We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esperas
Ranked #1 of 35 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This may be the most architecturally interesting hotel I have ever stayed in. It is built right into the side of a mountain, and so to get from point A to point B in the hotel one has to do a fair amount of vertical traveling. In addition, the rooms themselves are modern caves cut right into the mountain; my room, for example, had natural rock growing in it. This makes the hotel a fascinating and incredibly scenic place in which to stay; the view from my balcony, for example, was stunning in all directions, including straight down to the harbor below.

To get to the hotel, you will be met at the parking lot by a representative, who will carry your bags to the reception desk up and down some stairways and cobblestone streets. The receptionist will then take you to your room. (If you are mobility-impaired, this is not the hotel for you, but then Santorini is probably not the destination for you, as there is always some stairway or cobblestone street to be accessed. If you are not impaired, though, you should be able to manage just fine: I am 63 years old, not exactly in peak physical condition, and never had any real difficulty.)

In addition to being interesting and beautiful, the hotel offers exceptional service and comfort. Our room was very clean and received maid service twice a day. The location is superb, both in terms of scenic views and convenience to sightseeing. A short walk (up, of course) takes you to the city (more like a village, actually) of Oia, which offers pretty streets with sun-washed white buildings, good restaurants, and shopping. From the main square of Oia one can also take very modern and comfortable buses to other places of interest on Santorini like the main village of Fira and, beyond that, the ruins of Akroturi. The buses are quite cheap (1.6 euro to Fira, for example) and always ran on time. The hotel can provide you with a schedule.

Breakfast is included in the hotel rate, as is free wifi, although since the rooms themselves are built into the mountain the wifi usually works best on your balcony or in the hotel public areas like the breakfast area. Breakfast is served right next to a really nice pool which wanders into a cave; it is a better-than-average continental breakfast with mini-croissants, chocolate croissants, bread, cheese and cold cuts, hard boiled eggs, juice and coffee, etc. Eating breakfast out in the open, with a view of the hotel and a windmill rising up behind you, the mountain to your left, and the open sea in front of you, is just a wonderful way to start the day.

I would also like to mention the friendliness of the hotel staff. I dealt a lot with Hossnah, the woman who managed the desk in the morning, and she was a jewel: friendly, efficient and accommodating beyond words. The man who managed the desk in the afternoon dealt with my wife on occasion and she always had comparably flattering things to say about him. In fact, in the whole time I was on Santorini, I can't recall meeting one single person who wasn't friendly and pleasant. This is really just a wonderful location for a vacation, which perhaps explains why we ran into so many honeymooning couples on the island.

This is certainly one of the very best hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. I gave it five stars only because there was no option for six or seven.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
On behalf of the Esperas Santorini staff, we wish to thank you for your kind and sincere comments. I am quite certain your extensive descriptions will prove invaluable to future guests of Santorini and Esperas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    93
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
125
498
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My 15 year dream of visiting Santorini came true for our honeymoon and the staff at Esperas made our stay perfect. My parents recommended Esperas following their visit several years ago, and it was certainly worth it. Oia in itself is picture perfect and staying at Esperas Traditional Houses makes you feel like you are part of something beautiful. The staff are wonderful and so helpful and friendly. Dan, the bartender, is fabulous and I highly recommend having a drink by the pool as the sun goes down. We booked the Honeymoon Suite and it was well appointed and self-contained, with a private balcony with jacuzzi, where we spent most of our time. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is great, with a private balcony with jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemRus_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
On behalf of the Esperas staff, we wish to thank you for your kind and sincere comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I have been to Greece so many times that I lost counting but traveled in April for the first time, choosing this trip as a birthday present. There was nothing more I could have asked for and Esperas was a big part of this beautiful dream. From the airport with the rented car and the instructions received from the staff, I easily found the parking place and Danny, the bellboy, showed the road to the hotel and carried the luggage which made everything very convenient and simple. There are not enough words to describe the beauty of the place, the room overlooking the sea, Caldera and Amoudi, the staff which is extremely friendly and helpful. I have been to Santorini many times but this is the best hotel I have stayed so far. The breakfast at the pool terrace with that amazing view, so quiet and pleasant, away from the crowds of tourists was the best start of the day.
Complaints? Yes, many! They give you a nice and cozy room, breathtaking view, wonderful atmosphere, offer a bottle of wine and their kindness but they steal your heart! Do you think they would give it back to me? I don't know, I'll check next time when I'll go there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank feliciapatrascu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
On behalf of the Esperas staff, we wish to thank you for your kind and sincere comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buninyong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My friends & i had a wonderful stay at Esperas, there were three of us, so one got to hog the main suite, while two shared the other bedroom. We were all very comfortable, lovely products in the bathrooms, rooms very clean, serviced twice daily, & that view, sensational.
We ate in one night using room service & the food was very good, DVD's are supplied & there was an eclectic selection to chose from.
There are a lot of steps, so if mobility is a problem this would not be the place to stay, for us they added to the adventure. The staff were friendly, helpful & generous.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CommoOz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
On behalf of the Esperas staff, we wish to thank you for your kind and sincere comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It was comfortable, clean, friendly, and very picturesque. Traditionally what you would imagine, the white against the Agean blue sea. It was such a delight and treat to stay there. Most people travel and sit on the bridge to watch the famous sunset, but you can see it from the comfort of your hotel! Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoFanula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
On behalf of the Esperas staff, we wish to thank you for kind and sincere comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
174 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We started to come to Esperas in 1995 and have now been here so often that we have lost counting. You stay in caves and they are all different and it's hard to say whitch is the best. It depents what you like and how much money you want to spend. The view is almost the same with different size of terrasse. Sitting on your terrasse to watch the sun going down overlooking the caldera and Amoudi (a little place below of Esperas with fishrestaurants). What more shall I say.They have a swimmingpool half innside a cave and half outside the area by the pool. In the evening it's so beautiful to look at with the lights on. It's a place for honeymooners and adult people. You can also dine here or take a walk up to the village Oia. This hotel with a wonderfull staff you'll never forget if you try it. We recoment it highly.

Room Tip: We find all very good. The size of terrasse is different some small some large. It depends how much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaStigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
On behalf of the Esperas staff, we would like to thank you for your kind and sincere comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beersheva
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

If you want a picture perfect sunset amazing location.. Great breakfast.. This is your place if you have problems with stairs Id say no.. I didnt have a problem but I noticed some older couple have a hard time.. Its a little dangerous. Its Just for coules tough.. Breakfast are very well done and the view if awesome.. Hope you all enjoy..

Room Tip: I just got lucky not sure what the best would be..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jordan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia M, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
On behalf of the Esperas staff, we wish to thank you for your kind and sincere comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.6 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#7 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.5 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Property: Esperas
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing