We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Esperas
Ranked #1 of 35 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, D.C
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Esperas for one leg of our honeymoon and it was beyond anything we could have hoped for. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, and went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful stay. They really paid attention to detail, and when we arrived had a bottle of champagne chilling for us, and the bed decorated with balloons and a welcome note.

Our room overlooked the Caldera (all rooms there do) and watching the sunset was one of the most romantic things I have ever seen. They helped us book a sail boat tour and took care of all the details getting us to and from the port. Just thinking about it really makes me wish I was going back.

My only reservation was not about the hotel, but Oia itself. Do not go there looking for late night festivities. Things close down shortly after dinner, so we found ourselves looking for places to socialize. Otherwise, the trip was just amazing and I can't sing enough praises.

Room Tip: We had the room right above reception, which was excellent because we didn't have to climb too m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
On behalf of the Esperas management we want to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. We take pride in providing a romantic stay for all our guests and were exceptionally happy to be your choice of honeymoon. We can assure you we will prove your words true for all upcoming visitors in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    92
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
120
490
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in August 2011. It was the busiest time of the high season, but the atmosphere at Esperas Traditional Houses was still one of absolute tranquillity. Oia has so much to offer but I can't emphasise enough how pleasant it is to be able to retire from the maddening crowd whenever you want to the absolute serenity of the beautiful cave houses in this little cliffside resort, The swimming pool is beautiful swimming, the staff are genuine and would do everything they could do make your stay a special one, the houses are gorgeous and the whole place is set against the epic backdrop of the most incredible views in Santorini - an island justifiably renowned for its incredible views. One thing - I'd book your own taxi to the ferry if you are leaving that way - the one they booked picks up lots of other people on the route so takes quite long but still left us at the port an hour early. The boat was then inevitably delayed. The port is not a great place to hang out in 40 degree heat!

In brief - we really loved it & would highly recommend Esperas Traditional Houses to anyone

Room Tip: Go for a room on two levels - the more balconies, the more different venues you have to experience t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaffney99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We are a family of four and stayed here last summer (sorry for the delay!) We absolutely loved everything about this amazing hotel. We stayed in suite #117, which has 2 bedrooms and 1.5 baths. This unit has a huge terrace with a dining table and sun lounge chairs. The views are specatular and you are in the best place for sunsets. As everyone else is jockeying for a spot to watch the sunset around town, you can enjoy it from your terrace or from the pool bar with your favorite cocktail. The staff here is exceptional and most have been at Esperas for a very long time. Everyone goes above and beyond to make your trip perfect. Breakfast is abundant and sitting poolside with the views could not a be better way to start the day. We ate dinner on our terrace one night and that was one of our best meals in Oia. The location is very nice, as you are close to the center of town, but on the quieter side.
I would make sure to book airport/ferry pickup thru the hotel as it would be impossible to find this place on your own!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TahoeJuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I went on a dream trip to Greece with my husband October 2011. It is the perfect time to go, weather was not too hot with cool evenings, and it's not crowded :) But if you’re going to hit the islands be sure to go within the first two weeks of October as a lot of restaurants and businesses close for the winter starting third week of October.

Esperas Traditional houses was the perfect place for our Santorini experience. We rented a car at the airport and made our way to Oia (the most beautiful town in Santorini) known for its amazing sunsets. It is a charming little town where cars are only allowed on the outskirts so its walking, walking, walking to get around. Bring comfortable shoes.

The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect. We sat out on our balcony at sunset time and saw the crowd of people up on the left cliff side that had come to view the sunset...meanwhile wine glass in hand, backgammon board on the table we were relaxing and taking in the magnificent sunset.

The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful, going above and beyond. We had the house located ‘lowest’ down on the cliff, so we had complete, romantic privacy- heads up tough- it is a hike to get up to the breakfast/front desk area which then leads into town. However there is a secret shortcut (which front desk will tell you about) down to Amoudi (the fishing town below Oia). So that walk was shorter which was helpful as we walked up and down about 4 times to get to the yummy fresh fish restaurants for lunch.

IMPORTANT: We had a storm that rolled in on our second night there and it rained all night. It was actually quite romantic, however I woke up at about 2am to a trickling sound, water was coming in by each other the three windows and below the door. It wouldn’t have mattered much, as it was easily wiped up the next morning but I had placed my bag in the little area right under the window my bag was soaking wet. I was able to hang dry my clothes the next day, thankfully we had another day there, and thankfully I didn’t have any electronics laying there either. Speaking to some of the other guests the next morning I realized that it wasn’t just our room. So personally I think the hotel should let you know that this can occur and not to place any belongings below the windows or near the door.

Just quickly a few other notes:
We did a swimming tour into the center of the caldera to swim in the sulfur waters on Nea Kameni (the island still remaining in the center of what used to be the volcano) we took a private tour with a captain named GEORGE LAMPROS who owns his own “little pirate ship”. If you don’t want to do a lengthy half day tour with 30 other people and food and wine on board. Just book George we did a two hour tour which ended up cheaper than the other tours crowded with passengers and we had the boat all to ourselves. George is very friendly, knowledgeable and fun.

Some great food:
TIS PANDORAS It is in Amoudi (the town below Oia) again heads up here there are many steps down this cliff. There are donkeys but after watching and hearing tourists get their legs scratched on the walls (the donkeys always walk on the most outer part of a turn since the stairs are widest there) I don’t know that I’d recommend that. Get the fried Snapper, the “little fry fish” and the dolmades (stuffed vine leaves) absolutely amazing
AMBROISA-NECTAR: Not too far of a walk from Esperas and such good food. The baked feta appetizer is so yummy.
Can’t remember the other restaurants but the hotel staff made the recommendations and they did not disappoint. They were honest about which places were worth going to, which were overpriced and which had the fresh catch of the day. I would trust their recommendations.
When returning to Santorini, as I hope to do some day, I will be staying at Esperas Traditional Houses. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nepean, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed here the end of August, 2011. We booked the trip to celebrate our 30th Anniversay. This was a fantastic anniversay. The scariest part of the stay was arriving...a taxi met us at the port in Fira to drive us to the hotel and dropped us off in a parking lot...no sign of the hotel or for the hotel anywhere. We were finally met by a porter who took our bags and showed us where to check in. Check in was slow, but they made us feel welcome with drinks, food, cheese. We found out why our check in was slow when we got to our room (111)...they had ballons, a bottle of wine and 2 wine glasses and a happy anniversay note for us...that set the tone for the remaining 3 days. The rooms are sparse, but very clean and very well laid out. The view from our deck over looking Ammoudi and the caldera was spectacular. The sunsets and sunrises were everything you've ever read about or seen in pictures. The staff treated us special at all times, whether is was at breakfast, supper or for a drink and whether that was the manager, the waiters or the cleaning staff. Breakfast next to the pool and overlooking the caldera was a dream. The pizza for lunch was great too. All in all the most romantic, most spectacular place ever. We loved the rooms so much we intend to use the interior design for a cottage we are building. I highly recommend Esperas..they will make your dreams come true. My wife found Espera on the internet looking for cave houses...I'm so greateful she found this place...We will be back!

Room Tip: We had room 111 - last room on our level, looking towards the sunset...beautiful...The walking could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terrymac1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

This was the moist beautiful place I have ever stayed at. We arrived at Esperas just as the sun was setting. We were whisked through all the tourists lining the path above the hotel to view the amazing sunset and we were seated on our very own balcony with an uninterrupted view all to ourselves. The cave houses were gorgeous and a great place to escape the heat. They were roomier than I had expected. The pool at the hotel was beautiful and a good size. The staff were all extremely helpful whether it was carrying your breakfast trays or booking tours. The volcano tour and the winery / cooking tours are a must. The town of Oia is just so gorgeous and very easy to get around. It was so much prettier than than Fira the main town and I would definitely recomment staying here over anywhere else on the island. It's very easy to arrange a hire car or buses come frequently to Oia. There were a number of fantastic restaurants in the town too. Not enough time to try them all. We will definitely be back and will most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smartfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

My wife and I came to visit Esperas in Oct 2011. From the very first minute they care for you like royalty/family. The view from our room was amazing. Breakfast was 15 steps from our room and a terrific spread every day. And the view of the sunset was perfect right from the patio in front of our room.

If you are looking for a place to escape, get pampered and relax you cannot beat this place. We will return next time we visit Santorini.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.2 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.6 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.5 mi away
Filotera Suites
Filotera Suites
#1 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Property: Esperas
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing