stayed in another hotel in Oia for 3 nights, so we know for the rate Alexdander's boutique hotel asked for, you can get much much better serves and rooms, and most important, stay in the hotel you booked!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank mintfortea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    70
    41
    42
    38
See reviews for
114
236
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

The town of Oia is absolutely beautiful, you will have a very memorable stay which ever hotel you stay in. Hotels are accordingly priced based on location within the town and whether they have a swimming pool or not. However, beware of the following before booking Alexander's:

1) We booked the "Cavest" room for our stay. When we arrived we were told that we had been "upgraded" for our first night to a better room. This was the hotel's rather dishonest and sneaky way of informing us that they had actually double-booked our room for our first night. We did not want the inconvenience of moving rooms during our stay, unfortunately there were already people in the room we had booked so we had no choice.

2) Beware the picture of the pool on the website. The pool is not in the hotel, it is in another hotel 5 min walk from Alexander's to which you have access. (The website does not explain this.)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoshF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We normally get it right as we travel a lot, but this time was the exception..we telephoned two days before to book and spoke to the owner who appeared charming and offered us a 'superior' room for €220 a day (supposedly an upgrade!)
On arrival, after being told to wait outside the poky reception in the boiling heat for half an hour while the Bulgarian receptionist seemed more interested in pushing island boat trips to 2 American ladies, who did not appear to have ever travelled before, we were then shown to a pokier and dated bedroom with dark furniture and no windows..the cave-like living in some parts of Santorini is one thing but this was another..very depressing.
We asked to see alternatives which seemed more than the large Bulgarian lady could manage as it involved a 10 minute walk to a completely different location! It seemed touch and go as to whether she was going to make it,
We luckily managed to escape to book another charming hotel nearby.
On returning to collect our bags I heard the receptionist describe the hotel swimming pool.. But surprise surprise, this was also not on the premses but involved a 5 minute walk in the other direction to an entirely different hotel!
It is not for me to tell you where to stay but all I can say is just watch out with this one!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Msproperties1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We loved our whole experience in this hotel.
We had booked it last year but, due to family matters, had to cancel. They immediately told us we could come back any time we wanted and only charged extra because of a change of season.
We were upgraded to the Topaz room when we arrived and this was very spacious, really comfortable and rather romantic. Breakfast, drinks etc can be taken at a table outside looking over the caldera and the service is immaculate (breakfast was very very good).
The only slight downside is a pool about a hundred yards up the main road at another hotel, but this is a small quibble.
If you can at all afford it push the boat out and book this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoungerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We took a chance and stayed in the Alexanders boutique hotel in Oia, Santorini. Apart from the location being great the view and the location was just extraordinary.
We stayed in the Diamond Suite, cave room which was a very old world charm feel.
It is a convenient location and the staff is fantastic :) Vicky the manager was such a pleasure to spend time with.
We highly recommend this property and assure you that it will be a wonderful experience....
Enjoy :)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nupursagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

From the moment my wife and I arrived at Alexanders we enjoyed our week in Oia. Vicky, who runs reception in the afternoon/evening, sat us down under the umbrella outside the small reception room with a glass of wine while she finished attending to another matter. After ten or so minutes, she joined us for an informative run down of Oia and Santorini, and she provided suggestions for our time there whilst we enjoyed another glass of wine. By the time we walked down the next few stairs to our cave villa off the balcony below reception, we felt welcomed and received a pleasant surprise with our cave villa.

The cave villa we had, and the others we saw, are very tastefully fitted out and we had the feeling of living in a very comfortable and well decorated small apartment (well, small by Sydney’s more spacious standards). Alexander has collected some unique antique style furnishings and decorations which provided a lived in feeling to the cave villas. Our room was kept immaculate all week by staff cleaning, making the bed (a challenge in the cave space the bed sits in), washing any glasses etc in the kitchenette, etc etc twice a day. The breakfast was served on the balcony outside our room; it was fresh and refills were available. The balcony has stunning views of the ocean and islands offshore. What a great way to start the day.

We enjoyed meeting other couples staying in adjacent cave villas under reception and having drinks before and after dinner; the balcony area is conducive to chatting or keeping to yourself. We have swapped eMails with other guests to stay in contact. Alexanders is located towards the edge of Oia along the caldera, which keeps the hustle and bustle down. We enjoyed the short walk into Oia centre each day where we found some excellent restaurants/bar/coffee shops, let alone some good shopping.

The receptionist in the morning, Assia, was helpful and organised a rental car for us on a number of days and it was delivered to Alexanders. We followed the suggestions Vicky made and had a great time exploring the island.

We would definitely stay at Alexanders again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vannofavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

From the moment we arrived, the staff did everything to make us feel at home. We stayed in the Emerald Villa and it was everything I imagined. Having been a winery years ago, there was a grape stomping vat in the closet floor! How cool is that?! Our friends stayed in the villa next door and that made it very convenient for nightly hot tub experiences and drinks/snacks on the terrace. This is the kind of place that you can sit outside in your bathrobe and enjoy breakfast overlooking the beautiful sea, windmills, and gorgeous white cave villas hanging off the cliffs. AWESOME!!!

We were presently surprised to meet Alexander himself on the first night. He and the rest of the staff made sure we knew the best places to eat. As an example, the taverna across the street from Alexander's offered the best Greek dishes. The patriarch of the family is the cook. Imagine having a plate of baklava arrive at your table straight out of the oven! Yum! We also enjoyed dinner at a great restaurant where part of Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants was filmed. Vicki (night manager) recommended this and we loved the cool atmosphere. The last evening included a stop at a nearby taverna where the owner/chef entertained us with Greek music. We ended the evening learning to do one of the Greek dances with the staff (yes, a couple of plates were broken, too!). Alexander joined us for the evening festivities.

While it was windy for the first couple of days, this was not typical weather for the island. The airport cancelled flights because of the high winds. We were lucky to arrive on time. After the winds subsided, we were able to charter a boat and sail around the nearby islands, swim in the hot springs near the volcano island, and experience the beauty of the sea. George was our captain and we highly recommend doing something like this. It was a typical wooden Greek boat and can accommodate up to 9 people.

We didn't rent a car and were so thankful because the roads are narrow. Thus, we used public transportation-nice air conditioned buses that stopped right at Alexander's! We visited Ancient Thira-a tough trek in a van up about 20 switchbacks and then hiking the rest of the way up. It was worth it to experience the village of at least 2000 years ago (reminded me of Pompeii). We also took a bus to the black and red sand beaches, Fira (rode the cable cars), and Thira. Ancient Akrotiri is still closed and you can't see anything from the road. We visited the museum in Fira to see some of the artifacts. It was free the day we visited.

If you want to enjoy a trip to a winery, there is one within walking distance of Alexander's. However, it's a nice hike uphill coming back to Oia.

The sunsets were as beautiful as described in the books. While we braved the crowds closer to the main windmill once, the best pictures we took were actually near Alexander's. Instead of going towards the town of Oia, go the opposite direction about 3-4 villa complexes away. There's a great hill that overlooks the city and the sea. We were the only people there!

In closing, our trip to Santorini was a trip of a lifetime. My husband and I traveled with two other couples and we had a blast. Thank you to the great staff at Alexander's for assuring that the experience was everything we anticipated! Between all of us, I think we took at least 1000 pictures!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNVOL37363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#37 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.7 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#41 of 55 in Oia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.7 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#22 of 55 in Oia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santo Maris Oia Luxury Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia

Property: Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Address: Main St. | Santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, elegance, intimacy, breathtaking views of the caldera...Alexander’s is a boutique hotel consisting of suites, cave villas and cave houses all named after precious and semi-precious stones, according to Cycladic architecture. We are a hotel with less steps. We have been recommended by the New York Times, the Independent and the Daily Telegraph. Our hotel was the main location of the film “Thira.” Special occasions are magical when held at Alexander’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexanders Boutique Hotel Oia
Alexanders Boutique Oia
Alexander's Boutique Hotel Of Oia Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing