We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best there is!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Ranked #38 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The hotel is perched right at the cliff overlooking the gentle turquoise sea. As our visit was during off season, Alex (owner of the hotel) was almost like an 'one man army' operating the hotel. And i would like to say that it was still the best service we received till date! Kudos to Alex!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3ther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

When we checked in they moved us FAR from the reception down to another hotel because the group staying in our room had decided to stay an extra night. Then we discovered there was no hot water in the hot tub or in the shower (we checked in around 5pm just wanting to watch the sun set and shower). We took the hike to tell them and we told "oops, we forgot to turn the hot water on before you arrived." They said we should just wait 15 minutes for it to heat up. We waited over an hour while watching the sunset from the "coldtub." Then the water in the shower was still cold. We both took cold showers and later someone came and "claimed" to fix it again. The next morning we awoke to STILL have cold water. We had to argue to get into another room so we could shower. When we went to check out the hotel the following morning the hotel wanted to charge us FULL PRICE for our first night stay. That would be $145 euros per night for a place that didn't even have hot water. The owner (in England) refused to discuss the matter with us even though he was talking on the phone to his employee with us in the room. We ended up having to skype priceline and waist almost 1/2 a day of our vacation getting priceline to reason with the ower. FINALLY, the owner (who lives in England) agreed to not charge us for the first night. We left the internet cafe to return to the hotel and pay our bill. NOW the owner wanted to talk to us on the phone. Even though I could see the printed priceline resolution on the reception desk, he had the nerve to try and talk me into paying 50 euros for the bed for the first night, just so I didn't get something for nothing. Oh, and the pool is actually at another hotel without a caldera view.

Anyway, luckily my girlfriend and I were two single girls up for a little adventure before we start our new jobs. However, we couldn't help but think the entire time if we were a couple with limited time and wanting some romance how frustrating the whole experiance would be. If you find yourself stuck in a similar situation we found the best words to solve the problem were "NO, absolutely not." Anything less forcefull and you were run over and ignored.

My ratings aren't bottom level because there are many wonderful employees at the hotel who did provide great service. It was just the owner and one other manager we had a problem with.

Finally, we asked one of the managers to call us a cab to the airport. She told us we should take the airport transfer. For 5 euros more we decided we would rather take the taxi. Then she changed the price of the taxi and said it costs more for the hotel to call the taxi (our old hotel had called one for us). At this point since we didn't trust her we walked next store to a convienant store who called our cab. We told the cab driver of the crazy mark-up she was trying to take and he just laughed and said "she's good" (in terms of ripping people off).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Upon arrival (between 3pm and midnight) you are greeted by Vicki, who provides you with a map and suggestions for everything you could possibly need for a perfect vacation. Throughout your stay, she is always available to assist you or just have a glass of wine and chat. The rooms are spacious including the bathroom and open out onto a semi-private veranda with amazing views of the Caldera, Your breakfast is served by one of two charming gentlemen out on the veranda. The town of Oia is a very short walk, with numerous five star restaurants, great shops, amazing sunsets and friendly locals. If you want a longer hike (2 hrs) venture off to Fira, We have stayed at several places in Europe and the US and this was by far the best. When you go... say hi to Vicki from Laurie & Dean, Breckenridge/CO

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieDean07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Santorini was the ultimate dream vacation and Alexander's Boutique Hotel made our trip even more enjoyable. I was very satisfied with my stay at Alexander's. Upon arrival the staff were very helpful and very friendly and we received an upgrade to an imperial suite as we were on our honey moon. We were very satisfied with the decoration in the room. Roses, and champagne were available for us on arrival. From our balcony, we could see a beautiful view of Santorini while enjoying the jacuzzi. Overall, a highly recommended hotel and even more so, if you are looking for a break away from home with your partner.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joannam02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I have just returned from a magical stay at Alexanders Hotel.
I booked the "Cozy Cave House" and when we arrived the lovely Assia told us we would stay one night there and then get upgraded to the Imperial villa. The cozy cave house was adorable, clean, neat and actually very BIG by european hotel standards.
We enjoyed our first night there, in the morning breakfast was served on our shared balcony (silver service on starched white linen with egg, toast, croissants, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, ham, cheese, coffee, juice) looking at the most spectacular view ever.
Our upgrade to the Imperial Villa was a breathtaking surprise - the imperial has a private balcony and jacuzzi looking out over oia and the water. Its a massive 2 bedroom apartment which is absolutely worth every cent which it is advertised for. The amazing thing is we went to Oia to get married but did not tell the hotel - it was pure chance we got upgraded for the remaining 4 nights and we had our wedding ceremony on that balcony which we will never forget.
The thing about Alexanders is not just the view but the service. The staff (Assia and Vicky in reception, Angelos, Peter) are all friendly, helpful and attentive, and that is what turns the hotel into a true european boutique establishment.
Vicky gave us lots of tips on what to see, where to go for great food and the best beaches and sailing trips. There is a fantastic taverna across the road (Anememilos) which serves the best authentic greek food on the island and a handy supermarket practically next door.
If you are looking for the chrome, marble tiles and impersonal service of one of the hotel chains, this hotel might not be for you, but if you are looking for up-market accommodation that stays true to the original village style, with personalised high quality service then this is the place to be. If you stay here, you will be part of the view, rather than just looking at it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilpea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

May be most of the hotels in Oia are like this, quiet, sea view terrace, cave house....but this is definitly the most enjoyable stay I had in different islands of Greece. What else could you complain about when you find yourself having such a spectacular view? I wouldn't at least.......

There is no swimming pool in Alexander's, you have to walk like 100m to another hotel for a pool. The terrace is shared, but I like chatting with people around the world so its ok for me. There is a mini market next to Alexander's and, with its well-equiped kitchen, I just stayed there and read all the way through my first afternoon. Its quiet around Alexander's coz there is a 5 -10 mins walk to the bus terminal, the very centre of Oia.

The cave house I lived probably is the smallest one in Alexander's but still big and cozy enough for the two of us. One minor demerit is that the bath water is running a bit slow. The breakfast is very good, fresh fruit, yogurt, egg, slices of bread, and its served to you on your terrace. Its just enjoyable to have breakfast under the sun having such a wonderful sea view.

The staff there are all very friendly and helpful. My wife and I had decided that we would be back.....hopefully soon......

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyandHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

I booked this hotel as a "splurge" in Santorini, and I was disappointed! I think our room was "upgraded" to one of the cave villas, but it was pretty unremarkable. Dank and dark, and really claustrophobic! The room had an AMAZING view, but that didn't make up for everything else. The service was okay, not great by any definition. I would definitely seek out another place in Oia, especially for what we paid (in the off-season, at that!).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halb0038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
0.6 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 56 in Oia
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caldera Villas
Caldera Villas
#41 of 56 in Oia
399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.2 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia

Address: Main St. | Santorini, Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £90 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, elegance, intimacy, breathtaking views of the caldera...Alexander’s is a boutique hotel consisting of suites, cave villas and cave houses all named after precious and semi-precious stones, according to Cycladic architecture. We are a hotel with less steps. We have been recommended by the New York Times, the Independent and the Daily Telegraph. Our hotel was the main location of the film “Thira.” Special occasions are magical when held at Alexander’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexanders Boutique Hotel Oia
Alexanders Boutique Oia
Alexander's Boutique Hotel Of Oia Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing