We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, but the hotel needs an update!!”
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esperas
Ranked #1 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing views, but the hotel needs an update!!”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We were in the hotel 5 nights, we've got a studio and the good points were: the views (just AMAIZING!!fron every room) and the bed (confortable and big) and the staff: very very kind, helpfull and friendly!!
BUT...
The weak points: too dirty, a machine over our heads with an annoying sound everynigt!, everything lloks 'old' (switches, shower,fridge...), the sunbeds were extremly unconfortable (in the terrace and in the swiming pool), the pool is full of "scratches" (looks old)... And the recomendations fron the staff: all a mistake!! Don't even think about taking the catamaran they recomend! Costs 130€ and there're many other options cheaper and more worthy! And the restaurants they told us: all modern cuisine, no greek food! I totally recomend the tavern Sunset, at the port. They also arranged for us the rental of a motorbike: they told me a price by email and when we arrived it was 25€ more (small amount, ok, but why??)

I expected much more for the price and the pictures. There are many options more interesting in Oia.
In general terms

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herm7828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you for your review and the comments you made. They will be used to enhance our hotel and make future guests more comfortable.
I cannot explain your comments about the hotel being dirty, especially after taking into account all other comments we have had in the past about the cleanliness of the hotel. The only thing that would explain your comments, would be the extremely windy conditions during your stay, which brought a lot of dust from the surrounding mountains.
As per the comment that everything looks old, you should take into account that this is our intent. As you are aware, Esperas Traditional House is a member of the Historic Hotels of Europe, a fact that we are very proud of, as only one more hotel qualifies in Santorini. What you describe as old, is actually original and antiques.
As per the excursion recommendations we made, we cannot be held accountable if you didn't like the excursion you chose. As we described in detail and in person, there are other cheaper options starting from 30 Euro per person. The choice was entirely up to you. Maybe the negative review should have been addressed to the sailing company.
As per the restaurants, again they are your choice, we only make suggestions. If you were not satisfied with the food, you should write a negative review of that restaurant and not of somebody who suggested it. People can have different tastes.
As per the price difference you mentioned for the motorbike rental, we are not aware if you decided to pay for a full insurance or not, or if you remember that prices that other companies advertise can be quoted without tax. Again, maybe a negative review of that company would more appropriate.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    94
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
127
510
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The staff was very attentive, friendly, and speak English. The rooms were very nice, each with a balcony and the views of the sunset were perfect! Maid comes twice a day. The cave pool was refreshing and relaxing with a pool bar and food available. A nice breakfast offered. Many stairs and no elevators, but the staff carries all of your luggage. A five minute walk to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaann1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

What a stunning place to stay! The pictures on their website made it look beautiful, but the reality exceeded our expectations. We just loved staying here in beautiful Oia. So close to great restaurants but in such a peaceful quiet area as well well situated to watch that memorable sunset every evening! We enjoyed coming back and enjoying the pool area every afternoon as well. Most memorable were the suites themselves as they are all so unique and special in their own way. It felt like we had our own little perfect apartment during our stay in Santorini. Yvonne and her staff were always so friendly and helpful and would answer our numerous questions with a friendly smile. Someone is always there to offer their assistance if necessary. What a great place to stay. Wonderful rooms, location, and staff!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capt-Canuck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We, a family of four, stayed in Esperas for three nights in July and we all loved it. The room (117) was big enough for the four of us with two separate bedrooms and a living room with sofa, TV etc. The beds in the main bedroom were really comfortable and the view amazing. A private terrace overlooking the caldera made every moment spent there fantastic. A friendly atmosphere between guests and the staff made our stay a very memorable time. The pool is nice for a refreshing swim but nothing to play in. We went to a larger pool, located at a restaurant, above Esperas and on the left side. Restaurants in Oia are quite pricy and we did not come across any particularly good food, although the there is a nice ambience in the town and we liked our nights there a lot, anyhow. The best lunch we had was in Tis Pandoras in Amoudi Habour, right below Esperas. A hot walk to get there, and back, but definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Room 117 is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaR_4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Esperas provided our family (couple and boys aged 18 and 15) with a great hotel/resort that is placed in a breathtaking location, dripping off the side of the Santorini caldera in Oia. The style fits perfectly. The rooms are modern, yet traditional as the name directs. The staff was simply the best I have encountered in my travels. You can expect at least one grumpy clerk everywhere - not here! Esperas' included breakfast was complete (full Greek yoghurt), dried fruit, breads, fresh fruit, mini-omlets, cereal, pastries, etc. The poolside/room service was some of the best food we had in our 3 week tour of Greece. Check out the local cherry tomatoes and capers in an update on the classic Greek salad. The view will not disappoint. The rooms are comfy and well supplied. (European standards are firmer mattresses). The costs are comparable to other Oia locatations, but Oia is clearly the place to be in Santorini. I only wish we had just stayed there to enjoy the famous sunset instead of going out for dinner! The walk down about 300 - 400 feet yielded a typical Greek rocky cove (Ammoudi Bay) with clear water, snorkling the drop off (precipitously like the Caldera to 1000 feet) and several fish tavernas.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Having been to Greece and Santorini several times, we chose to stay in Oia on this trip. Esperas Traditional Houses is in a gorgeous location, right overlooking the caldera. Our room was very nice with its private balcony. The staff, including Yvonne and Estelle are warm and extremely helpful. Breakfast was excellent. One word of caution, this is not a good choice for anyone that has mobility issues are the steps can be quite steep and the walk into town challenging. Overall, a terrific stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hickory444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Our stay at Esperas was the first in a twin-hotel stay on Santorini and whilst it was supposed to be our ‘cheap’ option it was in no way inferior.
The hotel is in a great location clinging to the edge of the Caldera , just a minutes’ walk from the main drag - albeit up and down a fair few steps! It was fun to raise our glasses to the crowds of fellow tourists lined up in on the nearby viewpoint each evening, all of us admiring the sensational sunset view!
Our room, which was close to the pool area, had its own little terrace with just enough space to include a couple of sunbeds and also a cute little balcony with great ocean views. The blue and white decor was reminiscent of the movie Mamma Mia, and whilst not luxurious, was gorgeous all the same. Simply furnished, but had everything we needed, though the bathroom was a bit on the tiny side.
Service from the pick up at the car park - where they take care of your luggage - and throughout our stay was excellent. Breakfast was included each morning and was simple fayre, and there was a decent lunch menu so ideal if you wanted to lounge by the pool through the day. Whilst there is a wealth of luxury hotels on the island, this is a little gem in one of the best locations...I’d happily recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nic068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.6 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#9 of 56 in Oia
916 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.9 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Property: Esperas
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing