We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9/22/18: Location, Location, Good Food and Service--218 Degrees Cafe, Oia”

218 Degrees Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 99 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 7 December 2018

On Sep 22, 2018 in Santorini, we greatly enjoyed the views and food at 218 Degrees Cafe in Oia, with its 218-degree almost circular view of the caldera looking south from Oia toward Fira. All the other reviews that say it's a gem are right! In fact, I found 218 Degrees Cafe before traveling on TripAdvisor's list of “moderately priced” cafes in Oia, and what a find.

It's actually not hidden; it's right on the caldera side of the main marble-paved street in Oia, and easy to find on satellite map by typing in “218 Degrees.” But--be on the lookout for that large number “218.” The main street by 12:30 pm was so crowded, we could hardly walk. And while the main street sign says “Cafe Restaurant 218 Degrees” in large letters, the printing is so stylish and hip that we didn't see it at first and walked right by, still hunting furiously for the cafe. Finally our phone told us we'd passed it. [Photo 1: Cafe Restaurant 218 Degrees--Stylized Sign]

Stepping inside the gate, the caldera view knocked us out. Every table had an umbrella for shade and plenty of space to enjoy the matchless vistas. [Photo 2: View from 218 Degrees Cafe]

The spinach pie and desserts were great, prices were quite low for Santorini, service was excellent and our server took terrific photos of us smiling ear to ear with the Cafe's stellar caldera views behind us. But we can only post photos we took ourselves; see photo 3 [Photo 3: View from 218 Degrees Cafe]. 218 Degrees Cafe also had the nicest clean restroom we saw in the Greek Islands.

I could have sat there an entire day and would love to go back. We were on a cruise that barely got us to Oia by 10 AM, we had to be back on the ship at 5PM, and we only had one day; nutty. After walking all over Oia, we only had about an hour to sit at 281 Degrees Cafe before catching our bus back to the Fira cable car. The Cafe got us in and out with time to spare, well-fed and well-photographed. For how we got to the top of the cliff early--by speedboat and bus--see Speedboat Fira to Oia Direct--No Donkeys: https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g482942-d6700488-r637771782-Dakoutros_Bros_J_V-Fira_Santorini_Cyclades_South_Aegean.html

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HappyKatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful view from Oia with relative prices for the area but the food was outstanding, lovely and friendly waiters!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Hugo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

This was the 1st restaurant we tried in Santorini and the zucchini fritters and pasta was amazing. We thought we should try other places but nothing was as good... so we just kept coming back. The food, the view, the staff, the gorgeous look of the restaurant with 3 levels and the adorable cats made this restaurant the best. Instantly relaxed and comfortable as soon as you sit down. Highly recommend and will be my 1st stop on our next visit to Santorini.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank 983traceyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

Our table was right at the edge, and that got us unobstructed view of the caldera and the waters. The food was great, especially the risotto. The wait-staff was quite helpful and forthcoming with suggestions for lunch.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank PranshulR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

The view is stunning from any seat in 218, the prices are very moderate for this prestige location in Oia.
Food is excellent. I had the sea bream, my wife had the clubhouse sandwich, both were well prepared. We also enjoyed a local bottle of white wine. Staff were and attentive.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Olliedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 218 Degrees Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 218 Degrees Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing