We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay in Oia!”
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esperas
Ranked #1 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My husband and I spent three wonderful nights at Esperas during our honeymoon. Location in Oia is important because there can be a lot of tourists. Esperas is situated on a cliff slightly outside the center of town, which was great for us because we wanted peace and quiet when we weren't exploring shops, restaurants, etc. It was lovely being able to relax by the pool (with the most amazing view) when we wanted to, without being surrounded by a million people.
We had the Junoir Suite, which ended up being my favorite room we stayed in during our whole trip. It was enormous and every room felt cozy and charming. We said it felt like we had our own romantic cave for three days! The staff was incredibly sweet and helpful throughout our entire stay. Every restaurant/outing recommendation they gave us was spot on! We will definitely return to Esperas in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leahk728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
There are newer reviews for Esperas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

I made my solo trip to Greece and I had an amazing time. I chose to stay in Esperas throughout my 3 nights in Santorini.

The view was breathtaking. Oia is known to have the best sunset view in Santorini. Most travelers will come to Oia village early in the evening to get the best spot for sunset watch. Anyway, I got to enjoy the incredible sunset view right from the hotel.

The house itself is very beautiful and comfortable. Totally love it. The hotel is just a short walk to the cute Oia village. The service is excellent. The staffs are warm, helpful, and would ensure that I had a pleasant stay. The hotel breakfast is great.

I definitely recommend this place for anyone visiting Santorini.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bitterchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

From reading Tripadvisor, we knew that Oia was where we wanted to be for our three days on Santorini. We chose Esperas because it was highly rated and because we got a discounted early-season rate there. It turned out to be everything we hoped for and more. Our room was small but meticulously clean, well-furnished, and very cute. Its view, like every other room at Esperas, was spectacular. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loganterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We were fortunate enough to stay at this special hotel for six nights in May. The whole experience was amazing- the charming cave house with a fabulous view of the caldera and sunset, the welcoming friendly staff and great location. The room was incredibly clean and well maintained. The staff went out of their way to be sure we had everything we needed. The pool was wonderful with plenty of lounge chairs for relaxation. The breakfast was delicious with a wide assortment of food. Oia is lovely with great restaurants, shops and spectacular views everywhere you looked. We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: You could not go wrong with any of the rooms
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcjcough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Very accommodating and hospitable service. The owner picked us up at the airport and drove us back to the airport (for 30 Euros each way). There were a couple of minor problems in our room (shower head and hair dryer) and they were fixed immediately. The view is postcard perfect. We stayed in a junior suite which had two full baths, kitchen (limited cooking capability), bedroom, sitting area and loft. There was a patio area outside on which was located table and chairs and two lounges. The pool area lounging is quite extensive but the pool is not heated. A full breakfast is included in the room cost. They will take your tray out to the pool or other outside area for you. There is lunch service (not included) and a full bar.

However, if you have mobility problems, this is not the place for you. There are a multitude of steps in and out of the hotel and into the village proper. You do get a workout and maybe that's why we didn't gain any weight while there for 10 days!

Room Tip: Room rates jump starting in mid-May.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinooTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Partner and I spent 2 nights at one of the studios. Upon arrival, we were received by the very sincere George at the port.

We were greeted and well taken care by the hospitable staff of Esperas especially the owners - Yvonne and George. Staff goes the extra mile to ensure our requests and demands were met not only with excellence but also with quality and value. As we required ferry tickets on the subsequent legs of our trip and accommodation was not booked, George kindly assisted to find the suitable ferry timings and accommodation and proceeded to collect our ferry tickets and got it hand-delivered.

Constantly greeted with a smile. Truly impressed at such service excellence and the care for the customers.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IWalkISeeIWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Like many reviewers, I spent hours researching hotels before my husband and I chose Esperas for our honeymoon. Although it was at the top of our budget (even with a low-season) discount, it was worth every penny.

When we got out of our taxi and followed the Esperas staff carrying our luggage down the windy stone paths to the hotel, I was awestruck by the views. Esperas is located in a truly breathtaking location. I am a go-getter kind of traveler--I like to be active and see the sights. But you can sit on your private balcony at Esperas and still be "seeing the sights!" You will be hard pressed to find a better view anywhere else on the island.

Yvonne and the staff are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Any negative comments seem insignificant when compared to how comfortable, clean, quiet and private our room was, and how great the staff was. Yes, I ran out of hot water twice, and it would have been nice to have a light outside our door when we were fumbling with our keys in the dark. But the important things: location, comfort, service and beauty, were all top notch.

A few other notes about our trip: We went in April, which we highly recommend if hot weather and lots of beach time are not a top priority for you. Although we had some chilly days with light rain, it was also quieter, less crowded and cheaper. We happened to be there for Greek Orthodox Easter, which was a rare treat, no matter how you identify religiously. We were moved by the hilltop village of Pyrgos lit up with lanterns on Good Friday, the midnight four course traditional meal in the early morning hours of Easter Sunday, and the constant church bells and fireworks all weekend. We also recommend renting a car and driving around the island. Esperas will put you in touch with George from Gem--best car rental service we've ever had. You will never get rental car service like this in the States! We also hiked the old path from Oia to Imerovigli, which took us about 2.5 hours. You could continue to Thira for a total of 4 hours.

If you are looking for a quiet, cozy hotel with unbeatable service and views that will stop you in your tracks, rest assured that Esperas will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Room 115: more steps but also more privacy
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ediejokin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.5 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#23 of 56 in Oia
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.9 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range: £224 - £703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing