We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$669
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$911
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$806
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$784
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$740
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$719
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Amoudi Villas(Oia)(Great Value!)
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Perivolas(Oia)
US$942
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Laokasti Villas(Oia)(Great Value!)
US$270
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
92
49
37
18
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
49
37
18
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streeta ground floor roompool areaoia villageaverage hotelcaldera viewroom was largeroof terracelate at nightthree nightshotel is situatedrestaurants and shopsplusessuitesantorinisunsetmusty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We stayed for four nights at the Best Western Museum Spa hotel in August 2008 with a family of four. We found this hotel mixed, with some good features but in other areas sorely lacking. If we had our time again we would book elsewhere.

First the good things:

• It is well located on the main street of Oia, walking distance to everything;
• The rooms were clean, tidy and spacious. Main bedroom had air conditioning. The lounge/reception had two single beds, TV and kitchen;
• The hotel had a good pool with a shallow section for children to play in and ‘noodles’ to float around on. Nice touch;
• Breakfasts were great. They varied every day and were large enough to keep you full until mid afternoon.

Now the things that pulled this hotel down:

• If you want a holiday where you can lounge around in the sun sipping a drink and having afternoon nibblies while overlooking the beautiful blue Aegan water this is NOT the place. Apart from the smallest slither between restaurants on the front verandah there is no view of the caldera. Seeing this is what Santorini and Oia in particular are well known for it is pointless to stay at Best Western Museum Hotel;
• Two reviews down it mentions a free 20 minute massage if you stay over 2 nights. This is not true. We mentioned this and they literally laughed at us which was very belittling. We looked at the pricelist and it was pretty expensive;
• Our children were playing in the pool and had a staff member come out and asked for them to be quiet as they were about to bring spa clients out. Our kids weren’t being too loud and it was off putting when 5 minutes later larger and much louder children started playing in the pool and weren’t told off at all. They should at least be consistent one way or the other;
• One staff member was very helpful, polite and accommodating. Two others were indifferent and one was plain rude. Not good customer service;
• Security was shocking. The front window wouldn’t lock properly when you tried, and after going out during the day to visit Santorini we would always come back to find house keeping has left the window wide open for anyone off the street to crawl through and steal you stuff. The fact that this didn’t happen amazes me, but be warned!
• We found it funny that this was promoted as the former King and Queen’s summer residence. Unlike other royalty around the world they must’ve lucked out on the real estate as there would be literally hundreds of better properties just in Oia to choose from.

In conclusion, it seemed from reading other Trip Advisor reviews that this place had so much promise, but in reality it just failed to deliver time and time again.

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank The_Merry_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumOia, Public Relations manager at The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2008

Thank you for your recent feedback and comments and we are pleased that in part you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will address the points you made in order of your review.

I.We are located on the Caldera pathway; 2 of our rooms overlook the caldera and the other rooms have sea views.

II.The two reviews you read were written earlier in the year when we had a promotion running for the spa. We are genuinely sorry you felt disappointed that this was no longer the case and the reaction of our staff but we assure you they meant no offence but this was not promoted or mentioned when you booked, there was no intention to mislead you.

III.During the day, we want to promote a calm and relaxing environment for Spa and Hotel guests. We are sorry that you feel we asked only your children to reduce the noise but we did in fact speak to the other guests as well.

IV.If the problem with closing the window had been reported to reception, a maintenance man would have been to fix it the same day.

V.We can only assume that the Former monarchy preferred a quiet tastefully located hideaway as opposed to a flashy residence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We could not have been happier with our hotel in Santorini. It is a small hotel right in the middle of the main street in Oia ,so we could come and go during the day, go back for a siesta or a swim. Yes, a swim. There is a lovely pool with sunbeds and umbrellas. Perfect in the middle of the day.
We had a very large room with kitchenette and balcony, AC, TV[unwatched], spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was served at the side of the pool in the shade.We didn't use the spa so can't comment. There are plenty of restaurants and shops right beside the hotel. But surprisingly it was never noisy [possibly as our room was at the back ]
The staff were very friendly and helpful and as it is a very small hotel it felt more like staying with friends than the anonymity of some larger hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank annlaprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2008

I stayed there with my husband last year as part of our trip to cyclades islands . Staying there made our santorini experience one of the best ones in Greece --and we went all over the place!!!
The hotel is just beautiful... Colonial style,this was the summer residence of the former Greek king and queen (Othon and Amalia ). The best part is the service. They will treat you as if you are at home--or better. One time we arrived at 23:00 from a night club in fira and we realized that the tooth paste was finished... we called them and 2 minutes later they arrive with a whole bathroom kit.You can hear the birds singing while you sleep during the sunset , although you are staying in the best location near all shopping and cool restaurants and bars. You must really try the spa therapies ,they are divine.We had a couples massage ,and i had a manicure ,pedicure,and a facial.
On my last day my huisband tried the hot stones massage ,and i ve tried the olive oil massage they were both great .
Oh, and the food is great in 1800 restaurant right next door,and in papagalos restaurant a little further (100 meters away),hasapiko bar is also cool with nice Cuban music.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank elinapopescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2008

This is one of my favorite hotels. My partner and I travel to Greece once a year to visit his family and we always stay here. This is a charming hotel in the heart of the town. You can easily walk to the all the sites of the town (sunset just 2 blocks away ). The rooms retain a colonial feel (this was the summer house of the former king of Greece ) but have the usual modern conveniences, comfortable and charming with tile floor.It is in an old colonial house which has been recycled with great taste.The breakfast is tasty,and changes every day . The staff is always eager to please. The staff spoke perfect English and were able to help us settle in and find the nearest ATM. I love this hotel.This is always my first choice in santorini!The staff were delightful and efficient. It was a marvellous alternative to the usual business traveller's hotel. You actually had a feeling of being in a Santorini hotel rather than in a hotel!!The best part was the pool and the spa treatments.we both loved our massages. My body wrap was great as well, but not as good as the massage,great selection of body treatments, facials etc.
The resort itself is perfect and peaceful - there is nothing better than walking around all day in a bathrobe and wandering in and out the pool.Steam sauna ,and jacuzzi are available also.Excellent therapists, relaxing atmosphere and comfortable rooms...will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank christinahees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2007

After seeing all of the great reviews, we decided to book a room at Museum spa Hotel. At first, I was a bit apprehensive about e-mailing/ faxing my credit card and passport information to reserve the room, but all was handled very promptly and professionally, with e-mail contact from the staff confirming that all was well with the reservation. I stayed with my family for a week at the museum hotel,
we usually travel to celebrate my mother’s birthday and this one was very special (she turned 74!) She can be quite demanding at times and musum was just perfect for her and all of us! They made the arrangements for everything we asked for and we were quite hard group to please! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful (and all spoke
English) all the time. They certainly went "above & beyond" for their guests.The room was spacious, super clean and nice & the bathroom/
shower was great. The breakfast was delicious and delightful every day. The location is perfect - several cool restaurants within a block. You are close to the action, with lots of activity and people
around. A short walk to trendy stores & outdoor cafes. It's also one of the few places around with a pool - a great pool and patio area as well. Theres also internet access in the lobby. No need to bring that laptop! By far, I must say that the best part of the stay at the hotel was the complementary breakfast. The outdoor dining area near the garden is a wonderful place to enjoy coffee and conversation. I can not say enough about how helpful and freindly everyone was during my stay. I also have to send a special "thanks" to two of the staff members who were especially kind: Anna for being so pleasant and helpful during breakfast, and Anca for being such a treat to talk to at the bar (thank you for the tea and the thoughtful note when I was ill ). We had gone to relax, so had two hours of spa treatments everyday which was perfect for us. The standard here was very high and we tried massages, facials, pedicures the lot!! The spa area is beautiful - very well done up and very peaceful. Enjoy & no need to look further for a hotel - Museum hotel is excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alexandroriosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews