We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF THE BEST!”

Ammoudi Fish Tavern
Ranked #16 of 91 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We went down to the bay and walked from restaurant to restaurant not knowing which one to chose. So, we decided to have appetizers at on and late lunch at another. We chose this one because George, the manager, tempted us with freshly made fish soup! We then chose the lobster which just delicious served with vegetables.
At the end of the meal, George surprised us with Greek Donuts covered with honey and nuts!
The restaurant was beautifully set with the red rocks behind us and the blue water in front of us.
What a great way to end our visit to Santorini!
Thank you for this wonderful experience!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WardrobeDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    220
    104
    41
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Extreme prices, average food, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The food was just ok, and taking into account that you will be charged at least EUR 100 for 2 persons with the cheapest wine may spoil your experience. It is really hard to understand why a fish from grill 50m from the fishermen's boats have such ridiculous prices. Same thing with a frozen octopus probably straight from the supermarket but with 10 times the price. There are a lot o places on Santorini where you will get much more for your money. Just look through Tripadvisor's reviews. The only nice thing there was the location and views.

Helpful?
3 Thank Tomto147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth the walk to get there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

It was worth the hike down to the harbour front to eat at Ammoudi Fish Tavern. It's the furthest harbour front restaurant if you take the long flight of stairs from the shopping district. But if you drive, it would be the first restaurant you see. This restaurant has an impeccable view from its outdoor dining area. The staff was very friendly even after considering the great hospitality we've gotten used to in Santorini. Also worth noting is that the dessert (freshly fried loukoumades) was complimentary from the restaurant. Very generous portion as you can see from the picture.

Highlights of our meal: Grilled sun dried octopus, fava beans dip, local potatoes and tomatoes. The local wine was awesome too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charminglamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Came here on Easter Sunday, we were rushed through the menu by the waitress, and as they were spit roasting lamb as an Easter tradition, so she almost insisted we order a kilo for all 4 of us. Instead we ordered half a kilo for two, plus chicken (as they were out of steak), and snapper, having established about half of the fish on the menu was not available, plus some fries as a starter. Half an hour later she returned to say that she only had too big and too small portions of snapper and would I like the Bream ... to which I agreed. Another half hour, several other patrons that arrived after us were server their food, and the maitre'd came over and was astonished we didn't have food, followed by waitress who runs off and returns with our fries, which were cold. Another 15 minutes and our food arrived, except they forgot to tell us that they didn't have any chicken, so we split the lamb three ways. The fish was dreadful, certainly not fresh, and accompanied by a sad plate of boiled carrot, broccoli abd small potatoes.But the lamb was truly dreadful, extremely fatty (and I eat and cook a lot of lamb), and a peculiar after taste. On top of that it was not cheap over 100 Euros. Nice spot to sit for over two hours was the only positive

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank djaggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh fish, wonderful service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Nestled among a handful of little fish restaurants and the jetty at Ammoudi we picked the Ammoudi Fish Tavern and we weren't disappointed. As with everywhere we have eaten in Santorini the service was warm, attentive and helpful. The food was special here, too: we shared mussels for starter cooked in a tarragon and dill sauce which was really unique but delicious. For mains we had a seafood risotto (rich and tasty) and a set of 5 fried red mullet (totally unique but delicious). Eating the fish was a cross between an anatomy lesson for medical students and an episode of Masterchef. Wonderful location overlooking the sunset and the bay at the North end of the island, highly recommended for couples.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ammoudi Fish Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Ammoudi Fish Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing