We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best view ever”
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Esperas
Ranked #1 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We spent an amazing time in this hotel. The staff is great, the rooms charming and the view .... Best ever!!! If you're in honeymoon or not, doesn't matter, enjoy here the best sunset.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PatriciaLubanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

On behalf of Esperas Traditional Houses, we would like to thank you for your kind and sincere comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

We were there only for 2 nights, but they were very much worth it!
The Hotel is incredible and the Staff are all so kind and helpful.
The view is amazing and Oia is such a beautiful city.
To have breakfast and look at the beautiful view made my day!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Merel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

On behalf of Esperas Traditional Houses, we would like to thank you for your kind and sincere comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We have just spent an amazing week at the Esperas Traditional Houses. We booked last minute and were able to take advantage of an excellent early season discount. Notwithstanding, we were allocated a room upgrade on arrival as well.

Our room was perched down the cliff at the far extremity of the hotel. We were not disturbed by anyone passing by, and also had a fantastic view of the sunset from our veranda. We spent a good deal of time on the lovely veranda - either sitting on our loungers, or enjoying a glass of wine at the little table. Our room had a separate bedroom and living area and good, quiet, air conditioning. The sea breeze (in May) meant the room never got too hot anyway. The rooms were cleaned twice daily (and discreetly); minibar was replenished every day, and fresh towels whenever you needed them.

What made the hotel really outstanding were Hassna, Yvonne and George as front of house. We have rarely encountered such friendly, knowledgeable and helpful hoteliers. Our every question and need was answered with enthusiasm. We took them up on their suggestions of where to eat; where to go, and how to get there. All their suggestions were superb.

The hotel has a small bar and food service. The menu is small and very well priced. You can eat on the tables by the pool - however, the food can be delivered at no extra charge to your terrace. We enjoyed several lunches this way - fresh pita sandwiches and greek salad with a glass of cold white wine. Breakfast is complimentary - hot egg souffles; fresh fruit, cereals, warm pastries and more. Some mornings we ate by the poolside, other mornings we took a tray back to our veranda. Coffee is provided with breakfast - however, there is a cafetiere, kettle and fridge provided in the rooms - we took advantage of this, and purchased ground coffee at the nearby supermarket.

Even though there are 17 rooms, with the location being tiered on the hillside it feels private and quiet. The communal areas are spacious.

Worthy of mention - there are LOTS of stairs. The website makes this quite clear, but if you have any mobility issues, there is no way to avoid the daily climbs. This is true for the whole of Oia, in fact.

Our first and last impressions of Esperas was our cheery greeting and send off by the bellboy. His English was as good as our Greek, so we never found out his name - he carried our two 20kg cases up and down the hillside and always had a smile on his face.

Booking online was easy - the hotel offer to arrange transfers from the airport/port for you, and both transfers were swift and timely.

We highly recommend staying at Esperas for any amount of time - visiting the whole island was easy from our base. We had a wonderful relaxing time.

Room Tip: Speak to the hotel before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 35Argyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

On behalf of Esperas Traditional Houses, we would like to thank you for your kind and sincere comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I can't say enough amazing things about this place. Our room, the view, the location, the concierge and their recommendations...just everything and anything about this place is 5* all the way. STAY HERE!!!! We stayed here before June 2011 bu the date "when did you travel" doesnt go back further than that.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jdro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

On behalf of the Esperas management, we want to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. We'll be more than happy to prove your words true for upcoming visitors in the years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

You know how you can be in the homestretch of your vacation & start to think about going home, sleeping in your own bed, being surrounded by your things & routine? Believe me when I say that Esperas Traditional Houses will change the way you feel about hotels/b&bs.

My husband & I stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary for 4 glorious days (April 22-25) in Room 117. The view of the caldera, cliffside buildings & of course, the brilliant sunsets are worth the price alone; what really makes things special here are Yvonne & the friendly, eager to please staff. Need help putting your terrace umbrella up? Done! Your US hair dryer is a little too powerful for the bathroom converter plug? Call & a dryer is brought to you within 2 minutes. Esperas really goes out of the way to make sure you are happy & satisfied.

There are plenty of towels, fantastic smelling toiletries (2 of everything so you don't run out), both bathroom showers have great water pressure with plenty of hot water. The master bed in #117 is a little bigger than a US queen (comfy mattress but pillows could be replaced - not a deal breaker) & has a private balcony attached. The other bedroom has twin beds with glass French doors that open out to the spacious sitting area. There is a room safe, 2 burner kitchenette, college sized fridge, hot tea maker. The main balcony is an oasis of tranquility, comfortable lounge chairs, built in sitting ledges with cushions & a full sized outdoor dining table for al fresco meals.

We've been to many places (Rome, London, Beijing, etc) & I cannot say enough great things about Esperas. Stay here & experience it for yourself. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Just ask for Room 117. That's all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robeyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

On behalf of the Esperas management we want to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. We have already changed the offending pillows, and we are very pleased that you compared us favorably to stays in cities such as London and Rome. We can assure you we will prove your words true for all upcoming visitors in the years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Hello everyone, Our trip to Sanotrini was fantastic. The hospitality received by everyone at Esperas was incredible. The welcoming atmosphere made us want to move there permanently. LOL. The rooms are amazing, clean, luxurious and complimented by little treats throughout the day from housekeeping staff that will always put a smile on your face. Be sure to bring good walking shoes to Santorini and enjoy the island and it's wonderful embracing charm. We would LOVE to revisit our new friends at Esperas and hope it will not be too long before we see their smiles once again. Sincerely XO Debbie and Chris St. John's Newfoundland CANADA

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are incredible but remember the winds may make some people jittery if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb_from_St_Johns_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

On behalf of the Esperas management we want to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. We can assure you we will prove your words true for all upcoming visitors in the years to come and hope you will be coming back very soon as per your wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Esperas for one leg of our honeymoon and it was beyond anything we could have hoped for. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, and went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful stay. They really paid attention to detail, and when we arrived had a bottle of champagne chilling for us, and the bed decorated with balloons and a welcome note.

Our room overlooked the Caldera (all rooms there do) and watching the sunset was one of the most romantic things I have ever seen. They helped us book a sail boat tour and took care of all the details getting us to and from the port. Just thinking about it really makes me wish I was going back.

My only reservation was not about the hotel, but Oia itself. Do not go there looking for late night festivities. Things close down shortly after dinner, so we found ourselves looking for places to socialize. Otherwise, the trip was just amazing and I can't sing enough praises.

Room Tip: We had the room right above reception, which was excellent because we didn't have to climb too m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperas, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

On behalf of the Esperas management we want to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. We take pride in providing a romantic stay for all our guests and were exceptionally happy to be your choice of honeymoon. We can assure you we will prove your words true for all upcoming visitors in the years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.5 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.9 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.4 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.7 mi away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range: £270 - £671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing