We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Strogili Traditional Houses
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We just returned home from a perfect stay at Strogili. We ended a week long vacation with two days at this fabulous place. The cave house was decorated very nicely, the beds were comfortable, the view from the terraces and large pool was AMAZING! At breakfast we enjoyed the view while being served a very nice and filling array of foods. Michael and Andreas both work very hard to make your stay memorable. I highly suggest using Michael for transfers to/from port or airport. Although we rented a car at other times in Santorini, we were glad we didn't drive from port to Oia - The crowds at the port were very large so renting a car and trying to get out of that area would have taken an hour. Instead, Michael was there, with a very comfortable van and waters for all of us to enjoy along the scenic ride to Oia.
This place is luxurious, without being at all pretentious. Spotlessly clean and can't imagine a better view in Oia. A great place if you want to enjoy great views, friendly people, and a fantastic pool. Short walk into town. Great restaurant (Anomonila) across street - and a market right on corner.
If we are fortunate to return, I won't waste anytime looking to stay anywhere else. Thanks to everyone at Strogili!!

Room Tip: We very much liked our cavehouse with private terrace that was up a small flight of stairs -- Only t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

We returned to Oia for our annual early summer visit, bringing along three other couples, two from the San Francisco Bay area, one from Amsterdam-each first time visitors to Santornin,

I had stayed at Strogilli once before and remembered it favorably-the location in Oia, the wonderful views, good service from family owners, the great "seperate" swimming pool and good breakfasts, served on your terrace, overlooking the remarkable Caldera.

This time , four of us stayed in a two BR/two Bath suite and the others in rooms for two.

Once again, the service from Andreas, Michael and the owners was terrific, the accomodations were traditional and perfect-suite with large deck/patio for sunning, eating continental breakfast of juice, coffee, croissants, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, a kitchenette, private bedrooms and adequate bathrooms. We had cocktails every night at sunset, overlooking Oia's amazing cliff views.

Andreas never failed to provide advice, assistance, great service. Strogilli even has a secured parking lot, where we parked our rental van.

The thirteen "rooms" made it a perfect size place to stay (charming) and with other guests from Canada, the U.K., the USA and China, it was international.

It was quiet, peaceful, friendly-like a family. A great 4 days-the "newbies" loved it, the alumni (us) continued to love it and we can't wait to go back (maybe this Sept)

Oia is a very special place and it's important to stay in a "family run", unpretentious, charming "B & B", that adds to the OIa experience and never detracts from it.

We highly reommend it, but, hey, leave room for our return.

Room Tip: Stay on middle level or lower level, not "reception" level We did not need AC in late May
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillValley_caEkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Having stayed in Athens and Paros for a few nights at each location I would recommend Oia on Santorini for its beauty and spectacular views. I would also recommend Strogilli for the warmth of welcome and the convenience and the competitive pricing. We are family of six and we shared the 3-room bedroom cave easily enough. Breakfast served to your patio each morning put a lot of other so called 5-star hotels to shame. Well done Michael and Ernesto!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConorDublin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days through end of may/start of june... Nicely priced residence with lovely host... Andreas and Micheal were fantastic and helpful, the hotel was always clean. we stayed in room 13 in the separate section and found it to be quiet and relaxing...just keep in mind its one hell of climb back up to the top or to get to the pool. there is a bus stop right out the front to take you to fira and a little corner store with everything you'll ever need. across the road is a fantastic restaurant..cheap but quality and authentic would definitely recommend! All in all a wonderful holiday at a wonderful hotel with wonderful host..... will definitely be back.

Room Tip: rooms 11 to 13 are best if you want to be left alone and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Strogili Traditional Houses in Oia are a pretty good value for money on Santorini. We arrived mid-day and Andreas promptly checked us in and showed us our room. The winds were pretty strong that day and our room was not very well insulated so about 10 minutes after being in our room we realised it would be impossible to sleep there as long as the wind was whistling through the windows. We asked Andreas if we could move and after discussion with the owner they allowed us to move into one of the traditional houses below. We greatly appreciated this but even were still able to hear the wind whistling our second night there, which made it difficult to sleep.
We very much enjoyed the breakfast served just outside our room overlooking the cliff. They don't serve fruit every day, but only every other, otherwise it is bread, yogurt, coffee. Not as extravagant as some of the other hotels we stayed in Greece but great views and you really don't need more than that.
In general I think Santorini is more expensive but we paid the same rate for this hotel that we did for a true 5 star on Folegandros, where we were pampered and had the best experience possible.
Traveler tip: Strogili's price for transfer from the port is 30 eur, and you can rent a car for a day for this price. I understand the traffic on Santorini is horrendous during the high season but if you are there before the majority of tourists come I would recommend renting a car for your stay, Hertz can arrange to meet you with the car at the port or at the airport.

Room Tip: The first room we had with the poorest insulation was next to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Expatslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The view, room, terrace, and room service were impeccable! Great location in oia, and amazingly quiet and private. I cannot recommend this place enough, except that any place with a view like this will not be cheap. But it was worth every penny! This place is a dream come true.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

It's a beautiful hotel with flowers everywhere. The view of the sea and the volcano is breathtaking. Staffs are very nice too. It's also very convenient with a bus stop and a minimarket near the hotel entrance.
Everything is perfect! We enjoyed our stay very much.Highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.7 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
0.5 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#32 of 58 in Oia
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.6 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strogili Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strogili Traditional Houses

Address: oia, Oia, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £149 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strogili Traditional Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Strogili Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strogili Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Strogili Traditional Houses Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing