We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, privacy, thoughtful owners”
Review of Old Oia Houses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Oia Houses
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Oia
Pompton Lakes, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, privacy, thoughtful owners”
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed in the smaller of the 2 houses. It is difficult to imagine a better location: breath-taking views and privacy at the same time - the terrace cannot be seen from above thanks to a bend in the slope and it is protected from the street by a screen. The house has plenty of space for 2, a kitchenette, a pantry that is restocked for breakfast every day, a bathroom with a view (Sic!)...
Regardless of its central location, it is actually a quiet place. The crowds pass on the street above in a daily ritual of sunset-watching, then they pass back right after sundown, and the area becomes quiet again... and the mornings... pure joy and amazement as you meet the sun on the edge of the Earth...
The owners and the hired help always respected our privacy, but made it easy to find them whenever it was necessary. Gill went out of her way once to help me when I had a banking machine incident while having mobile phone problems at the same time...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kloobok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    51
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
36
136
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
spokane
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Our house had 4 rooms including a small kitchen and could sleep 6. View of the caldera from private deck was one of the most amazing things I have seen. Yet the cost is far less than comparable rooms in Oia. A bit rustic and the single a/c unit did not reach the entire unit, but it was adequate. Access to sun roof and a courtyard. Very near the center of Oia. Fresh bread provided each morning with juice and condiments. Very accomodating hosts.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We stayed in a traditional cave house for 4 nights in May 2009 and loved it. The price was such a great deal - and we had the same view as all the more pricey options. It was a bit of a walk down from the street but that made it fun. Pros: the view, location, the view, price, coziness, the view, charm, amenities like huge bathroom, stocked kitchen, balcony. Cons: staff was only available sporadically, unless you contacted them at their busy restaurant up the road (which was kind of hectic and confusing at first), but again kind of added to the charm. We also had an ant invasion the last day, but it didn't ruin it for us. I would definitely return to Old Oia Houses.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Charming, no frills room in a real cave house. Amazing, breathtaking views everytime you opened the wooden shutters in the morning to take in the immense beauty of the caldera. Such a lovely and unique experience and the perfect way to really get the full Santorini experience. Unbeatable value. If you're taoller than 5'7", watch your head in the doorways... I learned the hard way! ;-) Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelrc310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

First of all, the owners Gil and Vasilis weree such gracious hosts. Not only did they personally show us the rooms, they made sure we had fresh bread daily and a clean room that was well maintained. These were probably the cutest places that I have ever stayed in. My parents also were staying in another room that was just as amazing. Every room had a mini fridge, kitchenette, full bathroom, two bedrooms, dining table, tv, aircon, and was furnished in a cute Greek style. The views were amazing here and I am glad that I could stay here instead of being one of the millions of tourists who step off of a cruise ship and run through Oia in an hour so that they can see the sunset. This place was a dream come true.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amerisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Old Oia houses is simply magnificent. Our stay in Santorini wouldnt be the same if we hadnt discovered this place. In my opinion in a place like Santorini its very important to choose the right hotel with the best possible views and Oia houses is just brilliant in every way possible.

We reached the bus station at Oia and according the directions provided by the owners set off to find the place. We were carrying very heavy luggage so it was quite a task manoeuvring through Oia village with the winding streets and stairs in the blazing sun. I almost died! After say about 15 minutes we found LOTZA, the restaurant we were supposed to check in at. I walked in and was blown awayyyyy by the amazing views! wow! all my strength just came back looking out into the ocean. We had to wait for our room to be cleaned so we sat and had a little meal and it was just perfect! After a while our room was ready and little anna came to escort us to our house. Again I dragged my luggage through the streets of oia and after about 5 minutes reached a red door. The red staircase lead us down to the front of our house on a cliff and we were stunned by the absolutely amazing view of the Caldera. It was just perfect!!! All this right from our front porch! Unbelievable. The porch/balcony had an umbrella, 2 chairs and a table and 2 deck chairs. Lovely!
We entered the room and again I was speechless. It was a big cave like room so tastefully decorated with a little kitchenette. Anna the house maid was so nice and helpful. She stocked up the kitchen with bread, butter, coffee, tea, juice, a huge bottle of water! She explained us everything about the room and told us fresh bread would be brought everyday (which she did) she was the best!

We paid next to nothing for all this and couldnt have asked for more. Hats off to the owners Vasilis and Gill. I wish we could have met them but they were away.

Dont look any further. This is the place to stay in Oia, Santorini. Highly reccomended to one and all! Thanks for reading and do see my pictures of the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We spent 3 nights in one of the 2-bedroomed houses and all loved the place. The house, despite being close to all the action, was quiet and private and the views from the balcony were out of this world! Breakfast was provided in the apartment and this included orange juice, tea, coffee, freshly baked bread and jams etc.
Oia is beautiful especially if you are an early riser and can get out to take photographs before the crowds arrive. We loved everything about Oia and the Old Oia Houses.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cenem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 56 in Oia
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sunset Villas
0.1 mi away
Oia Mansion
Oia Mansion
#39 of 56 in Oia
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Museum Spa Wellness Santorini Hotel
0.0 mi away
1864 The Sea Captain's House
0.1 mi away
Santorini Paradise
Santorini Paradise
#29 of 73 in Oia
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Oia Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Oia Houses

Property: Old Oia Houses
Address: Oia 84702, Greece (Formerly Oia's Houses)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Oia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Old Oia Houses Hotel Oia
Old Oia Hotel
Old Hotel Oia
Old Oia Houses Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing