We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pezoules

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pezoules
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I travelled to Oia with my wife for 3 nights in July whilst island hopping during the summer and stayed in the Mentha cave room of Pezoules. From the moment the night porter, George, met our shuttle bus at 1am with a warm smile and handshake and collected both our overweight suitcases from us we were impressed. He then singlehandedly carried them down the steep steps of the cliff face to our room with ease. The view from the room was fantastic at night and even better the next morning when we awoke to a breathtaking view of the caldera and surrounds overlooking the amazing blue sea. The breakfast was just what we wanted and ample with plenty of fresh fruit, greek yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice, toast and tea/coffee served to our private balcony shaded by a large sun umbrella. Dimitri and his family were very warm and hospitable providing great service and tips on where we should eat and which sunset yacht cruise to take. The room was immaculately cleaned every day and very comfortable with a great bed, pillows and furniture. The bathroom was spacious and had an exceptional view which could be seen whilst showering. The infinity pool was fantastic and we enjoyed swimming in it and relaxing at the adjoining cave bar. Thank you Dimitri and al the Pezoules staff for a memorable stay in Oia and we can't wait to return again one day sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
295
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our first trip to Santorini after a honeymoon in Greece 30 years ago so everything had to be perfect, and it was truly magical! We stayed in the Althaea Cave House and loved every minute of it. It's the only house that has a hot tub on the balcony and it was heavenly, especially in the evening under the stars. During the heat of the day we used the infinity pool and just gazed out at that awesome view.

Our hosts, Dimitri, Mirella, Ioli, and Nick were so attentive to our needs while giving us ultimate privacy at the same time. We have never felt so pampered while on vacation. The young woman who provided our room service twice daily was always so courteous and cheerful. We also enjoyed speaking to the night security man, George, each evening as we returned from our walk. Valentino carried our bags up and down all those steps with ease and carefully set up our breakfast each morning on the balcony. It was pure bliss enjoying the delicious food with that amazing caldera view in front of us. Mirella also lovingly prepared several lunches and dinners for us, and it was the absolute best food we had on the island, all handmade with the freshest ingredients!! We just couldn't get enough of her great food.

Words seem inadequate to describe our Perfect Pezoules experience. We were truly honored to be guests of this exceptional hotel. It has been an experience that we will treasure forever. We will return!

Thanks again Dimitri, Mirella and everyone!
Ed and Michele

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maw7714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here during our travels in Greece and it was the highlight of the trip! Dmitri made us feel like family and I can't thank them enough for the recommendations made for our day to day activities and dining options while we were in Santorini.
Pezoules made Santorini one of my favorite places in the world and I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Levanta Cave House. Most beautiful room I have ever been in but beware if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at Pezoules from July 20-24, 2014. It was an exceptional experience. We highly recommend this delightful hotel.

Dmitri and his team provided us with outstanding service. They keep their seven room property immaculate. We felt like we were guests of the family.

We stayed in the Althaea suite for four nights. We had out own private jacuzzi which was so awesome. Our room had the most amazing view of the caldera. Breakfast was provided on our terrace daily, and it was generous and delicious.

Dmitri and Ioli made top notch dining recommendations for us - we often had the best table in the house, thanks to their phone calls. We hiked from Fira back to Oia and went sailing one day, all on their advice.

The infinity pool offers yet another incredible view of the caldera. The pool area is kept clean and neat.

The linens, towels and sheets are top-notch. The pool towels are enormous. The bathrobes are luxurious and the pillows are fluffy.

The friendly staff, the amazing view, the outstanding service and the kindness shown to us made us appreciate each moment we spent at Pezoules.

Be aware - the hotel is at the bottom of a steep set of stairs. If you are unfit, you will struggle up the stairs each time you want to leave the hotel. We liked the workout aspect of the stairs, so it did not bother us. Do not wear high heels or wedges on the slippery stairs. There are thousands of stairs in and around Oia, so good, non slippery shoes are a must.

Also - you should understand that this hotel is built into the cliff. So, your terrace is not completely private. Guests from other rooms will need to walk past you on the way to the pool or to exit the hotel. It is not invasive at all - you just need to know that if you plan to sit naked on your terrace.

We think this hotel is special, unique, friendly, ideally-located in Oia and a terrific treat for your holiday. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, and we think it is a fabulous property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, excellent customer service, clean and comfortable room, luxurious bath products, delicious food and drinks, ultimate privacy. Pezoules exceeded my expectations. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nekishaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I got back from 5 wonderful nights at Pezoules a couple of days ago, and I really can't say enough good things about this wonderful hotel. Having found it after researching on Tripadvisor (you can't book it on any online booking tools or other websites other than the hotel's own), I knew what to expect in terms of incredible view, beautiful rooms, personal service... and yet I was surprised day after day by how the hotel and its wonderful staff exceeded my every expectation.

Being located in Oia, Santorini, of course you expect the hotel to be beautiful and have stunning views - but this really was on another level. The rooms, the view and the location are exactly as depicted in the professional photos on the website, no fancy angles or camera work, it really is that beautiful. I could never get sick of the view, it was truly breathtaking. Busloads of tourists would come through Oia every day, crowding around spots in the town or on steps down the cliff to get that picture perfect shot, and we were spoiled to have that view any time we wanted. (We were staying in the Valeriana house, and I even found a couple of random tourists taking pictures on our veranda and posing for pictures outside the house next door to ours - who could blame them).

This hotel could probably get by pretty well on its amazing location and stunning design (all the rooms looked beautiful), but to add to all this is the wonderful staff:
Starting with Dimitri - he was so helpful and friendly throughout our trip. He is an absolute pro, giving us countless recommendations for things to do and ways to pass the time, checking in with us the night before about our transfers back when we were leaving the hotel, his passion is infectious and he is an impeccable host.
Valentino, who met us at the car and carried our case and 2 bags (in one go) from the car park up the steps, down the pedestrian walkways and down the steps of the cliffside to the hotel (with my boyfriend and I struggling to keep up with him!) seemingly with ease, and did the same when we were leaving. He also brought our breakfast to our terrace every day as well as any food or drinks we ordered. Needless to say I'm a bag fan of Valentino and think he's a huge credit to the hotel.
Another mention goes to Ioli, whom we bothered every day looking for her opinion on restaurants or places we were planning on visiting. She made great recommendations and any time she called ahead (whether it was by 5 minutes or 5 hours), we got a great seat at whatever restaurant it was. She's extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and between herself and Dimitri, they helped us with every little thing (boat ride bookings, transfers, restaurants) and helped to make our trip so great.
Finally the cleaner (whose name escapes me), was always smiling every time we saw her (which was at least twice a day) and was so hard working, we would always see her going between the seven rooms cleaning and turning down. In fact, in our 6 days there we saw all these guys every day - dedicated, hard workers.

A quick word on the other aspects of the hotel ... I never met the chef, but her food was delicious. On our first day we had lunch at the hotel, the food was so good and everything made from scratch. I loved waking up to the delicious breakfast every day, and I'm certainly missing it now! Our room (house) was stunning, cave style bathroom as you can see in the pictures, bright and airy, and huge. Also free wifi which is always important to me. The terrace was amazing, your own sun loungers to lay out on, your own incredible view, and your own little table / chairs to enjoy delicious food on. Finally, the pool - just look at any of the pictures and you can see how beautiful it is. With 7 rooms, we had at least a couple of hours every day of the pool to ourselves (could have had longer if we'd wanted to) but equally we had fun meeting other guests at the pool too.

If you can afford to stay here, it's 110% worth it. Probably the best experience I've ever had with a hotel and I can't thank Pezoules enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RanjiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel catered to your every need. It's small in number (6 rooms) built into the side of the volcano and they look like caves. But very pretty caves. Our room was large with a king bed, then a separate sitting area, wet bar, closet and safe as well as bathroom and shower. Breakfast was included and it was delicious - whether it was the healthy menu or the Greek menu. The fresh fruit, pastry stuffed with cheese and fresh breads were amazing. We ate sitting on our porch overlooking the Caldera. The views were breath taking, the service impeccable - thanks to Valentino. Lunch was also delicious created by Mrs. Pezoules. There is an infinity pool with a pool bar nearby. Wonderful time and great memories were created. Definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: It seemed like you couldn't pick a bad location as every room had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oia
0.2 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.3 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.6 mi away
Kirini Suites & Spa
5.6 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 82 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pezoules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pezoules

Property: Pezoules
Address: Thiras - Ias, Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oia
#11 Family Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Oia of Santorini, at the center of the traditional settlement, the new and hospitable houses and cave houses, carved in the volcanic rock await to welcome you. Minimal yet luxurious, modern yet respectful of Santorini's traditional architecture, we offer an exclusive stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pezoules Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing