We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Oia Houses
Nearby Hotels
US$1,472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Caldera Villas(Oia)(Great Value!)
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$806
US$779
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$740
US$718
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$737
US$714
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$754
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$167
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anemomilos Hotel And Villas(Oia)(Great Value!)
US$322
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
151
51
15
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
51
15
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslotza restaurantfresh breadcaldera viewcave houseeach morningroof terracesmaller roomstayed here for nightsfew stepsstudio apartmentseparate bedroommain pedestrianbottle of winecave stylegillhoneyaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights and this place was absolutely amazing! The view from the balcony and shared rooftop terrace was fantastic. Everyone working there Gill, her son and Anna were lovely. The restaurant Lotza had delicious food, which you can also take away back to your room instead of eating out. (Sometimes it was easier with having a little one with us) Cant recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We initially booked for 3 nights...on arrival and after waiting for an age we were finally taken down too our accomodation.....its was tiny......Im not even 5' tall, but if I spun round in the so called living room - kitchen area I would of bashed my knuckes on the walls. The girl explained how the system worked..getting breakfast delivered the next day, which for us is too late. The bathroom was the only room which was reasonable. The balcony had lovely view if you went on it one at a time......Now the bedroom. It was tiny....once in bed the person on the wall side had too climb over to use facilities in the middle of the night. The light stopped working...the tv had no channels, the fridge too small. At 105 euros a night so NOT worth it....we actually decided due too the lack of care on Gills side and cost it really was NOT worth it. We spent the next 2 nights somewhere else much cheaper and more than adequate. You are paying for the view...which I personally think you can see from anywhere in Oia for free....wont be returning or recommending. Also if you want peace and quiet you wont get it......neighbouring rooms are very close and any noise travels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUSAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at the old Oia Houses for 3 nights in Sept of 2013. Our stay was a mixed bag. As others have said check-in is at Lotza Restaurant, so the owner not only runs the Oia Houses, but also the restaurant.

We stayed in house #6. I was disappointed with our view as it was half way blocked by a wall. The apartment had a nice kitchen and the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was also large and the whole apartment was clean. There were some maintance problems however. Areas of the floor were rotting away by the front door, and you had to be careful where you walked so as not to get splinters, when I mentioned this to the owner, she said she knew and were waiting until fhey closed down to repair the floor. Also our TV didn't work, which they replaced right away. As they state you get a loaf of bread and a carton of juice in the refrigerator. Most of the time the bread didn't show up until we were ready to leave for the day. So be prepared to either go out for bkfst or cook, if bread isn't enough for you.

We are in our 60's and all the steps were an issue for us, I would have liked it better if we had been closer to the street. We left a day early and went to another hotel that was closer to the airport. The owner called us a cab and even walked us to the taxi pick-up. She was very charming, but was clearly tired from a busy season of tourists.

I would stay there again, but ask for a house closer to the street (less steps) and make sure I didn't get House 6. The price is good especially for Oia, right in the heart of the stores and restaurants.

Room Tip: House 6 has a only a partial view, blocked by a wall.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a traditional house build on the the slope of the hill. There is no check in counter. Check in is at a restaurant located 5 minutes away. Getting to the hotel takes some effort due to the cobbled road. This is part of the experience staying in a traditional house. It is only 5 minutes from the tip of the island to view sunset and nightfall. The room are very basic and there was an odor in the room due to some piping issue.

Room Tip: Book for a family room which is bigger and is slightly more expensive.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jostudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is our second three week stay at Old Oia Houses. We stayed in the studio apartment and once again cannot fault the location or the cleanliness of the studio. Anna, the housekeeper is very passionate about her work and it shows. Many thanks to Gill who makes us very welcome each time we visit and nothing is ever a issue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToTravelToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews