We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views but some points to note”
Review of Oia Mare Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oia Mare Villas
Ranked #2 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Arrived at the reception at the Best Western down the street and had to wait for one and half hours to be able to settle down in our rooms as we needed to wait for other guests to be brought up together to their rooms. Also, there is this gentlemen in the office, I found him to be unpleasant and rude to talk to. Other than that, good views and there is this lady who was very pleasant and helpful with all of our requests. Please note that even though the hotel is near the sunset view location but the prefect view is being block and we had to climb up some stairs outside the hotel to get the view.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shirlin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OiaMare, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Oia Mare Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

We have noticed this posting with regret. According to our privacy
policy we strictly abstain from publicly discussing privacy related
matters of our esteemed guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just left Oia Mares Suites yesterday. It was pleasant enough and very beautiful. Great location away from the throngs of tourist. It is a schlep but worth it. I must comment on the gentlemen in the office. I am not sure if he is the manager or owner but I found him surly and unpleasant. I dreaded asking a question as he snarled his responses and seemed bothered to approached. I definitely got the feeling since we were a gay couple he was not happy with our presence. On the other hand the so sweet and lovely young lady from Romania was helpful and generous with her time. There are many beautiful places in Santorini, I would choose a different one if I returned.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leathal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OiaMare, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Oia Mare Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

We have noticed this posting with regret. According to our privacy
policy we strictly abstain from publicly discussing privacy related
matters of our esteemed guests .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Oia Mare Villas are just about the best accommodation we could see in this charming little village. Be warned it's built up the top of the steep hills so lots of steps up and down! (Although staff come & haul your bags to and from the hotel!) The Villas were clean, modern enough (wifi a bit patchy) & the staff were really lovely indeed. Breakfast got a bit samey not much diversity on offer but sufficient. The sunsets are truly spectacular best view on the island - we travelled in April so no idea how busy it'll get in summer but it was fine when we were there. Recommend the catamaran tour round the island.

One word of warning if travelling at Easter - don't go to any firework 'shows' they are very very dangerous without control or regulation, several people were injured when we were there on Easter Sunday including one of our party. My only complaint about the hotel is that they didn't put warning notes under doors (apparently they did warn some guests verbally but we were out!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrAndyFineDandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OiaMare, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Oia Mare Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

From all of us at Oia Mare Villas , a great big thank you for your outstanding review and endorsement of our hotel. It is truly an honor to be considered as a place that exceeded your expectations and great value for money as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

It would be impossible to find a fault with this place. The quintessential Santorini cavehouse boutique hotel with the charm of a European B&B. The view is breathtaking, the pool is a gem, the rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious... and quite chic. We spent many hours on our patio gazing at the sea.. and watching the sunset. The staff is warm and friendly - and have many suggestions on restaurants, beaches, etc. Yes there are many stairs but it's worth the hike... and the best part is that you are at the "end of the road" so there aren't 300 tourists standing in front of your room taking sunset snapshots. The hotel feels private and is perfectly situated at the end of the caldera, catching the last rays of golden sunshine before melting into the deep blue sea. You may also be interested to know they shot the 80's film SUMMER LOVERS only steps above Oia Mare Villas. I cannot recommend this place enough!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnThGoBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OiaMare, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Oia Mare Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Thank you for the vote of confidence and your carefully chosen words to describe
Oia Mare Villas. Our whole staff is grateful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We loved our stay in our,lovely room,at Oia Mare,Villas. Oia is one of the busiest places in Santorini because everyone comes here to watch the sunset. Oia Mare is close enough to the action but not in the middle of it. We had a room with a separate sitting area, small fridge and bedroom in a cave and most important a patio. So charming! The hotel host and hostess were extremely helpful and anxious to please. The breakfast that was included was more than adequate! Quite a few choices for a small hotel. One caution is that it is down a lot of uneven steps so anyone with issues walking would have difficulty. They did provide a porter for your luggage upon check n and check out and the check in location is n the middle of town and easy to find. The great swimming pool is a real bonus

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetsyGite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OiaMare, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Oia Mare Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments . Word of mouth praise is the best form of publicity we could ever hope to ask for. In your case, it proves that all the positive accolades you read about Oia Mare Villas are indeed true and worthy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We loved staying here. the staff was excellent, the views were amazing and the location could not be beat. lots of stairs from where you check in until you reach your room but it didn't matter to us! Just more exercise to work off the awesome breakfast provided! and don't worry someone is there to take your luggage from the check in spot to the actual hotel which is about a 10 minute walk through the winding and climbing village! We loved our stay here. very relaxing! and if you like beer check into the Donkey beer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OiaMare, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Oia Mare Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

From all of us at Oia Mare Villas , a great big thank you for your outstanding review and endorsement of our hotel. It is truly an honor to be considered as a place that exceeded your expectations and great value for money as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Whatever you do not miss the sunset. Repeat do not miss the sunset... Cave dwelling never was so perfect. So much to look at go for a walk threw the boutiques and small shops. Sunlight moonlight always gorgeous, the best side of Santorini.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelseafc777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OiaMare, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Oia Mare Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Oia Mare Villas for your vacations.
Your comments you honor us particularly.
We will be glad to accommodate you again in Oia Mare Villas .
Best regards .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.3 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#8 of 81 in Fira
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.3 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oia Mare Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oia Mare Villas

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range: £229 - £821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oia Mare Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful heaven in the heart of Oia - Santorini Oia Mare Villas is located in the centre of traditional Oia village in Santorini, above Ammoudi bay, the old port of Oia. Perched of the caldera cliffs, Oia Mare Villas overlook the deep blue of Aegean Sea, the amazing Caldera and Thirasia island. Oia's hotel location provides excellent views of the famous Oia's sunset. Oia Mare Villas offers Cave Suites and Studios with spectacular views of the Caldera and the Aegean sea. Each unit remains true to the style of the island featuring simple yet elegant. Oia Mare Villas was fully renovated during the winter of 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oia Mare Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oia Mare Villas Hotel Oia
Oia Mare Hotel
Oia Mare Villas Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing