We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good news, bad news and the truth”
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esperas
Ranked #1 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This was a last stop for 6 of us after Athens, a Star Clipper cruise and then Santorini. The good news. Yvonne and George are great hosts. There is one guy who works like a dog carrying bags, serving up breakfast, taking your tray out and always with a smile. He works after a hard day here at Ochre restaurant in the evening. He was the only one we tipped & substantially at this hotel. we had a suite for 4 which was not as advertised. At $700 a night I expected the bedrooms to have a TV which they did not, only the living room. The suite had a full bathroom with shower and a w/c which was indeed a closet maybe 3 feet wide with a toilet and tiny sink. Housekeeping was non existent. Cleaning the toilets involved a quick flush and run and was lacking. Ar $700 a night I expect the sheets to be changed which they were not. Dirty items were left and not cleaned. The bathroom in this suite and our friends studio needed a complete and updated tile replacement, it was terrible. That's the bad news. I would still suggest staying here, the view is amazing and it is location, ;location, location. The breakfast is outstanding. We ate at Papagalos(not sunset view) for great Greek food. As mentioned Ochre is perfect for food/sunset. we ate one night on our patio with local foods, leftovers and wine. a mini market is 10 minutes walk. We chartered a 43 ft power boat with Santorini Sailing and our group said it was the highlight, great stops for swimming and a feast for lunch prepared by two lovely ladies and the able captain(and bbq king). If you want a gyro sandwich the place right next to the tourist office can't be beat, an outdoor patio and locals eat here. This place can be better than it's billed. maybe the reviewers don't get out much and it blew them away, I think currently a very good rating with needs improvement.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperas, Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

First of all I would like to thank you for your rating of our establishment and your constructive criticism as it will help us achieve an even better standard of service.

The person you mentioned that “works like a dog” is actually two people (Armando and Erwin) which are first cousins and look very much alike. Armando is the one who is in charge of the breakfast, and Erwin is the porter. The fact that Armando chose to work somewhere else as well after his shift at Esperas ends, is obviously something we are aware of. We have not asked him to quit his other post since he supports his younger siblings back home, but we make sure first and foremost that it does not affect his performance at Esperas.

We are not aware of any discrepancies in the description of the Superior Suite you stayed in, and can furthermore assure you we do not intend to put any TVs in the bedrooms. We have had extremely few guests who use the TVs in their rooms for anything other than spending a quiet night in with a DVD from our extensive collection which we provide free of charge.

As you may already be aware of, Esperas Traditional Houses is a member of the Historic Hotels of Europe. One of the reasons we were awarded this honor is the fact that we make extra effort to preserve the architectural integrity of Santorini. This means that although some of the rooms in our hotel could indeed be bigger, they are not, due to the fact that we will not mess with the original structures that were in place. The same applies for the tiles in some of the bathrooms which we were able to salvage from the original lodgings.

In closing I would like to thank you again for your frank comments and constructive words.

Julia Mavrelou
Manager
Esperas Traditional Houses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2011

My husband and I spent three wonderful nights at Esperas during our honeymoon. Location in Oia is important because there can be a lot of tourists. Esperas is situated on a cliff slightly outside the center of town, which was great for us because we wanted peace and quiet when we weren't exploring shops, restaurants, etc. It was lovely being able to relax by the pool (with the most amazing view) when we wanted to, without being surrounded by a million people.
We had the Junoir Suite, which ended up being my favorite room we stayed in during our whole trip. It was enormous and every room felt cozy and charming. We said it felt like we had our own romantic cave for three days! The staff was incredibly sweet and helpful throughout our entire stay. Every restaurant/outing recommendation they gave us was spot on! We will definitely return to Esperas in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leahk728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I made my solo trip to Greece and I had an amazing time. I chose to stay in Esperas throughout my 3 nights in Santorini.

The view was breathtaking. Oia is known to have the best sunset view in Santorini. Most travelers will come to Oia village early in the evening to get the best spot for sunset watch. Anyway, I got to enjoy the incredible sunset view right from the hotel.

The house itself is very beautiful and comfortable. Totally love it. The hotel is just a short walk to the cute Oia village. The service is excellent. The staffs are warm, helpful, and would ensure that I had a pleasant stay. The hotel breakfast is great.

I definitely recommend this place for anyone visiting Santorini.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bitterchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

From reading Tripadvisor, we knew that Oia was where we wanted to be for our three days on Santorini. We chose Esperas because it was highly rated and because we got a discounted early-season rate there. It turned out to be everything we hoped for and more. Our room was small but meticulously clean, well-furnished, and very cute. Its view, like every other room at Esperas, was spectacular. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loganterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We were fortunate enough to stay at this special hotel for six nights in May. The whole experience was amazing- the charming cave house with a fabulous view of the caldera and sunset, the welcoming friendly staff and great location. The room was incredibly clean and well maintained. The staff went out of their way to be sure we had everything we needed. The pool was wonderful with plenty of lounge chairs for relaxation. The breakfast was delicious with a wide assortment of food. Oia is lovely with great restaurants, shops and spectacular views everywhere you looked. We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: You could not go wrong with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcjcough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Very accommodating and hospitable service. The owner picked us up at the airport and drove us back to the airport (for 30 Euros each way). There were a couple of minor problems in our room (shower head and hair dryer) and they were fixed immediately. The view is postcard perfect. We stayed in a junior suite which had two full baths, kitchen (limited cooking capability), bedroom, sitting area and loft. There was a patio area outside on which was located table and chairs and two lounges. The pool area lounging is quite extensive but the pool is not heated. A full breakfast is included in the room cost. They will take your tray out to the pool or other outside area for you. There is lunch service (not included) and a full bar.

However, if you have mobility problems, this is not the place for you. There are a multitude of steps in and out of the hotel and into the village proper. You do get a workout and maybe that's why we didn't gain any weight while there for 10 days!

Room Tip: Room rates jump starting in mid-May.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinooTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Partner and I spent 2 nights at one of the studios. Upon arrival, we were received by the very sincere George at the port.

We were greeted and well taken care by the hospitable staff of Esperas especially the owners - Yvonne and George. Staff goes the extra mile to ensure our requests and demands were met not only with excellence but also with quality and value. As we required ferry tickets on the subsequent legs of our trip and accommodation was not booked, George kindly assisted to find the suitable ferry timings and accommodation and proceeded to collect our ferry tickets and got it hand-delivered.

Constantly greeted with a smile. Truly impressed at such service excellence and the care for the customers.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IWalkISeeIWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.5 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#23 of 56 in Oia
315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range: £178 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing