We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service and room in Santorini”
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Esperas
Ranked #1 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful service and room in Santorini”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a great time in Esperas. More luxurious than we expected and it all started with our welcome when we arrived. We stayed in a two bedroom two bath junior suite that was wonderfully cozy. It suited as perfectly as our 8 year old son stayed in the loft bedroom. Breakfasts were very good. The restaurant at Esperas was much better than expected and we had some of our best meals there. We stayed for 3 nights. The staff arranged our dinner reservations, a catamaran trip to hotsprings that was a highlight of our stay and even got our boarding passes for our flight to Athens. Our best dinner in Oia was at the Red Bicycle and we highly recommend it. It is a short walk from Esperas, it was the best dinner we had in two weeks in Greece. On our first night, we had dinner in Ammoudi Bay a Sunset and the seafood was great. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank danc12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your sincere and wonderful review. It is always a pleasure to hear from real guests who really stayed at Esperas and can vouch for the quality of our staff and our service. If TripAdvisor did its job properly, it would ensure only real people left reviews and then they would all tell the truth as you did. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    96
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
135
525
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I don't write reviews. Really, I usually don't. But our honeymoon stay at Esperas was so special and fantastic, that I just had to make an exception. From the personal pickup at the hotel (with our name on a sign!), to the spectacular views from our traditional house, to the welcome champagne and balloons and flower petals in our room upon arrival...everything was so perfect it was almost eerie. George and Christina and everyone else at Esperas were so helpful and gracious that we constantly found ourselves talking about coming back. I feel like there is SO much I'm leaving out and this is only the tip of the iceberg, but if you're considering a stay at Esperas in Oia, don't hesitate and book your stay immediately. You will be glad you did. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: We had a traditional house, which although a bit small, had the privacy and views we were craving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mynameismiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Everyone at Esperas is grateful when we read great reviews from actual guests who can vouch for the amazing service and relaxation our hotel provides. If TripAdvisor did its work properly, this the only kind of review Esperas would ever receive! Thank you for going above your usual practice and taking the time to leave us such a wonderful and positive review. Your endorsement and recommendation of Esperas will surely persuade future guests to make the right choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The villas here are just lovely. The reception staff and bar staff go out of their way for you everyday. Breakfast is served in your room every morning and it 100% room service if you want without the normal rip off costs the big hotels charge you. Whether you order at the restaurant or from your room the price is the same, this includes drinks and late night coffees. The setting is quite magical, the pool is picture perfect. We stayed in the honey moon suite and enjoyed our own spa bath as well. If I had to pick one thing to critique I would say the breakfasts were a little inconsistent. One day great, next day it was like there was different chef. The rest if the menu is good and recommend the anti pasta platter for two in the afternoon, that was a great variety for your taste buds. Room cleaning is done twice a day. This is mainly due to the winds and there being a fair bit sand blown up in some days, so they sweep your floor and dust twice a day as well as turn down your bed and put little chocolates in your pillows. Thank you to all who made our stay here so easy.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for your wonderful review and constructive remarks. All your descriptions of no extra hidden costs and great service truly show the quality of our people and our mentality towards our guests. If TripAdvisor did its job properly, it would ensure that only real reviews from real people, who really stayed at Esperas (as yourselves), would appear on its site. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We've stayed for 4 nights. Caldera and sunset views were really breathtaking.
Staff has been very friendly: helped us to organize snorkeling trip, which we enjoyed and recommended good restaurant in Ammoudi Bay.

Breakfast was good, especially Greek yogurt with honey and Greek cheese.

The only word of caution: stairs in the hotel and apartment are steep and probably some people will find them difficult to use.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdmitry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your positive review and recommendation of Esperas. We are all glad to hear you had a great time and enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had extremely high expectations for our trip to Santorini and was preparing myself for the possibility of disappointment as we drove from the port to the hotel but Esperas met ALL of my expectations and more.

We stayed 4 nights at Esperas to celebrate our 2nd Anniversary and couldn't have asked for a better or more authentic Santorini experience. We opted to have Esperas arrange a transfer for us from the port to the hotel (which I definitely recommend) and the bus dropped us off at a nearby parking lot since the actual hotel is not accessible to cars. From there, we followed a winding path of steps before Esperas, jaw-dropping views of the caldera and Almoudi Bay came into view. I'm pretty sure I gasped when I finally saw where we were staying.

The entire staff at Esperas was amazing and even upgraded us from the studio we booked to a suite for our anniversary. My husband and I both agreed that Oia is the best part of Santorini and Esperas has the best location at the very tip of the island (and the best views of the sunset). We loved having the path down to Amoudi Bay and definitely recommend trying a few of the seafood restaurants around the bay. I also loved the traditional decor inside all of the rooms. I know I had a hard time picking which hotel to stay at Santorini and deciding where on the island to stay (Fira, Oia, or Imerovigli) but after heading into Fira for dinner one night, we were so glad we chose Oia. When you see pictures of Greece, Oia is where they are taken.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
After reading your wonderful review, I can only thank you on behalf of each member of the Esperas staff for your truly inspiring words. It really is very obvious who has truly stayed at Esperas and writes about it, and who just wants to discredit this unique hotel by writing a fake review (see aaabbbccciii). Your descriptions couldn't have been more accurate and I am personally glad we were able to fulfill and indeed exceed all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We chose to stay at Esperas while visiting Santorini for our honeymoon. The stories about Esperas having a sunset view envious of the rest of the island are true! Very few hotels have an unobstructed view of the "magical" Oia sunset, requiring the rest of the visitors to line up on the hillside over the hotel to catch a glimpse. The staff and the rooms were fabulous. Just like anywhere in Santorini, you will pay a premium, but Esperas was worth the splurge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pittseafarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
What a great title you chose for your review! Thank you for spreading the truth about Esperas and not allowing some fake reviewers to tarnish our wonderful property. Having actually stayed here, you can testify that the views are indeed unobstructed. This after all can be verified by looking at any of the photos posted on TripAdvisor by guests. This kind of accurate review and detailed description of Esperas will certainly allow future guests make the correct choice. Thank you from everyone at Esperas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Though we had a short 2 day stay here it was all wonderful. Fascinating place built into the side of the hill overlooking the small cove. There are many steps but I thought that was pretty charming and it was easy to navigate. The team of Giorgos and Mario along were the rest of the staff were all top notch, very helpful and friendly. We ended up arriving late due to flight issues but still greeted warmly at 11:30pm. Beautiful pool, fantastic breakfast and off the main strip just far enough for a quiet peaceful stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kensmithld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. You can personally vouch that the Esperas staff is fantastic and certainly is not racist as some fake reviewers would have you believe. As you saw first-hand, no guest is treated differently at Esperas just because their flight was delayed or of other issues... We take great pride in our customer service and it shows everyday. Thank you once again for the review and the endorsement of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
0.5 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.9 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#13 of 56 in Oia
942 reviews
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.0 mi away
Fanari Villas
Fanari Villas
#23 of 56 in Oia
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Property: Esperas
Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing