We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a "Hassna" stay....”
Review of Esperas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esperas
Ranked #1 of 34 Oia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Amazing hotel.....I stayed in 2 hotels in Santorini and Esperas made me feel that I got ripped off in the other hotel. From Day one and people were very friendly and the rooms were amazing. Jacuzzi was very nice and clean, the view from our room was amazing. The hotel in general was quiet allowing for a very relaxed stay. They have a dvd library and you can rent any movies you want, which we found very conveniant at night. Breakfast was very good and fulfilling. Location was also very nice since you are a 5 minute walk from the Oia center. So it's nice that you can actually enjoy a nice dinner or shop around and not have to go to Fira every time, and in the same time enjoy the sunset every evening from the best part on the Island, But above all this hotel beats any in it's service. Everyone and I mean everyone was smiling and wanted to help. From the Guy who carried our bags who I don't know his name to Yvonne who met us and gave us exact details of how to get there and told us exact details of the hotel. A special dedication goes out to Hassna who gave us recommendations on what to do on the island and where to eat, and not one of them was wrong. She booked us in 2 restaurants which were beyond amazing and booked us amazing seats there. I'd give this hotel 6 stars for the service. The hotel is a bit pricey but totally worth it. Unlike some hotels which are already pretty expensive but you don't get for what you pay for.b Thanks Hassna and co.......

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mina86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 731 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

You can't do Greece without seeing Santorini and because my wife and I prefer to get away from the tourist crowd we elected to stay at Oia. Which apart from the two hours leading up to sunset is quiet and very friendly. Esperas Houses looked like a great place to stay and we weren't disappointed. Just walking down to reception you get the feeling that you are really going to enjoy your stay. The view is pretty stunning and the place is spotless!! the rooms are built into the cliff edge (not sure what happens if they have an earthquake) and naturally cool, although we were there in August so the a/c was almost permanently on. The bathroom was well appointed and the little kitchenette made snacks easy to prepare. The pool was always refreshing after a day sightseeing and the Mythos was always cold and served up by very friendly staff. Convenience stores are close by and the local shops sell everything from antiquities to jewellery to artwork - shops are open until about 2:00am (so shop when it's cool). Great stay - thanks guys!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LockStockandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

My husband and I had the most magical honeymoon. The island is known for the most beautiful sunset and this was the place to experience it. Everynight we enjoyed sitting on the rooftop, sipping wine and watching the sunset.
The view of the hotel was incredible. When we opened our cave doors in the morning we were amazed by the view of the water and the sun. It was something to look forward to every morning.
The hotel staff was incredible, very helpful and welcoming. Special thanks to Hassma, Denise, Armando and Elvi. They made our stay much more memorable. We would recommend Esperas for your honeymoon as it is peaceful, relaxing and the most beautiful place to experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butterfly054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Esperas was the most perfect spot to spend our honeymoon. First of all, you want to stay in Oia. It is the perfect size town where it has bars and restaurants and shops in an adorable cobblestone street town, but quiet enough to relax and be away from the hustle and bustle of Fira. Esperas is in the perfect location of Oia too, just outside of the main street so that you feel secluded and relaxed.

The check in was handled seamlessly. We had Esperas book us a ride from the airport to the hotel, and he called the hotel when we were close so there would be a bell boy waiting to help us with our bags. Thank heavens he did because there are about 4000 stairs between the parking lot and the hotel.

Hassna and Julia are AMAZING. They completely made our trip. They were so helpful with everything from setting up dinner reservations at sunset to booking excursions for us to showing us where to get take-out food. They were so warm and welcoming and friendly, we can't imagine our trip without them.

The room we had was awesome (2 story, each with it's own balcony), and they had a bottle of wine and balloons and a "Happy Honeymoon" sign for us in the room when we got there. I am sure they do this for everyone, but it was super special. And the term "cave" is not used loosely. We were able to shut all of our doors and windows and sleep in completely blackness and silence, which was amazing.

The breakfast was not great, but good, and even better when you can have sitting on your balcony. Also, the "snack bar" had a great selection and at very good prices. Normally, things are inflated for room service, but here the prices and selection for room service from 1pm-6pm were awesome.

My only complaint at all was that they allow people to "save" lounge chairs by the pool. People would wake up early, put a towel and a book on a lounge chair, and then leave the hotel for the whole day, not returning until 5pm. It didn't really seem fair, but we had lounge chairs on our balcony, so we would just swim and then walk back up the steps to our room.

Overall, this place is excellent, and we will definitely recommend it, and stay here again if we came back to Santorini.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesAndAbbyMelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We just returned from Oia and stayed at Esperas for 4 nights. Esperas is a simple hotel in a fantastic location with an unbelievable view. Probably one of the best views i've ever seen in my life. The hotel is very unique as it is built into the cliffs and each room is literally like living in a cave. Our accolades begin with the staff. Some of the nicest and hardest working people we have ever encountered. So friendly and helpful - they can't do enough for you. Great breakfast and really special to begin your day sipping coffee and taking in the morning view off the cliffs. The pool area is tight. There are only 12 lounge chairs and a few umbrellas. But it's lovely and the pool is great to cool off in throughout the day. Our room, although comfy for 3, was very sparse. Tiny bathroom and very tight shower. Tiny bedroom with room for just a bed which was a bit warm at night as the LR air co didn't cool it off. Larger common area where out 16 y/o daughter slept (and kitchenette which we didn't use) but not comfortable for lounging. Some terraces were very nice and large - be sure to request one of those b/c ours was very small. Basically you're paying for the most incredible view in the world - and the unique experience of a oia sunset which is world famous. Esperas is a simple hotel with the warmest staff ever. It was a great experience and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and miss it already!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mariarosana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Το nr 14-το καλύτερο δωμάτιο με μαγική θέα!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Avgi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, General Manager at Esperas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.4 mi away
Atrina Canava 1894
0.1 mi away
Art Maisons Luxury Santorini Hotels Aspaki & Oia Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ikies - Traditional Houses
0.4 mi away
Alta Mare by Andronis
0.9 mi away
Perivolas
Perivolas
#17 of 56 in Oia
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esperas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperas

Address: Oia 84702, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oia
Price Range: £278 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperas 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esperas is a unique full service hotel that offers you the opportunity to experience the traditional cave houses of Santorini coupled with one of the most breathtaking views on the planet. A five minute walk from the center of the picturesque village of Oia, the complex is exclusively situated on the edge of a hanging cliff side (the Caldera), overlooking the breathtaking sunset and the volcanic rocks. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the 20 houses, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Esperas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperas Traditional Houses Hotel Oia
Esperas Traditional Hotel
Hotel Esperas Traditional
Esperas Santorini/Oia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing