We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous cave house with Stunning views”
Review of Old Oia Houses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Oia Houses
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cave house with Stunning views”
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Me and my fiancée stayed here for five nights in August. Booked direct with the owners who were very helpful. Despite the island being very busy at this time of the year it was easy to escape from the bustle of the main Okia street in our tranquil cave house. Every morning we had or breakfast delivered to our patio table for us to enjoy at our leisure.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    51
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
36
136
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed here the first week in September for 3 nights. We were not disappointed. The views from the Venetian House were spectacular. Prior to arrival, the owners asked us to meet at the Lotza Restaurant. This serves as the 'reception' area. Here you meet the owner and you are walked to your room. We were greeted warmly by Gill and shown to our room. It was clean, and well equipped. There were no steps on the outside to reach this room however, the bathroom was upstairs on a very winding spiral staircase. This was not a problem for us, but for some it may be. We were married 2 nights after arriving and came home to a bottle of wine waiting for us at the door. The owners were very helpful when arranging the trip (1 year in advance). All emails were answered promptly and additional information was offered.

I would not hesitate to recommend this property to someone who wants unbelievable views and very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TYJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

We spent 5 days in Old Oia Houses and would spent 5 more if we had time. The caldera view from the terrace is breath-taking. I would spend every morning and evening on the terrace sitting in the sunbed and reading or just watching the caldera, the sea and the boats, I cannot describe the feeling, it's fantastic. The accomodation is in the middle of the most sought tourist part of Oia, 3 minutes walk from the famous castle sunset spot. One minor drawback of the location is the number of tourists walking by. One morning I had to kick out 2 Japanese tourists from our private terrace :). They were brave enough to open the small gate, roll over the big clay pot that barred the entrance just for the sake of taking pictures of the stunning views :). All in all I highly recommend Okd Oia Houses if you want to spend some perfect days in Santorini.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Day 5 of a 6 night stay- right now
Pros..studio 1 ..the perfect location,50 meters to the castle and sunset viewing, 10m to the nearest cafe for a frappe!
The studio is the perfect stay for a couple..the balcony provides a postcard backdrop, with tourists stopping at the Pickett gate to take one of the most clicked views.
Privacy to this is provided by a screen, so you don't even notice the hoards as they pass by.
Best features of the villa is the little kitchen. We purchased bacon/eggs,tomatoes( the best tasting cherry toms) cheese, ham,tzatziki , and of course wine at the little supermarkets, located everywhere in Oia, and had arguably, the best breakfasts combined with freshly baked bread brought by Ana each morning enjoying the best, money cannot buy view.
A very comfortable studio provides air con, percolated coffee, tea butter, milk and an assortment of jam and honey which is topped up as required. Great asset is also the little clothes line which is invaluable for a longer stay as there is nowhere to get laundry done in Oia.
Cons...NOTHING
We loved this place!!! Thanks Gill and Vasillis for providing very affordable, once in a lifetime Oia stay, we will always remember this little bit of heaven!


Thoughtfully considered by Gill & Vasillis, are a clothes line (no washing facilities in Oia)

Room Tip: Any of the Old Oia houses seem to be in the perfect location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

There are 8 houses as part of the Old Oia Houses. We got number 6, and whilst we didn't see inside the others, suspect they are all equally quirky and lovely. Initially we were a bit disappointed that we would not get a sunset view (as we hadn't fully understood the difference between caldera view and sunset view) but in fact I think this turned out to be the best possible option. We watched the boats and ferries coming and going across the caldera all day, and then watched the lights of Fira and the port in the evening - so our view was probably more interesting than the sunset one - which only lasts 30 minutes or so. We were also really sheltered from the wind, and incredibly central within Oia. Being a few steps off the main pedestrian area meant we were really quiet, and whilst a few people wander past and there are some balconies overlooking us - it was generally very private. The house itself had plenty of room, with a lovely big bathroom, separate toilet, and decent kitchen / living. Such stunning views and hot weather - it was nice to be able to come inside and hide from the heat occasionally, without feeling boxed in. Comfortable bed, and lovely fresh bread each day. There is no pool of course, but we found the free public pool (and great location to watch the sunset) less than 5 minutes away. The service was helpful, and we were allowed a late check out. There are some seriously glamorous and expensive options in Oia and the environs, but I think we did really well for our price range (7 nights at 110 euros per night), and would not hesitate to recommend this place. The wifi was a bit slow at times, but we were in no hurry!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJMCD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Overview/about myself:

I expect cleanliness and at least basic amenities wherever I stay, though in accordance with local facilities. I do NOT expect 5 star treatment If i'm only paying peanuts and I despise those who do though I do expect value for money for the money I pay.

Our room:
Was clean and well maintained with en suite shower, basin and toilet facilities. A clean, comfortable double bed with clean sheets changed every day, Air conditioning, a TV (which we only turned on out of curiosity though became curiously transfixed with awful Greek soap operas!). A wardrobe and cupboards, adequate furniture and small kitchenette with sink, crockery and cutlery, fridge, Hob, kettle and hairdryer. Outside - Sun loungers, beach umbrella, table and chairs and ever useful partition to offer seclusion from the touristo's . (I know I've missed stuff but you get the picture, it's well provided). Not huge but spacious and more than adequate for the two of us.

Remember it's a Greek island so there are a few things to keep in mind; The water pressure's not great, you have to put your toilet paper in a bin and Raki is a thing to be avoided!

Anna, the housekeeper is a huge asset and does a fabulous job! Anna brings fresh bread bread fresh from the local bakery in the mornings and ensures the room is spotless and stocked with orange juice, coffee, jams and clean linen etc every day. We became so fond of Anna through the week, she's an icon of the Old Oia Houses!

When we arrived, Gill took us to our house and advised us to place an urn against our gate to keep the tourists out. It was good advice as our abode was 'The' angle everyone wants! the touristo's did keep out though some times it was tricky to get into our apartment as a myriad tourists wanted pictures from our balcony! This is no sleight but an utter compliment on the perfect placement of the apartment! We had to turn down countless happy snappers wanting to pose their lady friends against the backdrop of our apartment lest we open the flood gates and would never have our privacy! (Feels pretty good to be the king!).

We stayed in 'Room 1' which is a lovely self contained apartment in the thick of the beauty of Oia with an unbroken view of the caldera in front, Oia castle and sunset viewpoint just to the right and 'That' iconic Santorini postcard panorama with the blue domes and terraced white houses to the left.

The best of Santorini is to be observed from the spacious balcony and is as breathtaking to behold as any of the best views on the island, it's almost surreal to sit in the sun on your own balcony and look out over the caldera to Nea and Palea kameni, Firá, Thera and Oia from this prime position. look back and you see th quaint cobbled streets bustling with tourists come to admire the wonder of this beautiful town.

Fortunately, a partition has been cleverly placed on the balcony that you can enjoy some element of privacy. As anyone who has seen pictures of Oia may have observed, it is rather busy with buildings and terraced on many levels atop the cliff face, with this in mind it's easy to embrace the closeness of the Santorini communities and as one from the London Green belt where it's the norm to build your fences high and have minimal relations with the neighbors I found it a pleasant insight into a true community spirit.

Being culinary aficionado's, we decided to give the restaurants a miss one day and cook for ourselves. the shops (all supermarkets though fairly small and not strictly warranting the title) are in easy distance, a five minute walk and well stocked with the basics and we successfully created a seafood feast featuring ratatouille, Shrimps (a lot of!) white fish (unknown but nice!) and Octopus (which as we'd never cooked this, the amazing Anna gave us sage advice on the preparation!). I tell you this as though the facilities are basic in the room, for a fraction of the price of Oia's boutique restaurants with their perfect views, with a bit of skill you can eat in the privacy of your own perfection and enjoy the excellence this place has to offer, you really need go no further than your own back door here.

Twice a day one will find the donkeys being led past the apartment with the donkey master calling 'Sorry sorry' to those touristo's that get in the way. Donkeys are a quintessential part of Santorini and their passing heralds great affection from those who are lucky enough to witness it.

Our room offered easy access to Oia's main areas with it's multitude of wonderful restaurants and boutique shops. The west point where the most beautiful sunset views can be seen is seconds away, Amoudi bay is an easy walk (and entertaining donkey ride back) away, and the bus stop and 'supermarkets' are only a short walk.

Just want to say a huge thanks to Gill, Vasilis, all at Lotza and the and of course, Anna for our wonderful stay at the Old Oia Houses last week, we couldn't have hoped for better!

This was my first trip to Santorini, it wont be my last!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

These rooms are uniquely wonderful. They sit among the cliffside cave homes of the local people, right in the heart of the city with the best shops and restaurants all around you. I could not think of a more authentic way to experience Oia, and I am so glad that we stayed here and not in one of the resorts on the island. The rooms are small but that is part of the experience. The fresh bread, honey and coffee make for a pleasant breakfast, which you can eat on the amazing patios that offer gorgeous views of the caldera.

That being said, I have to comment that at this hotel, you get a landlord and not anything more. You check in at a restaurant that is also managed by the owners, and then do not see them again until check out. During check in and check out, they seemed very busy and preoccupied with the restaurant. This was not a major problem for us, as we had guidebooks to recommend activities and restaurants, but it was a stark contrast to other hotels in Greece, where the staff charmed us with their welcoming nature and offered excellent local recommendations. Anna, who visits the rooms each day to deliver bread and clean up, was very kind and friendly.

While staying at Oia, we walked down the steps to Armoudi Bay one day and took the busses to Perissa Beach the other -- both were convenient from Oia and are highly recommended! We loved Papagalos restaurant, which is right near the Old Oia Houses.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DnB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
0.0 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#43 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oia Mansion
Oia Mansion
#39 of 56 in Oia
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.0 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
0.0 mi away
Chroma Suites
Chroma Suites
#16 of 34 in Oia
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Oia Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Oia Houses

Property: Old Oia Houses
Address: Oia 84702, Greece (Formerly Oia's Houses)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Oia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Old Oia Houses Hotel Oia
Old Oia Hotel
Old Hotel Oia
Old Oia Houses Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing