We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food, View, Ambiabce & Service”

Ammoudi Fish Tavern
Ranked #16 of 91 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, View, Ambiabce & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

An outstanding place to eat Greek food literally inches from water. (actually the edge of the table may have been over the water). Interesting how they dry the octopus in the sun. Worth a few photos. Everything we ate was terrific. We had the best table in the place and did not feel hurried to move along at all. All the servers were friendly and efficient.

Its located at the bottom of the hill (from Colorado so cant really call it a mountain) from Oia. The walk up down is steep and fill of donkey poop but look on the bright side and consider it exercise and part of the experience. You can ride the donkey if you want.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharks_Rugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    220
    104
    41
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“excellent char grilled octopus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

the view is sensational, the food is fantastic and the service outstanding, if you like octopus try theirs, they dry the octopus in the sun for 2 days and then char grill to perfection. Other restaurants boil the octopus before grilling but the sun drying method gives the octopus a totally different flavour. We ordered one plate and then a second it was that good! A point of note is that this is not a cheap restaurant, most dishes are over 10 Euro and serving portions are small.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and friendly faces”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Brilliant fresh seafood and attention to service. Pricey but it's good tucker! Seated directly at Shea's edge. Best views at base of many steps so getting back to the top is chore after a delicious luncheon ! Can use the donkey transport. Variety of foods offered. Very authentic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“In my top 10 of favourite restaurants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Where do I begin? Stunning location in Ammoudi Bay, top class service, just the best fish ever, A table on the water's edge, people watching, boat watching, AMAZING RESTAURANT. So glad we chose this one for lunch, the octopus drying on the washing line to tenderise was what caught our eye, a smartly dressed waiter chatted without pressurising is to eat, the whole ambience of the restaurant draws you in. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great seafood with sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went for dinner around sunset. Had a lovely table close to the water. The food was excellent - biggest lobster I have had in a great time. Service was pretty good although it got busy and was then harder to get the wait staff's attention. Overall a lovely evening and a place I would go back to.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyJW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ammoudi Fish Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Ammoudi Fish Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing