We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Old Oia Houses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Oia Houses
Ranked #43 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My husband and I have just spent the most wonderful week in one of the houses and would highly recommend them. Ours had a huge terrace and the most SPECTACULAR view!!
Gill the owner is a lovely lady who was very helpful and welcoming. She also arranged our taxi transfers much to our relief. Anna, a lovely girl who cleans the houses was like a breath of fresh air every morning when she delivered our fresh bread for breakfast, always with a smile, always cheerful.
Oia is a beautiful magical place and the sunsets are amazing. Can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed here with my husband and 6 yrs old daughter for 4 days and 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The location was right in the heart of Oia. And the view is just amazing. Only issue we had was the wifi connection was really poor. We would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

I am staying in the smaller room and agreed with previous traveller that the aircon has loud sound and other comments. The owner has a restaurant called lotza and pretty busy handling both business. If you want to stay in Oia with amazing view and cook on your own, this is the right choice for you. There will be no other arrangement prepare, though fresh bread will be provided for free. During your stay, you can rent a car called vazeos. Price is the best and you can leave the car in the airport, no addition charge. Additionally, u can go for sailing tour with package of euro30,80 and 130. Additional 5 for pick up.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I should start by acknowledging that i would want to give 3.5 but no option exists.

The property is great - amazing location with few steps to climb to get into main Oia village, amazing view. Its got a kitchenette and basic ingredients to cook if you want (we didn't). Jill was very nice and didn't charge us extra though we stayed for 5 hours more in one room.

We somehow couldn't sleep in the rooms at all - us and our friend (we had 2 rooms). It was eerie at times. The humidifier rattled thru the night and suddenly decided to stop though we didn't do anything. Next night we could hear water dripping near humidifier but could find any leakage. It was very windy and we had noises from ceiling through the night though there was no room above our room.

Other than lack of sleep, other minor issues were - no toiletries in the bathroom (even a bathing soap/ gel); no help in planning what to do in Santorini. I am sure some local guidance would have surely helped. But the owners own a restaurant nearby and are very busy with it to help you plan.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Varunnayyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The lodging is quite basic but it's beauty is in its simplicity. It's right on the main footpath in Oia. We took the three level cave house and we had an incredible view of the caldera and the beautiful houses and domes of Oia.

The lodging came with a kitchen and we'd usually buy stuff from a convenience store and eat breakfast there from freshly made bread from Nikos of Lotza Restaurant.

Everything went without a hitch save for our arrival. We did not know that Old Oia Houses do not normally arrange transfers and last February, the owner asked their American (?) friend to pick us up at the airport. The guy showed up late to our chagrin, we were getting pissed to be honest. But outside those kinks, this place is great value for money, It's right smack in the most picturesque part of the entire island.

I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in the studio. The view from the balcony (and bedroom) is unbelievable. You have a view of the sunrise and the sunset view is a short walk away. We spent a lot of time just sitting on the balcony enjoying the fruits of Santorini :) This is the perfect place if you like to experience living in a traditional cave house and are okay with a more independent experience. Note that since it is more like an apartment rental, there is no concierge-like assistance, but the owner is very lovely and has a restaurant nearby where she will answer any questions you may have. In the mornings we had fresh bread and juice delivered, and there are cooking facilities in case you want to make something. If you need your breakfast early, you can pick up the bread at the restaurant the night before. If I am back in Santorini I would absolutely stay here again. The only negative is that the internet was spotty (although there are open signals nearby) and no soap/shampoo in the shower. But since we had a great deal (less than advertised on the website since it was off season) this was not an issue for us.

Room Tip: The studio is perfect for two. It has its own private balcony with an incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiseAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Incredibe place to stay. Our apartment was a dream. Our own courtyard entrance with a great old entrance door.Cheerfuly decorated and very clean.Fabulous view of the caldera with our own private balcony. There were even stairs to a sundeck on the roof. Breakfast was hot fresh baked bread hung on the door every morning. We had our own refigerator supplied with coffee,orange juice, cold water,butter and the best marmalade I have ever tasted.Comfortable beds with great linens.Staff was incredibly courteous. We spent a lot of time eating at their Lotza restaurant a couple of doors down with its wonderful food and unbelivable view. The best location,charm and view I have ever found!

Room Tip: Street level room number 1 was large enough for 5.Lovely view and more like an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
2.1 mi away
Almyra Studios
Almyra Studios
#44 of 56 in Oia
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.0 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 56 in Oia
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maregio Suites
Maregio Suites
#20 of 56 in Oia
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
1.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantida Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Oia Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Oia Houses

Address: Oia 84702, Greece (Formerly Oia's Houses)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#15 Family Hotel in Oia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £35 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Old Oia Houses Hotel Oia
Old Oia Hotel
Old Hotel Oia
Old Oia Houses Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing