We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable - One of the best properties wev stayed at.”
Review of Old Oia Houses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Oia Houses
Ranked #43 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Old Oia houses is simply magnificent. Our stay in Santorini wouldnt be the same if we hadnt discovered this place. In my opinion in a place like Santorini its very important to choose the right hotel with the best possible views and Oia houses is just brilliant in every way possible.

We reached the bus station at Oia and according the directions provided by the owners set off to find the place. We were carrying very heavy luggage so it was quite a task manoeuvring through Oia village with the winding streets and stairs in the blazing sun. I almost died! After say about 15 minutes we found LOTZA, the restaurant we were supposed to check in at. I walked in and was blown awayyyyy by the amazing views! wow! all my strength just came back looking out into the ocean. We had to wait for our room to be cleaned so we sat and had a little meal and it was just perfect! After a while our room was ready and little anna came to escort us to our house. Again I dragged my luggage through the streets of oia and after about 5 minutes reached a red door. The red staircase lead us down to the front of our house on a cliff and we were stunned by the absolutely amazing view of the Caldera. It was just perfect!!! All this right from our front porch! Unbelievable. The porch/balcony had an umbrella, 2 chairs and a table and 2 deck chairs. Lovely!
We entered the room and again I was speechless. It was a big cave like room so tastefully decorated with a little kitchenette. Anna the house maid was so nice and helpful. She stocked up the kitchen with bread, butter, coffee, tea, juice, a huge bottle of water! She explained us everything about the room and told us fresh bread would be brought everyday (which she did) she was the best!

We paid next to nothing for all this and couldnt have asked for more. Hats off to the owners Vasilis and Gill. I wish we could have met them but they were away.

Dont look any further. This is the place to stay in Oia, Santorini. Highly reccomended to one and all! Thanks for reading and do see my pictures of the place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

We spent 3 nights in one of the 2-bedroomed houses and all loved the place. The house, despite being close to all the action, was quiet and private and the views from the balcony were out of this world! Breakfast was provided in the apartment and this included orange juice, tea, coffee, freshly baked bread and jams etc.
Oia is beautiful especially if you are an early riser and can get out to take photographs before the crowds arrive. We loved everything about Oia and the Old Oia Houses.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cenem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Plain and simple - our house was awesome. The woman who runs the rental service is a touch scattered and every time we saw her at their restaurant (Latzo) home base it was like she was meeting us for the first time but the houses are supremely excellent. Very spacious and clean with comfortable beds, a large bathroom and adequate sized kitchen. The best part is the private veranda where we enjoyed bottles of wine overlooking the famous caldera view. I would recommend this to any and all who want to stay in Oia.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OGontheReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

After spending many weeks checking out hotels and B & B in Oia we eventually settled for the Old Oia Houses, Gill was there to meet us when the taxi dropped us off and we stayed in room no. 5, Gill was also happy to arrange a taxi to pick us up for our trip back to the ferry. The accomodation was basic but thats what we expected. Very central to all the tavernas and shops, also the sunset viewing areas too. Only stayed two nights before catching the ferry to Crete so it was perfect for what we wanted. The view were wonderful from both our bedroom and the private terrace. Excellent value for money at 95 euros per night in comparision to many of the other over priced hotels. The balcony too was quite private, which couldnt be said for many other of the more expensive hotels in the area. Please be warned that Santorini is expensive!!!, we paid £20 for a small bottle of sun cream as I forgot to pack mine...If I was going to return to Santorini then I would definately stay here. Thank you Gill.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MG100surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We stayed in the "Venetian house". It is located right in the heart of town, with shops all around - yet it was very quiet. The house is on 3 levels. The main level is where the kitchenette, bedroom & balcony are. Bathroom is up a spiral staircase. Then a few more steps up to the private roof terrace. From our room balcony, you can see the blue domed churches to the right & left, and the water & caldera in front. You could get a glimpse view of the sunset, depending on the time of the year on the private roof terrace above. Otherwise, a short stroll down a path opposite the house to an open carpark area is the best spot to go for a crowd-free, unobstructed view of the sunset. Everyone jostles & cramps round the castle area & its surrounds, which doesn't necessarily make for relaxed viewing. When you get there you'll know what I mean.

As it is self catering, the kitchenette had basics like a carton of orange juice, 1.5L bottled water, olive oil, salt, pepper, butter, honey, spreads & a fresh loaf of bread each morning. There's a few minimarts by the bus station which sell cheaper groceries than the ones on the main drag. If you have a sweet tooth, do try the patisserie a few stores down the path on the right - it serves traditional Greek desserts & cakes.

The only toiletry provided was some liquid soap so do bring your own shampoo, etc. There was a large candle in a glass container which was a lovely touch to the place. You are also given separate towels for sunbathing/swimming. TV didn't have any English programs. DVD player wasn't working despite the technician trying to fix it. You probably won't need a TV as the views are just so amazing & you'd probably spend a lot of time just sitting outside at the balcony or roof terrace, taking everything in.

As for transport to the house, we took a bus from Athinios Port (we arrived by ferry) to Fira bus station then caught another bus to Oia. From there we asked for directions. I think a taxi would have cost 25-30 euros from Athinios Port.

This was the highlight of our stay. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

When I arrived at the house that Gill arranged for us, I was really amazed! The terrace with spectacular view to the sea, the room is tidy and lovely. It is equiped with all essential facilities like kitchenettes. Location is great too! It is just located in the heart of town centre but still very quite. A few minutes walk to where you could see the most famous sunset in Oia. This is the place that I like most in Greece!!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharonnsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

I highly recommend Old Oia House for accommodations in Santorini. My husband and I travelled to Greece the week of the riots and ferry/airplane strikes. Needless to say, our vacation which was supposed to be relaxing and stress free turned out to be the opposite. We didn't get our luggage for three days and the austerity of the riots left us unsure about travelling to Athens after the strikes were over.
Fortunately, the owner of Old Oia House took care of the missing luggage and reassured us about the riots in Athens. She made numerous calls to the airport to locate our bags. Not only was she helpful, but the room was quaint and we had a lovely view of the caldera. The location was also a plus. Our house was situated near the main square of Oia village. Once we got our luggage we did not want to leave!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbarn1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.4 mi away
Fileria Suites
Fileria Suites
#32 of 58 in Oia
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
0.7 mi away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.2 mi away
Armeni Village Rooms & Suites
0.1 mi away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#48 of 58 in Oia
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Oia Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Oia Houses

Address: Oia 84702, Greece (Formerly Oia's Houses)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oia
#6 Family Hotel in Oia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: £35 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Old Oia Houses Hotel Oia
Old Oia Hotel
Old Hotel Oia
Old Oia Houses Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing