We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esperas
Ranked #1 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Naperville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 24 June 2011

There can be no more beautiful setting anywhere. Carved into the hill overlooking Ammoudi with a stunning view of the caldera, you are surrounded by charm and beauty. The rooms, appointed with antiques, give you a true experience of Oia and transport you to a to a different time and culture. The pool and deck area are peaceful and beautiful. The expert staff are kind and helpful. The food delicious. The rooms are very clean. I want to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieK049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    96
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
135
525
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Stop looking for other places to stay and make a reservation here. It is the most beautiful place I have ever seen. The views are spectacular, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the staff is outstanding. Yvonne, Hassna, and Estelle are amazing people that have everything there waiting for you and all the helpful advice you could need. The food is wonderful at the bar and you can sit by the pool and see the most amazing views of this incredible place. I plan to return and do it all over again. My sincere thanks to those patient and kind women and the entire staff that made this trip so memorable. Santorini is like no other destination you can visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariefla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights (June 2,3,4) at the end of a 12 day journey, and wished we had spent the whole time here! Hassna and Yvonne are fabulous hostesses, the setting for the hotel is other-worldly beautiful, Armando is incredibly friendly and helpful with anything you need, and WE ARE IN LOVE WITH THIS PLACE! This is clearly the best place to stay in Santorini, and our favorite in Greece! By the way, try the Dakos as an appetizer for happy hour -- wonderful!

Room Tip: room 103 is small but wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tryallofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, FL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed here a year ago and a third of our wedding guests stayed here this year at our recommendation. We were there daily meeting with our friends and coordinating events - the amazing management and staff was as professional and accommodating as ever. Everything was "yes," and our friends really enjoyed their time there. Also, it's one of the few places in Oia where you can find a comfortable, medium bed, rather than the super-hard things popular in Greece. Affordable, yummy room service. We would recommend it again and again.

Room Tip: We prefer the junior suite closest to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeverInMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
554 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This was a last stop for 6 of us after Athens, a Star Clipper cruise and then Santorini. The good news. Yvonne and George are great hosts. There is one guy who works like a dog carrying bags, serving up breakfast, taking your tray out and always with a smile. He works after a hard day here at Ochre restaurant in the evening. He was the only one we tipped & substantially at this hotel. we had a suite for 4 which was not as advertised. At $700 a night I expected the bedrooms to have a TV which they did not, only the living room. The suite had a full bathroom with shower and a w/c which was indeed a closet maybe 3 feet wide with a toilet and tiny sink. Housekeeping was non existent. Cleaning the toilets involved a quick flush and run and was lacking. Ar $700 a night I expect the sheets to be changed which they were not. Dirty items were left and not cleaned. The bathroom in this suite and our friends studio needed a complete and updated tile replacement, it was terrible. That's the bad news. I would still suggest staying here, the view is amazing and it is location, ;location, location. The breakfast is outstanding. We ate at Papagalos(not sunset view) for great Greek food. As mentioned Ochre is perfect for food/sunset. we ate one night on our patio with local foods, leftovers and wine. a mini market is 10 minutes walk. We chartered a 43 ft power boat with Santorini Sailing and our group said it was the highlight, great stops for swimming and a feast for lunch prepared by two lovely ladies and the able captain(and bbq king). If you want a gyro sandwich the place right next to the tourist office can't be beat, an outdoor patio and locals eat here. This place can be better than it's billed. maybe the reviewers don't get out much and it blew them away, I think currently a very good rating with needs improvement.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperas, Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
First of all I would like to thank you for your rating of our establishment and your constructive criticism as it will help us achieve an even better standard of service.

The person you mentioned that “works like a dog” is actually two people (Armando and Erwin) which are first cousins and look very much alike. Armando is the one who is in charge of the breakfast, and Erwin is the porter. The fact that Armando chose to work somewhere else as well after his shift at Esperas ends, is obviously something we are aware of. We have not asked him to quit his other post since he supports his younger siblings back home, but we make sure first and foremost that it does not affect his performance at Esperas.

We are not aware of any discrepancies in the description of the Superior Suite you stayed in, and can furthermore assure you we do not intend to put any TVs in the bedrooms. We have had extremely few guests who use the TVs in their rooms for anything other than spending a quiet night in with a DVD from our extensive collection which we provide free of charge.

As you may already be aware of, Esperas Traditional Houses is a member of the Historic Hotels of Europe. One of the reasons we were awarded this honor is the fact that we make extra effort to preserve the architectural integrity of Santorini. This means that although some of the rooms in our hotel could indeed be bigger, they are not, due to the fact that we will not mess with the original structures that were in place. The same applies for the tiles in some of the bathrooms which we were able to salvage from the original lodgings.

In closing I would like to thank you again for your frank comments and constructive words.

Julia Mavrelou
Manager
Esperas Traditional Houses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My husband and I spent three wonderful nights at Esperas during our honeymoon. Location in Oia is important because there can be a lot of tourists. Esperas is situated on a cliff slightly outside the center of town, which was great for us because we wanted peace and quiet when we weren't exploring shops, restaurants, etc. It was lovely being able to relax by the pool (with the most amazing view) when we wanted to, without being surrounded by a million people.
We had the Junoir Suite, which ended up being my favorite room we stayed in during our whole trip. It was enormous and every room felt cozy and charming. We said it felt like we had our own romantic cave for three days! The staff was incredibly sweet and helpful throughout our entire stay. Every restaurant/outing recommendation they gave us was spot on! We will definitely return to Esperas in the future!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leahk728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I made my solo trip to Greece and I had an amazing time. I chose to stay in Esperas throughout my 3 nights in Santorini.

The view was breathtaking. Oia is known to have the best sunset view in Santorini. Most travelers will come to Oia village early in the evening to get the best spot for sunset watch. Anyway, I got to enjoy the incredible sunset view right from the hotel.

The house itself is very beautiful and comfortable. Totally love it. The hotel is just a short walk to the cute Oia village. The service is excellent. The staffs are warm, helpful, and would ensure that I had a pleasant stay. The hotel breakfast is great.

I definitely recommend this place for anyone visiting Santorini.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitterchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.5 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.9 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#14 of 56 in Oia
943 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#23 of 56 in Oia
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Property: Esperas
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing